Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5 & Ungraded
Public
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 969

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Manuel Pena Jr. School 2

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
Not good, Not the worst. The teachers I have met in this school have been fairly nice. My son's teacher last year however did play "favorites" with some of her students and made it clear that she didn't like my son. My son was bullied a lot in kindergarten here. His teacher this year is struggling to help him because of the curriculum the school district has forced her to use. His teacher has spent much of her personal money and time to help her students; it seems that the school doesn't appreciate or care about their teachers. It seems very under-funded.

Manuel Pena Jr. School 4

Posted March 20, 2012
- a parent
We recently moved here from CA and my daughter had attended 3/4 of the school year there, yet my new school district didn't want to accept her as a Kindergartener and denied her the right to finish the school year because she turned 5 in OCT vs. AUG... This Principle and district was the only one that had my daughters best interest at heart and allowed her to enroll and finish the school year in order to move on to 1st Grade... THANK YOU, Very Understanding!!!


Manuel Pena Jr. School 1

Posted November 30, 2009
- a parent
At this time I am not satistfied with this school. My child is having issues in the class and the teacher and princeple are not opening other options to help my child succeed. Do not recomment this school is child has learnig issues that need assistance.

Manuel Pena Jr. School 4

Posted April 10, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attends 5th grade. Her teacher has huge expectations of her. My daughter comes home with a lot of relevant homework. My daughter s grades are below average and they truly reflect where she is she was considered an A+ student elsewhere. I love this school/teacher!

Manuel Pena Jr. School 5

Posted November 22, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Manuel Pena Jr. School 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
This is a really great school. The teachers have high expectations of the students and seem to really care about the children.

Manuel Pena Jr. School 5

Posted June 21, 2007
- a parent
My son was in 2nd grade, his teacher made sure that he met a full year growth of academic even though he was slightly advance. She did not set him in a corner and skip him because he knew the material she challenged him and others of his like ability.

Manuel Pena Jr. School 5

Posted July 22, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is currently going here and so far it's been great! We love the school, the teachers, the kids, and (my daughter) loves the food. It's a wonderful and safe place for the kids to learn.


Manuel Pena Jr. School 5

Posted January 10, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Manuel Pena Jr. School 4

Posted August 23, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Manuel Pena Jr. School
2550 N. 79th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ  85035
(623) 691-4000
Last modified Manuel Pena Jr. School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Manuel Pena Jr. School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top