Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Summit School of Ahwatukee

Private | PK-8 | 345 students

We are best known for advanced, hands-on curriculum.
 
 

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

72 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2013

My children have been at Summit for a year now. We came from a highly rated public school in the valley and have really enjoyed all of the differences Summit has provided. My kids have become better problem solvers, public speakers and writers this year. There is a lot of focused learning at Summit. I help with second grade math once a week and am amazed at the different approaches the teachers have here. The children are really challenged to take a risk with their learning by answering questions and explaining their reasoning to their classmates. Morning meeting are held twice a week and provide the children opportunity to get on the stage and explain their work to their peers. The teachers here really do care about each child and are more than willing to meet at any time to discuss concerns. It's nice that the kids also have a chance to experience all of the specials that Summit offers including music, art, PE, Spanish, technology and science lab. Overall, we are very happy with our decision to send our kids to Summit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2013

Summit School of Ahwatukee is a great school. We have 3 kids at the school, 1 in middle school and 2 in elementary. We have been a part of the Summit community and family for 2 years now. I call it a community and family because it is just that... from the students and their parents, to the teachers, to the staff. Summit really brings out the best in it's students. The challenge the kids to do their best, to be creative and to enjoy the learning experience. Our kids transferred from public schools and we have seen them grow tremendously in their academics, the attitudes towards school and in their character qualities. We would highly recommend Summit School of Ahwatukee for any family that is looking for an inspiring culture that has great teachers and a welcoming and inclusive student body. It has been the best investment that our family has and could have made for our kids and for their future success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

The search for the perfect school was a difficult and arduous process. I looked at 10 different schools in the area, all of which were good but not great. Each school presented itself with its own distinguishing characteristics but fell short in providing the perfect combination of academic excellence and character building. Summit exceeds my expectations in every regard. The academics are outstanding and are presented to the kids in a way that is engaging and inspires a lifelong love of learning. The staff is excellent, from the administration, to the teachers and even the cleaning staff. The parent/family community is incredibly supportive and feels more like an extended family than people we simply know because they attend the same school as our kids. We have a child in kindergarten and preschool and are so happy we found the perfect place for them to grow, thrive, be happy and excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2012

Our daughter just completed her third year at Summit School of Ahwatukee, after transferring from another school. She is absolutely thriving. She is excited about telling me about her day when she jumps in the car at pick up. She blows kisses at the school when we drive by. She is deeply engaged in her homework and project assignments - many of which require her focus, creativity and humor. She has been getting straight A's along with several A+'s since she began attending Summit . As one of her teachers noted, she is one of the most driven students she has ever worked with. Our daughter is now in an environment that is able to foster her intelligence, creativity and drive. During her time at Summit our daughter has regained her confidence, her excitement toward learning, and her drive to excel. Summit has given us back our child. Mother of a middle school student, 2012
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2012

This special learning community is a rare find in schools today. The supportive "family" atmosphere is wonderful for our children, and everyday they are challenged to do their very best. Small class sizes, excellent teachers, special classes, and emphasis on developing citizens of high character are just a few of the things that make this a top-notch school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

As a former Kindergarten teacher and now a Full-Time faculty and Administrator in Higher Education, I was very "picky" in looking for a school to send my children to. From the moment I toured Summit School, I was impressed. The classrooms are rich with resources, the teachers are caring and committed to educating the students. Our oldest son attended preschool this year and we have been amazed by all of the wonderful things he has learned and experienced. Next year, he will be attending Kindergarten and we are so excited for his experience at Summit to continue, as well as our second son's experience at Preschool to begin. I highly recommend Summit School to anyone looking for an all around quality education plus so much more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

Having worked for the last 10 years in Arizona as a teacher, I feel that I can fairly judge the merits of an educational program and I feel Summit is top notch. We have been nothing but impressed by Summit's small student-to-teacher ratio, the genuine caring and support of the teachers, and an academic program that challenges children to learn new things while still building their self-esteem. Our son has grown in leaps and bounds this year and the great program at Summit is a huge part of that growth. My wife and I genuinely believe that an investment in the education of children will pay dividends throughout their lives which is why I am pleased to give my highest possible recommendation on behalf of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

This is my daughter s first year at Summit after moving her from an excelling public school. I chose Summit as they have a reputation for providing an outstanding education through individualized education, small class sizes, and an incredible amount of specials. What I wasn t expecting was the dedication of the teachers, families, and administration in making each child s school experience an incredible one. This involvement produces an environment that is encouraging, safe, and allows the students to be themselves and confidently meet any challenge. I am so grateful to have found Summit for what it is providing and will provide for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2012

Field trips are one of the many many things I love about Summit . That teachers have the freedom to follow their amazing instincts and create all kinds of outings for our children is very special. I had no idea in joining the Summit community how much a part of school life field trips could be. From Pali Mountain to Starbucks, from penpal visits to Washington DC they are a wonderful way for the kids to grow and expand their in-class education and social skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

My children started in Toddler Discoveries and are now in Kindergarten and preschool, respectively. The teachers are supportive, encouraging, and challenge the children to do their best. My children have really flourished at Summit and are very happy there. The Summit community is very caring and involved with all the children's academics. It is a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

My two younger children have been at Summit for two and a half years, and I regret that my oldest child never had the opportunity. What a great school! The Elementary curriculmn provides students with a rock solid foundation in an innovative, challenging, yet, fun environment. The Middle School, then builds upon that foundation to create lifelong learners who are well prepared for High School, College and beyond. The Teachers and Administrators are exceptional! They are invested in the students and the Summit community. My children feel respected, valued and truly cared about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

