Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

400 students|Starshine Academy
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Dear Parents and Visitors, StarShine welcomes you. We believe each and every child has the ability to do something unique and wonderful to make the world better. We believe all schools and teachers should bring out the best in every student and to teach them not only academics but how to live and make good choices in body, mind, spirit, health, wealth and happiness. Our teachers exemplify excellence and our school is a way for others to follow. Our focus is 100% on each child. Test scores and grades do not tell much about what a child should know and master. It is not time to reform schools, it is time to revolutionize them, so they work for everyone, including parents. Thank you for caring for your child, they are our future. Sincerely, Trish McCarty
January 26, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
65 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 110 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Starshine Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
I really have no idea and feel sorry for anyone stuck in their job with Trich McCarty

Starshine Academy
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
If you can't show respect and integrity to adults I don't think you can give it to children. No respect.


Starshine Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
Not there to know but can say they don't show any respect to me or my employees.

Starshine Academy
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
If they don't show it to adults I don't believe they would show it ti children.

Starshine Academy
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
Not honest and does not show any integrity. Does not care and won't return phone calls.


Starshine Academy 1

Posted April 14, 2016
- a community member
Starshine Academy has filed BANKRUPTCY. This school has is owned by a self center woman that only cares about herself. NEVER returns phone calls. Don't think they'll be around much longer. The state needs to have better screening processes before they give out charters to just anyone.

Starshine Academy 1

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
My child is currently attending this school. I can honestly say that this is the worse school I ever put my child in. I will be removing my child from this terrible school. My child also have been in a classroom and experience two of here teachers leaving in just 4 months. The students can do whatever they want. Some are bullies and no one does anything about it. The best teachers are gone and this school is frankly a mess. I dislike this school along with former teachers and parents. This school needs to be shut down. I could open and operate a school better than Starshine Academy any day.

Starshine Academy 2

Posted December 06, 2015
- a community member
Where to start? My son changed teachers 3 times in just 4 months, and the school never notified me. I heard about the changes from him at home. I only got a letter home from the school three times during that 4 months. Otherwise, I was completely in the dark about what was going on. As far as I know, there's no PTA. The school doesn't host any activities. I have no idea what their curriculum is comprised of, despite asking. Their website is full of lies. For example, they say they have after care programs like gardening, yoga, art, music, and so on. Nope. The kids sit in front of the TV the entire time during aftercare. High-schoolers watch them. The animal care program was discontinued this year. (Again, I only found out about this from my son, not a peep from the school.) If they are lying about these things, what else are they lying about? Do they not use respectful communication practices, as they say? Is their pedagogy not based on evidence, as they say? There is no sign-out sheet. There was one day when I didn't realize that my sitter had already picked up my child, and when I got to the school, nobody knew where he was. We wandered around the campus for several minutes, panicked that he had disappeared, until I thought to call the sitter. What if it hadn't been the sitter who had picked him up??? After this incident, I urged them to establish a sign-out procedure, but they didn't. Eventually I didn't feel safe leaving him at the after care program and made other after school arrangements. I emailed the principal my concerns about our experiences at the school. I got no response. I called and left a message, asking him to call me back. No response. I stopped by the office to talk with him. He wasn't there. So I withdrew my child. This school is a farce, a sham. Someone is profiting from the grant money, but they don't care about the students, that's for sure.


Starshine Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
This school has never acted with fairness on any topic. And it's lied all 5 years that my kids went their and now their struggling in their new school because they are sooo far behind because of Starshine. This school is a big day care center only.

Starshine Academy 1

Posted November 12, 2015
- a community member
The founder of this school uses these kids to promote herself and advance her personal ambitions. She has cut corners repeatedly to the detriment of students. Teachers are either fired or get wise to the StarShine scam and move on. Look at the schools results. The poor kids at this school are at the bottom of the state when it comes to testing. It's all about the founder squeezing her wealthy friends for donations to support her international trips in which she flogs her book all about the StarShine "Effect." The only common effect shared by these kids is the need to overcome this so called educational experience. Very sad.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Starshine Academy
3535 E McDowell Rd., Phoenix, AZ  85008
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 110 reviews. (602) 957-9557
Last modified Starshine Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-12
Top