Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

This school not only has fantastic perfroming arts but also academics. This year both the middle and high school received A grades
July 17, 2012

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
66 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 89 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics 1

Posted January 07, 2016
- a community member
From My personal experience I can't say one nice thing about the school which is sad. My experience is a horrible one. From beginning to end (long story short time).I am contemplating homeschooling my daughter. I really thought this school was the right fit for my daughter. She was basically tossed from one place to another with a plan of action that was never put into action. No child should be mistreated under no circumstance! All students should be treated equal and fair. No teacher should ever engage in any boisterous behavior in front of her students towards a parent. ALL parents should be treated with Respect. I have Never disrespected this teacher or anyone at the school for that matter. But was treated in a very unprofessional manner. No one has to take that. My daughter has always looked forward to going to school but now it has gotten to the point where my daughter doesnt want to go to school. She cries, she gets irritable, she gets figity and nervous she complains her stomach hurts. My daughter struggles because of her seizures but she tries really hard she has come a long way. She is very affectionate which does not work well with this teacher. This whole experience has been very stressful for my daughter, me and my family. I mean so many things have happened in such a short period of time, and what's disheartening is there is no one there to turn to, no one!

Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
There is no passion for student growth. Very disappointing experience. Students learn to do the minimum to get by.


Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
The school doesn't have interest or resources to develop students. The school looks the other way when students regularly sneak away from school and smoke behind Frys. Take a drive there sometime during school and see.

Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
The school develops nothing. I didn't see any evidence of any interest in helping students become better people.

Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
There is little interest in developing students. There are classes where the students sit and do nothing. Final exams are replace with games - seems like babysitting.


Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics 1

Posted January 06, 2016
- a parent
The school has a very good arts program. However, the academic program is lacking. Only about a third of the teachers are actually state certified which is not revealed when you visit the school. When my child attended this school, it was clear that the academic program was lacking. The teachers seem to be people who can't get jobs anywhere else. Generally, there is a lack of enthusiasm and even interest. When I attempted to meet with the principal to have a discussion about my perceptions, she would not make time to meet with me. Thankfully, although there was a little transition time, things are much better at our current high school which is MUCH better at preparing students for college.

Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics 1

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Horrible teaching specifically from science. Horrible communication and poor academic materials. Arts not impressive for an arts school.

Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics 1

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
Withdrew from the school the minute we could. Transferred from one school to this sorry excuse for a charter and was sorely disappointed. They were going to make me retake classes (putting me a year behind) that I already took. Didn't get into most of the classes I wanted- which was the whole reason we applied. Substitutes were filling in for 4 teachers and nobody knew what they were doing. Administration will make you wait for hours just to talk for 5 mins. Administration is snippy and unfriendly. Every class had a fee and students have to provide practically everything and the teachers blamed it on a low budget. The only teachers that were any good were the musical theatre teacher and ballet teacher. I do not recommend this school to ANYONE. If you want to be angry 99% of the time, pay fees at any chance they can get, and learn absolutely nothing then this is the school for you.


Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
Only two teachers- ballet and musical theatre that have even a little bit of knowledge of what they are doing.

Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 06, 2015
- a student
Homework on first day of school. It was a test not finished in class, which is preposterous that they would require to do it at home- but they did.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics
2820 W. Kelton Lane, Phoenix, AZ  85053
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 89 reviews. (602) 266-4278
Last modified Arizona Conservatory for Arts and Academics is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top