Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arizona Virtual Academy

Charter | K-12

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 26, 2011

There are many things to like about AZVA. All the materials are free, it's very structured, and you know exactly how well your child is doing in class almost up-to-the-moment. It's a great school for a child that is highly motivated and can work well independently, or for a family that wants to home school but needs extra resources. We didn't fit into either category, so it just didn't work well. A big warning!!!! Now that my son is going back to a public high school, we found out that they don't accept the accreditation that AZVA has, even though we were told by AZVA that all credits will transfer. He has to retest on EVERY core class that he passed and score 70% or higher to receive credit for it. Otherwise he will only get credit for it as an elective.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2011

AZVA=online public charter school that a child can be enrolled in at no cost b/c, like all public schools, it is tax-payer funded. B/c it is a public charter school, it does not receive as high of a percentage of monies as public district schools.B/c AZVA is virtual rather than brick & mortar, child learns from home/road/anywhere. AZVA is NOT independent homeschooling b/c one registers/enrolls child in a public school that employs teachers, schedules/requires standardized testing(AIMS).When one independently homeschools,he does not depend on a state-funded school, a child is not assigned a state student ID, does not have to complete standardized test, doesn't comply w/ attendance hours,& the parent must sign an affadavit w/state assuring that they'll educate their child independent of state.AZVA is the ideal public school for us b/c we have already pd taxes to cover our child's education, we are sent materials/provided w/ tools needed to educate him, yet he does not have to spend his day in a brick & mortar public school w/teachers & peers we don't approve of. We are referred to as Learning Coaches but do 90% of the teaching.Excellent resources, live online classes, it's the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

I have 3 children in AZVA this is our 2nd year. We are satisfied with the school and its curriculum I am especially happy with the online Mark 12 reading program this has helped my special needs student to go from reading 25 wpm to 80 to 90 wpm, but the special needs program needs improvement you are kinda left alone to do your own thing not very supportive. The math program could use more improvements. Most teachers are helpful but not all seem to care the same about there students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2010

If you want to homeschool and need free materials this is great way to go. As for a "school" AZVA is NOT that. The Leadership has gone down hill the last 2 years and I am glad this is my last year with them. There is NO parebnt involement in Northern AZ and the school just doesn't care. This school is backed by K12 and is more of a business than a school. Like I said in the beginning, if you want to homeschool and need materials start here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

This is the fourth year my granddaughter has attended AZVA. She went to a regular school for 3rd and 4th grade. This girl is always on the principle's list and exceeds all the time with AZVA. This school has a great curriculum and I really like the education she gets here. Her only problem is there is no socialization. We live on the west side of Phoenix and there is NOTHING here for a kid to make friends. I do not count elluminate sessions as making friends. That was why she wanted to go back to a regular school, and then had to face 2 years of bullying. In the second year she asked to go back to AZVA again. This is a great school, but you just can't sit on your butt. Try helping, you might learn something.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2010

WOW I cant believe how many of you parents are lazy!! As for the "to much work for a elementary student" comment< you must have a kid as lazy as you. My daughter breezes through these assignments. Public school is A babysitter to you apparently and you blame AZVA for your short comings! I have no problem contacting the teacher and she hold several online meetings with the children. Stop being lazy and teach your child something or shut and don't complain when public school fails them too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2010

I am the parent of the student who reviewed the school starting with "Ugh" on 1-28-2010. Let me start by saying that she was in 7th grade at the time she wrote her review. Pay attention to her writing style and grammar. It's excellent. She got that from the k12.com curriculum offered at AZVA. She also scored PERFECT on the writing and reading sections of her last AIMS test. We lived in a very isolated area of the state, where she had absolutely no social interaction with any kids her age. None at all. So her view is a little jaded on the whole social aspect of this school. If you live in any town in the state, your child will have social opportunities that my daughter did not have. She now says that the curriculum is outstanding & the school is great, since moving to an actual town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2010

AZVA IS FOR FAMILYS THAT HAVE NO LIFE, BUT BEING ON THE COMPUTER ALL DAY LONG!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND YOU STILL FALL BEHIND. I HAD A 8TH GRADER AND A 2ND GRADER. I NEVER HAD TIME TO GO SHOPPING OR CLEAN THE HOUSE.YOU DON'.T GET REPORT CARDS. YOU JUST GET A PROGRESS REPORT THAT TELLS YOU THAT YOU ARE DOING GOOD EVEN WHEN THE CLASSES TEACH YOU NOTHING. THE SPECIAL ED DEPARTMENT IS A COMPLETE JOKE!!!!. AGAIN UNLESS YOU WANT TO WASTE YOUR CHILD'S LIFE DON'T CHOOSE AZVA. JUST GOOGLE THE OWNERS OF AZVA AND SEE HOW MUCH MONEY THEY MADE LAST YEAR. I WILL PAY FOR A PRIVATE SCHOOL NEXT YEAR AND HOPE TO IMPROVE MY CHILD'S EDUCATION.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

Teachers are awesome! The curriculum is state of the art. There is a nice 'family' feel to this school. Everyone works together for the good of all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Helpful and energetic teachers and administrators and excellent curriculum make this school outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

