Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Starshine Academy

Charter | K-12 | 500 students

We are best known for global business studies, individualized, handson,holistic
 
 

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 1, 2013

StarShine Academy is under construction and will have all new facilities by the time school opens in August of 2013! It will be one of the most high-tech, Ecology-rich, sustainable designs for a school in the United States and will include gardens, an urban farm, radio, television, high-tech science centers, a Sports/Theater Center and an Elders Wisdom Center. Please come and watch us grow!

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2011

This is Trish McCarty, founder of StarShine. The reason you don't see test scores is because our schools are small and cannot be reported accurately to protect the identity of children at the school. I have tried several times to get GreatSchools to post something but can never get their attention. Maybe you can help. The kids are learning about 1.5 times the average child. And they have many more problems to overcome so they are amazing.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 18, 2009

I'm so glad I was hired at Starshine. They gave me a chance when no other school would even give me an interview. I now have my substitute certificate and love teaching the kids. The school helps the kids that can't go to school anywhere else because of issues with the other schools. Thanks to Trish and Jan for giving me another chance, too.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 5, 2009

This is an outstanding school. The teachers and staff really go the extra mile to see that every student receives what they need. I love the emphasis they place on not only the children's academic education, but their outlook on life and instilling morals and values in the children. I recommend this school to anyone and everyone who will listen. I don't want to send my daughter anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

In this space, it allows a voice from people who may have another agenda, rather than one that supports the needs of each and every child. We have had some teachers that could not adjust to the rigid requirements that the school has for all staff to help every single child to exceed all expectations and master requirements for graduation AND university entrance. Please try to attend a graduation and listen to the students' speeches, and talk to the alumni there supporting the graduates. You will hear amazing success stories of many having not only graduated college but are doing wonderful work. StarShine does not fit a command and control lecture-only teacher. It expects teachers to educe the best of each student at all times, that includes expecting manners and integrity.


Posted May 27, 2009

Parents, please look closely at the atmosphere and opportunities your child will have at Starshine. I have taught there and the people all have great intentions and try extremly hard, but the lack of discipline and inconsistant boundaries set by administration are dangerous. Some children to flourish in this setting, most coast through and are unprepared academically and socially. I don't think any graduates have ever attended a University. This may be the school for your child if all others have failed, but please do your research before enrolling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

I have toured many schools and seen none like StarShine Academy. The staff is dynamic, kind and caring. The students are educated in gardening, leadership, international studies, music, art and the best cirriculum- using the best technology. This is not the best school for my children, it is THE school for my children. After having them attend just one year - I couldn't imagine them going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2007

Starshine is a wonderful school to be a part of. It is a place that kids can come to school and learn individually at their own pace while also feeling safe at school. Not only do we follow the Arizona State Standards, we also teach the students life skills that will help them lead more successful lives.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2007

I currently have a student at Starshine Academy. When I brought her hear last year for Kindergarten, I had a lot of expectations for her first year of education. My daughter also needed to be in a setting that kept focused on task to keep her from getting into things. In Mr. Dan's kindergarten, she was put in the setting that she needed so much. She learned how to focus her energy in a positive way. When she entered the school year, she was not even close to reading. By the end of the year, she was bringing home books every day that she read to my wife and I. Starshine Academy is an awesome school and I am so glad I chose them for my daughter's education!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

This school teaches Love and acceptance for all people. They incorporate values which are lost in most public school, courtesy, respect; acknowledgement of outer s uniqueness...


Posted August 10, 2007

This is my second year teaching at StarShine Academy and I truly love the opportunity to work with a loving staff, involved parents and wonderful children. StarShine Academy has given me the ability to make a positive difference in the lives of families. I stand behind the guiding principles and mission of this school whole heartedly. My main goal is to feed my students not only academically to be also make sure that they are being prepared to go out into the world with a great education and high levels of integrity and make a positive statement to the world. I look forward to the 2007-2008 school year. Ms. Brenda Combs
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 10, 2007

Starshine Academy is not just a school, it is an experience. I wish I had a Starshine Academy, when I went to school. Starshine individualizes instruction for all of it students. It has every student from Kindergarten to seniors in high school think about what they want to be when they grow. I believe this type of goal setting should be discussed throughout a child's education to help them focus toward their future(and for some believe they have a future). I think that Starshine really has something special here and for a brighter future for the world, we need more schools like this one.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2007

I have never worked with a better, stronger team. Each teacher at StarShine brings a special talent or area of expertise. I don't have to go far to find inspiration in my professional life. The school leadership is outstanding and I feel that my professional goals are just as important to them as they are to me. I am encouraged to explore all options available to me and to use creativity in decision making. The students are incredible and I love that we are able to individualize almost everything for our kids. As the Service Learning teacher, I am able to see kids develop and mature over the course of a semester as they volunteer at the school and in their community and take on responsibilities outside their class requirements. They have a real sense of ownership in the school and act accordingly. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2007

My children love this school. They have made a lot of improvement with reading and social skills. They really enjoy working in the garden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

I love Starshine Academy. My oldest son came out of kindergarten knowing how to read at a 1st grade level. He went to public school the following year. His 1st grade teacher told me he knew things they didn't even teach yet. My son is back at Starshine where he gets a lot of attention and encouragement. They also have a great after school program where my son learned how to play chess and he also likes the garden club they have. Thanks Starshine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

Ask any of us parents and you will hear great stories about Starshine. The culture helps those kids who have trouble at other schools. It's not a public school with rows of kids droning to the same lesson. Some kids do well in that kind of school. My kids do well at Starshine because of the morality and positivity that surround every event and lesson. The before and after school programs also help working parents (like me) to not have to rely on babysitters and TV to keep my kids entertained. Math and English lessons and physical exercise are what they get when my friends' kids are watching TV. Starshine has given them experiences they wouldn't have from another school. They know how to be better people after just one year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

This school is very poor. The staff is not able to teach students properly. The administration is poor and concerned with student count for funding rather than their students success.Do not send you child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

This school does not have after school programs. Teachers seem interested, but not enough to improve a child. NO extra curricular activities. Up to three school grades in one classroom 1 teacher to 20 students with different level education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

I think its a great school. The staff is courteous amd always looking out for the best of their students. Their staff may be young but definately not inexperienced. My son had a fear of going to high school and not making it. Since going there, his self esteem is very high and he is very confident that he will make it. The only thing I wish is they had some kind of before/after school program. Other than that it is all great!!!! Keep up the great work everyone (staff)!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
9%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
9%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
10%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
9%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Underperforming".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 70% 43%
White 17% 42%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A47%
Female 53%N/A49%
Male 47%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Camelback High School
Arcadia High School
Creighton Schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 52% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 35% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 3% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 8% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 2% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Arizona State University
Scottsdale Community College
Phoenix Community College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Japanese
Russian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Honor Society (2012)
  • AdvancEd International Accreditation Award (2012)
  • Phoenix Music Awards (2009)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Governor's Volunteer Award (2011)
  • Gardening & Nutrition (2012)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
  • Engineering
  • IT support
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club: ballroom and hiphop
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Russian

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 3:00 p.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Trish McCart/ Tammy Gee
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • 602-957-9557
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Part-time study
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 956-0065

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Internships
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
  • Virtual school
  • Waldorf
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Vocational education
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Culinary
  • Engineering
  • IT support
  • Pre-law

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Russian
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • yoga,
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • yoga

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • DECA
  • Dance club: ballroom and hiphop
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Gardening
  • Literary magazine
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Model congress
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
  • We love parents to be involved
More from this school
  • Great Schools' rating ??? Internationally, NCA Accredited StarShine is K-12+ and helps students, teachers, and volunteers find and grow their highest and best excellence in body, mind and spirit, everyone can and must make a unique contribution. StarShine believes that when individual abilities are celebrated, people are more respectful of others' unique abilities. Students recognize the world is a big place, full of possibilities, as well as responsibilities. The seed of greatness is born
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
520
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
650
Students typically come from these schools
Camelback High School
Arcadia High School
Creighton Schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Phoenix Community College
Scottsdale Community College
Arizona State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 52%
4 year college - 35%
Military - 3%
Vocational - 8%
Workforce - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3535 E McDowell Rd.
Phoenix, AZ 85008
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 957-9557

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Papago School
Phoenix, AZ


Gateway School
Phoenix, AZ





Balsz School
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT