Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-6 & Ungraded
Public
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 405

3 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Echo Mountain Intermediate School 2

Posted August 06, 2014
- a parent
The teachers my son have had were pretty involved in his progress, which made me pretty happy. He went there for 2 years, 1 at EMP and 1 year at EMI. The second year was the worse mainly because the front office staff. They aren't friendly at all and the records secretary is beyond rude. One of the main reasons I decided to move out of that districts. But I did really enjoy that they offered after school programs, which he really enjoyed. But he did come home one day and told me how the records secretary was very rude to him and rolled her eyes at him about not remembering a phone number. They could improve by hiring new front office staff, or having them go through a customer service training class.

Echo Mountain Intermediate School 1

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
It honestly doesn't get much worse. As a parent the drop off changed 3 times this year and all of them are poorly managed. The current drop off is the old bus route and there is no SIDEWALK, except at the very front of the line.. its just a cement cliff. So you are forced to wait to drop your kid until the front. The campus is "secure" so all the entries are blocked other than 3 in the am. I understand locking it up when the bell rings but never opening them? Speaking of bells, In the handbook it says school starts at 8:45 but after 22 tardies I was notified she has to be in her line at 8:40 ready to go to class because if the line leaves she has to get a pass from the office. Kids may also not walk through the office to go to class they must go around, you have to drive all the way around the school again or drop your kid across the street. They follow "make your day" which means your kid is responsible for telling the teacher how on task they are, the teacher doesn't keep a record. If homework doesn't get turned in no one tells you until report card time. Events happen and you here about it day of.


Echo Mountain Intermediate School 1

Posted March 08, 2014
- a teacher
The principal is not supportive of substitute teachers at all. Substitute teaching is a very challenging endeavor and should be backed by administration. Principal was very stand offish to me and did not make me feel welcome at his school. I asked the principal to intervene on behalf of several students regarding bullying situations but nothing was ever accomplished. Office staff is friendly and teachers are very hard workers.

Echo Mountain Intermediate School 5

Posted February 04, 2011
- a parent
Excellent school! My daughter has learned so much in the past year. The teachers are great and are dedicated. I could not ask for better staff.

Echo Mountain Intermediate School 0
no rating

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
This school is awesome! The teachers are great and dedicated!


Echo Mountain Intermediate School 5

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
Great school! Dedicated teachers and staff. This school has become a model for others schools who are in lower economic areas and it should be. The test scores alone prove how dedicated the teachers, staff, parents, and students are. :)

Echo Mountain Intermediate School 5

Posted February 18, 2010
- a parent
For the people who are whining about the 'Make Your Day' - How do you think teachers can teach without the students learning how to be responsible? By the way, the school is not falling below the standards. Actually, this school received Performing Plus - just one point shy of Highly Performing - most of the students at this school are meeting the standards on AIMS. The person who was complaining and making a statement that this school is falling below standards obviously just wanted to vent without any real proof behind their statements. Students need to learn social skills and that's what Make Your Day is all about. This program holds students and parents accountable for learning and I'm sure that doesn't make some of the non-involved parents very happy.

Echo Mountain Intermediate School 4

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
The EMIS administrators and instructors are dedicated to increasing the safety, health, well-being, and educational opportunities of each student. If given ample funding, time, tools, and materials to implement specific endeavors, the EMIS would rate five stars. As such, it is a pleasure to vote for the EMIS!


Echo Mountain Intermediate School 4

Posted May 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Echo Mountain Intermediate School 1

Posted April 24, 2008
- a parent
With so much emphasis on the children's social behavior and this 'Make Your Day Program' it's no wonder the school is falling below standards. I am a supportive parent of the school and the teachers in place, but enough is enough. I believe they're so wrapped up in a child's social skills that they've completely lost track of the academic aspect; which is what the children are there for in the first place! Total lack of communication, rude, and lack of compassion is all I can say about the Office Staff.....We will be moving out of this area just so that my kids can attend a different school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Echo Mountain Intermediate School
1811 E. Michigan 3, Phoenix, AZ  85022
(602) 449-5600
Last modified Echo Mountain Intermediate School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Echo Mountain Intermediate School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top