AZVA uses the K12 curriculum and it is the most comprehensive, thought provoking program I have come across in five years of homeschooling. AZVA, the school itself, seems to change from year toyear as they tweak this and refine that. Sometimes it annoys me. Sometimes it delights me. I associate with AZVA only for access to the K12 program. I cannot afford it privately. How good is the curriculum? My sixth grader, whom I removed from Higley Elementary after a disastrous first grade and enrolled in AZVA, re-entered public school at his own request and made the honor roll the first semester. What is even more impressive is that this child was considered extremely learing disabled when I withdrew him from Higley. AZVA has a terrible Special Ed program and he received little if any services. But the program itself is designed for multiple styles of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

AZVA is a home school situation. I disagree with the discouraging reviews. AZVA is great. The staff is great. My son actually likes learning again after his horrible experience in the public school! He is a happy 7th grader! On the academic level he is learning SO much more without the chaotic enviroment. Yes, it does take work from the parent, that is why they call it HOME SCHOOL. As one parent put it well,' You only have one chance with your child'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

AZVA is a terrific school. We've tried it all, private school, home school and this has been the best experience. We have flexibility to school whenever we want. As the parent of two high school students I am even more appreciative of this school. My oldest has been able to hold down a part time job and keep up with his studies. The school work is hard and time consuming but, it should be at this point. I also have a child will health issues and this school has allowed him to keep up with his school work and not be worried about falling behind, because we can do the work when he is up to it. When the kids were in the elementary program I felt it was a little easy but they were able to work at their own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

As many other parents and students have said, you should be prepared for a home schooling situation with AZVA. The amount of schoolwork given is way more than students can complete each day, not to mention that students aren't given much guidance from teachers. Students at AZVA won't have time for anything other than school work. Trying to get in touch with teachers or administrators isn't easy. It can be days before they answer student or parent questions. Lessons move too quickly, not allowing students to understand and absorb what they need to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

Ugh. That is pretty much all I can say about this school. First off, you don't have a teacher. TECHNICALLY, you do, but really, your teacher is your parents. The licensed teacher calls once a month to tell your parents what they could figure out by looking at a computer screen for five minutes. Now, let me get started on the motivation. In a REAL school, you have other kids to compare yourself to. Here, you just have a list telling you what you need to do. And ever get nervous when you bring home a bad grade? Oh don't worry! Your parents grade every last assignment! That doesn't make you nervous at all. So, you just hope with all your heart that you understood what the materials said, and did all the work correctly. And if you didn't, be prepared for the big 'I am so disappointed in you' speech!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2010

I didn't like this school at all. Like the other parent said, it IS homeschooling. They provide so many assignments that there is no way little elementary school students can come close to finishing it within 4-5 hrs. It took my kids 11 hrs. a day to finish their daily assignments. The teachers will tell you to push off the work they can't complete to the next day but if you do those missed assignments show up the next day on and on until those are completed. If your child doesn't do it they end up with so much work at the end of the week that it's impossible to complete. I do not recommend anyone using this school unless you have unlimited time everyday to help your child. No life is possible with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2010

It may not be 'called' homeschooling, but it is very much structured as a homeschooling ciriculum. It was not a good option for my 2 high schoolers. The teachers were difficult to reach. They each had at least 2-3 teacher changes in 1 semester. I wouldn't recommend this school for single working parents who don't have 4-8 hrs per day to dedicate to assisting your student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

I have never been more disappointed with a school in my life. The teachers don't help you like they should. The teachers are suppose to keep in contact with you and check their kmail, every day of the week, answer their phones and grade papers on time. I had 6 teachers, and only one of them graded my work on time, kept in contact with me, answered her phone, and helped me when I needed it. All of my other teachers waited a week or two to call me back or kmail me back, which is not acceptable at all. I have no other choice but to go to AZVA, because I live in a bad neighborhood and I can't go to the schools there because I don't feel safe at them. I have been with this school for almost two years, and they have absolutely ruined my high school education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2009

This was the BEST decision I could have made for my kids! I am loving having my kids at home learning and having the ability to work at their own pace. The staff is wonderful as well as the study materials that are provided...This school gives parents more say as to what their child is learning. Most importantly, I am no longer dealing with the DRAMA from fellow classmates that my kids would spend so much time and energy stressing out about. If you are considering this education option, GO FOR IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

At AZVA, I am able to do schoolwork in any order I choose. I am also allowed to start an assignment one day and finish it the next. All that bugs me is that parents may start to slack off, thinking kids won't goof off without their supervision. Think about it, a teenager is on a computer for his/her lessons, but they don't want to do them. Without the push of an 'in-person' teacher, the child is most likely to go on a game website and play. It has happened to me before. It is a good school, but remember, the teacher in the classroom makes sure the students don't goof off. With no teacher, the parent needs to make sure the student doesn't goof off.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

543 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

544 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

536 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

657 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

658 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

647 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

677 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

676 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

306 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2009-2010.
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (520) 294-7738

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

99 E. Virginia Ave.
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Website: Click here
Phone: (877) 900-5602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


ACT School
Phoenix, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT