Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1-8 & Ungraded|Public charter
350 students|Freedom Academy Inc.
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
106 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (9 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 172 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Freedom Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
The school does a great job encouraging family time outside of school. Homework is very manageable for students. The only critism in this area would be the school giving a student zero's in their work for missing school if they are not sick. Taking an extra day off for a family vacation requires a parent to call their child out sick so they can make up their work and not lose credit. Also if your child is sick and they have a book report to turn in the day of being sick, the child will receive a zero unless the parent drops off, emails or faces the assignment on the day the child is out sick. No exceptions

Freedom Academy
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
Again I don't think the school develops grit, persistence or determination in their students. There have been a handful of teachers that have done an outstanding job encouraging and giving insightful feedback to students to help them grow but this would be a handful. The school seems to have a high turn over rate losing many excellent teachers. Thankfully there are a few great ones still teaching at Freedom Academy.


Freedom Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
I don't know if the school really develops respect in their students. I have not seen any type of development plan. I agree that the staff will handle issues as they arise as they best see fit which is not always what is in the best interest of all parties involved.

Freedom Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
I feel the school could do a much better job in this area. Again leadership and communication classes would be beneficial to all staff levels.

Freedom Academy 1

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
Major improvement is needed at Freedom Academy (Paradise). They need new administration and a new board. Leadership could use training on treating others with respect at all levels.


Freedom Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
Beth greets everyone with a smile. She is helpful and honestly one of the best things at the school. Administration is lucky to have her.

Freedom Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
I feel the teachers are effective but at times can be less tolerant of the middle school aged kids. Respect should be mutual

Freedom Academy 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a community member
This is by far the best school that we have ever attended the administration is so great it is beyond what we could have expected to have our children in this school is an honor. The teachers and all the administration are wonderful and we have had no complaints this is our second year and we will continue until 8th grade it's nice to finally find a school that cares about our childrens' education.


Freedom Academy 5

Posted July 12, 2016
- a teacher
I've had the honor of being on both sides of the fence at Freedom Academy. First, as a parent for 4 years and now a staff member. The school truly is a blessing, they focus on supplying students, parents and staff with a complete, positive and supportive learning environment. The administration is dedicated to helping everyone meet their goals, while assisting us to become well balanced leaders who look at each student with the ability to asses their challenges and strengths. The educators are brilliant, out of the box teachers who give their all. This school is large enough to offer variety, but small enough to offer an intimate learning environment. Truly the best choice for students, parents and staff.

Freedom Academy 5

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
I am going into my 10th year as a teacher for Freedom Academy. I've taught at other schools and I can tell you it is absolutely the most wonderful school I've ever been a part of. Each child is loved and cared for with utmost concern. I've personally witnessed numerous children have their lives completely turn around for the better because of the environment at this school. The academic standards are very high and children are completely equipped for high school by the time they graduate. And if you've never attended a Freedom Academy 8th grade graduation ceremony, you are missing out! What a great event. Linda Hoffman is amazing. My son, that graduated 10 years ago from Freedom, still comes back to spend time with her. There are two awesome campuses. If a grade is full at one campus you can go to the other one. I've taught at both schools and they are both equally wonderful.

Nearby schools

Freedom Academy
3916 E. Paradise Lane, Phoenix, AZ  85032
(602) 424-0771
Last modified Freedom Academy is a Charter school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top