We joined the Summit School community in the fall of 2009, in the preschool. The school truly is more than just a school - it is a community of like minded families who believe in both the value and power of education, as well as the importance of imparting strong positive messages for children in an environment that emphasizes personal responsibility and personal best achievement. We strongly feel that the education that the children receive is exceptional and unparalleled in our community. The school has set up a system to work to individualize education, as much as possible, and provide each child with the unique teaching emphasis that the child needs. Although we feel that the environment is more important than the results, we also feel that our daughter is achieving unexpected accomplishments in all areas of her basic and creative education. We are regularly astonished at how much she already knows, analyzes, and questions, at her early age. We cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful school and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2011

Two of my children graduated from Summit School of Ahwatukee. What a gift it was to them. They were so prepared for high school, and are excelling in honors level courses. Beyond the academics, which are remarkable, they graduated with a strong sense of self, confidence in themselves and their abilities, and respect for themselves and others. Teachers care so much for the students and they were instrumental in my children's emotional growth and confidence. Thank you Summit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Our child just finished her 2nd year at Summit. We have been very happy with the experience. Teachers are dedicated and happy, and really care about the well-being and learing of children. The class size is small enough that each student gets individualized and tailored instruction. Our child is supported and challenged appropriately in all subject areas. We look forward to many more years at Summit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

I love Summit! I have 2 children who attend the school, my oldest has been there for 9 yrs. As many other parents have attested, I feel blessed to have my children go to school there. I can't say enough good things about Summit. The strong teaching staff is a big part of Summit's succes. The small classroom size allows my children to get the attention they need and gives the teachers the opportunity to really get to know each child. The academics are strong and give a great foundation to prepare students to go to the high school of their choice. In a time when so many schools have had to cut back on the arts, PE and 2nd language, Summit continues to put a strong emphasis on these areas. My children are excited to go to school every day and love their school. The school community is close knit which makes it comfortable for my kids to socialize with their classmates. Summit truly is a great place to educate/develop your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

Our children have attended Summit School for five years. We feel very fortunate to have found such a wonderful school for our children. Our children are challenged academically and receive individualized attention. Summit has nurtured intellectual curiosity and a love of learning in them. Science education occurs in a lab beginning in kindergarten. Students receive quality music, PE, Spanish, and technology instruction, along with the core academic areas. The art education program is incredible and just won a national award. The teachers are talented and dedicated professionals. My children have made wonderful friends. Perhaps most important is that my children love going to school. They feel safe and cared for and fight me when I tell them they need to stay home sick. Summit School is a gift.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

This is our first year at Summit. We feel very fortunate to belong to a school where each family and faculty member is genuinely engaged in the well-being of each child. Each morning our child is eager to go school and learn. We owe that to the phenomenal attention that Summit gives to our child every day. We are grateful that our child can blossom both academically and socially in a small sized class. It truly is a "home away from home."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

My child attended another private school in the area for six years. I began to get concerned over the level of academic focus and looked at the local public school and Summit. After only a quarter at Summit, my child has blossomed academically. No early release,year round spanish multiple days a week, both language arts and literature and six sessions of math per week - all lend to a strong focus on education. Did I mention the excellent faculty? Choosing Summit was one of the best decisions I could have made for my childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Summit has been an outstanding educational experience for my children from preschool to 8th grade. The small class sizes and low student-teacher ratios allow the instructors to know your child and his or her learning style on a very personal level. The curriculum is challenging, is theme-based and focuses on the whole child. The art, music and technology programs are unmatched. There is a very strong sense of community, and Summit families are deeply committed to their children's education. The school leadership continually evaluates the effectiveness of its programs and implements improvements based on the feedback of its parents and teachers. Overall an excellent school and a nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

At Summit our two children are loved by their teachers. This has allowed them to thrive academically and socially. They have been challenged in the various curriculum areas which they have been exposed to. We have seen them bloom in many aspects. We feel that Summit is not only a school, but a community of families who all want the best for their children. You can see this in the amazing number of parents that are involved, whether in classroom volunteering, or in activities planned for students and their families. Summit is full of wonderful teachers who are talented and work hard to bring the best in all students. We are blessed to be part of such a wonderful community!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 3%
Black 8% 5%
Hispanic 8% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Winner of U.S.A. National School Art award by (AAO) (2011)
  • Voted a top Preschool in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011 (2011)
  • Twelve 7th grade Algebra students score top 10% in Arizona (2012)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Summit top school in state for Homeward Bound Diaper Drive (2011)
  • 4 middle school teachers: Excellence in Teaching from Xavier (2011)
  • Kathy Dean, M.A.,(PE) “Fuel Up and Play 60 program”. (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club: Various Types
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Patrick O'Brien
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Associations
  • North Central Association Commission on Accreditation and School Improvement (NCA CASI); National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
Fax number
  • (480) 403-9599

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Individually guided instruction
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • After School Enrichment Clubs
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • After School Enrichment Clubs
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Poetry

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Boy scouts
  • Bricks4Kids Lego club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Dance club: Various Types
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Glee Music Theatre
  • Gymnastics
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Please visit http://summitschoolaz.org/admissions/test-results for tables comparing Summit School of Ahwatukee, the Kyrene School District, and the State of Arizona, that were taken from data released by the Arizona Department of Education. The Arizona Republic recognized Summit students "among state’s top performers on AIMS.”
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$6000 - $12000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Brophy College Preparatory / Xavier College Preparatory
Valley Christian High School / Seton Catholic High School
Tempe Union High Schools - Desert Vista, Mountain Pointe, Corona del Sol
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4515 E. Muirwood Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85048
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 403-9500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Kyrene del Milenio
Phoenix, AZ






Ambassador Academy
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT