Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public charter
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 500
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

StarShine Academy is under construction and will have all new facilities by the time school opens in August of 2013! It will be one of the most high-tech, Ecology-rich, sustainable designs for a school in the United States and will include gardens, an urban farm, radio, television, high-tech science centers, a Sports/Theater Center and an Elders Wisdom Center. Please come and watch us grow!
April 1, 2013

4 stars
Based on 47 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


48 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Starshine Academy 1

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
Never again! As a parent I want the best for my child. My child has an IEP and not once has someone contacted me to discuss his educational needs at this school. You call and leave messages and no one ever calls back. Communication here sucks. Planning on removing my child from Starshine. Parents open your eyes this school is a joke for children with special needs. They paint a good picture of how amazing the school is but it isn't.

Starshine Academy 1

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
First of all this school is terrible the staff is very rude and uncaring my daughter and son went to this school for 3 years and didn't learn anything my son is so far behind and they screwed up all my daughter's credits I should of took them out of this school a long t ok me ago I would not recommend this school for anybody. The assistant principal is very rude as well as the daughter of the owner of the school. VERY TERRIBLE SCHOOL PLEASE DON'T SEND YOUR KIDS THERE.


Starshine Academy 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a community member
Just because this school changed the way the school looks it doesnt mean that it changed the way on how they "teach" the students. All the students do is sit around on a TABLET and sometimes learn on their own. Most of what they say is a lie, even the teachers know it! Your child is better of somewhere else & if the student doesnt do their work OH TRUST ME they are not going to get in trouble. All thats going to happen is they send them to the kindergarten to read to them.. what is that going to teach them? Thats its ok to not do work. NO this school needs a whole lot more work done. Btw this school might say they care about the students but guess what? They don't . If someone has been absent for so long they dont call to say anything, they just go on about their day & as soon as the student comes back to school they dont even question on why he/she has been gone so long and also dont even bother kicking the person out.( WAS a student here)

Starshine Academy 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a community member
StarShine is an extremely unique school where in the same day a student can play basketball in a beautiful new gym, work on a high tech project on their individual tablet computer in the innovation center, work in the on campus garden, play soccer on the soccer field and learn to care for goats and chickens in the on-campus pet area. Students follow individual learning plans that are specially designed to meet their academic needs while emphasizing areas in which the student displays interest and aptitude. Teachers are all committed to working with the "whole student" and not just treat the student as another test score. A great rapport exists between the student and facility because the students recognize that their teachers really care about helping them achieve their goals. The schools curriculum revolves around a set of 15 guiding principles that help the student and teachers learn to live a better life. StarShine stands as a shining beacon of light in a inner city neighborhood that is often devoid of hope and expectation. It stands as a true example of how charter schools can bring quality education and facilities to neighborhoods that are otherwise filled with blight

Starshine Academy 1

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
It has been a very frustrating school. When I call to get answers to my questions, it sounds like I am a bother to them and don't want to help. Even the assistant principal has been so rude. I called one time to explain a situation regarding some classes and he wouldn't even let me finish speaking and I had to ask him to please let me speak. It feels very uncomfortable to communicate with Starshine staff. The teachers have been very supportive, but I don't know how they, the teacher can take it, for a long time they haven't been able to enter attandance in the school system.


Starshine Academy 4

Posted November 12, 2013
- a teacher
This school has amazing potential with the new facilities, a new principal, new teachers, and many new students! Everyone is working together to realize some very big dreams.Teachers and students are working to bring about a positive change in the community. This school has amazing principles that change lives. Come and check it out for yourself!

Starshine Academy 5

Posted November 10, 2013
- a teacher
A young first grader had to transfer to Utah a few weeks ago because her dad got a new job there. Her mom, aunt and grandmother all moved together. For two weeks the little girl cried at her new school and her mom had to pick her up early because of stomach aches. She begged to return to StarShine. After two solid weeks of watching their little girl cry, the dad quit his new job and the entire family moved back so that this little girl could come back to her beloved school, teacher and classmates yesterday. It was so sweet.

Starshine Academy 4

Posted October 09, 2013
- a community member
StarShine has undergone many changes this year--all for the betterment of the students. New buildings, new caring staff, a new principal who is pulling everything together all support the focus of helping students realize their dreams. It is an amazing place.


Starshine Academy 5

Posted October 09, 2013
- a community member
The teachers and staff really care about the students. they take time to connect with each student and see them as an individual.

Starshine Academy 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a teacher
Despite all the construction, this in itself should be viewed in a positive light. Brand new stuff! Something beautiful is being created here. Sometimes the potential of something creates the biggest joy in ones heart. This school is filled with potential. StarShine is the foundation to lifting spirits and dreams that have been crushed or have never been given an opportunity to rise. The opportunities are here, bigger and better than ever!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Starshine Academy
3535 E McDowell Rd., Phoenix, AZ  85008
(602) 957-9557
Last modified Starshine Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Starshine Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top