Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sunset Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-8 & ungraded

We are best known for Continuous Improvement Process.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 19, 2011

Congratulations and Thank You to all our volunteers. Sunset Ridge is proud to have over 100 volunteers that support the campus in many ways. Our volunteers serve on PTA, our Campus Improvement Team, read with our students, make copies, help in the office and much more. Parent Involvement is valued at Sunset Ridge.

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 17, 2008

I gave my two sons in this school going near 3 years and my kids love this school. I have been pleased with staff they are always helpful and I can not say enough great things about the teachers. They are awesome!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I have loved having my daughter at Sunset Ridge Elementary School. The staff has always been kind and helpful. The playgrounds are always clean and the PTA is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I'm not at all impressed with the principals help when students are bullied. They don't take it seriously.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

I personally think that the new principal is a breath of fresh air for Sunset Ridge. She has already made so many changes. Changes that have been long over due. The staff moral seems really great. Our PTA rocks and everyone should join to help make it even a bigger success this year. Go Hawks!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

I go to this school, so I think I can give a better review than a lot of people. Sure, the school has some problems, but overall I've learned so much! My teacher Mrs.O'halloran is great and fun. I think the music program is not so faboulus, but at least we have one! The band program is great! Nice school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2008

This school is ok... The P.E. and Music classes are phenomenol but everything else is kind of bad. Some teachers dont know what they are doing. The substitutes are horrible. Some teachers are just plain rude to my children. The outside of the school looks like a prison. This school is not that great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

My daughter just graduated kindergarten. She learned sooo much she started school not knowing much and finished reading at 1st grade level,math add/sub, her teacher was absolutely terrific her name is Ms. Goings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

My daughter just finished kindergarten her teacher was Ms. Goings, she went over and beyond with her students. My husband and I were so thankful our daughter had such a wonderful teacher that showed her so much. She prepared her class very well for 1st grade. Although it will be sad my daughter will not have Ms. Goings anymore :(.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

There is only one tearcher that is worth the degree. The Office staff is beyond help and as for needing parent envolvement. The office staff does not make you feel like you want to walk through the door let alone help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

This school needs more parent involvement. The parents expect the school to be perfect but refuse to see the need for parents. The school is quite average for academics but there are some great teachers who care about their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

It has only been a few months, but my daughter loves Kindergarten at Sunset Ridge. Her teacher, Ms. Goings, is so sweet and communicates with the parents quite often.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

We moved to Az from out of state and arrived in the middle of the school year. My daughter completed the rest of the year at Sunset Ridge, and I did not want her to go back. I found the teachers to be horrible, and the parent participation to be even worse. The best decision we made was to leave the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

My child attended this school for 2 years and it was a big dissappointment. We ended up moving this year to another district. The teachers in 7th grade were petty, immature, rude, and did not behave in an approprate mannor. They lack in encouragment and often resort to childish putdowns and adolecent behavior. I was shocked that teachers like this actually have a job. I would advise anyone that attends 7th grade and 8th grade to watch out and do your research.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

We were not pleased with the academic program in 'K'. We were fortunate to have a child whom had excelled from home teachings. She felt K was 'day care'. We expressed concern in writing requesting communication with the Principle. We never received a phone call or any attempt to communicate with us after several contacts. We believe it is a parents responsibility to aide in teaching/learning. We had hoped it would be complimented by the school program. We are hopeful the first grade program will offer satisfactory academics. It is evident the Principle and support staff are not governing the operations of the school and their responsibility to provide a quality environment for teachers,students and parents. A more supportive/accountable role by the district would benefit all. Our rating would be 2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

My son just finished Kindergarten this year at Sunset Ridge and had a very good year. He was treated well by everyone and truly loved going to school. Ms. Goings was phenomenal and far exceeded where I thought he would be academically at the end of the year. I look forward to 1st grade and want to commend the all the staff on such a great year. I would encourage parents to get involved in the PTO. The board members are great ladies to work with and every bit of help just makes our school that much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

Little to no support from the principal. The school prides itself on accepting the diversity among students...But has no tolerance for different styles and diversity among its staff. The district is no better. It resolves problems by sweeping them under the rug and hopes nobody notices. Parents and teachers have to go through a lot to be heard and taken seriously. Discipline is inconsistent.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 8, 2007

Understanding but without much leadership principal. Somewhat rude front office personnel. Lovely nurse, counselor and library personnel. Friendly but not so great teachers. Little or no sufficient help for student with special needs. After spring state tests Spring AIMS every year my kids were there (three) it was already summer vacation as far as academics were taught(or better not).Excelling students were not supported for their level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

Teachers seem to come and go yearly. Why can't they retain staff?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My children have attended sunset ridge since it has opened. The one problem.I have seen is the high teacher turn over. The other problem is the traffic before and after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2006

My son just finished 5th grade at Sunset Ridge and we have been very happy with his fist year at this school. His homeroom teacher was great,as well as his advanced math teacher, they both challenged him to excel, which was great! I have spoke to many parents in our neighborhood and all have had positive experiences. I can only hope next year will be as good as this year for him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Hispanic 11% 43%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Excelling School (2010)
  • Excelling School (2009)
  • Excelling School (2008)

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Lynnette Byrn
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (623) 445-7880

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cheerleading
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
More from this school
  • Character Counts Program and Peer Mediation are part of the campus Safe Schools Plan.
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35707 N. 33rd Lane
Phoenix, AZ 85086
Website: Click here
Phone: (623) 445-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ridgeline Academy
Phoenix, AZ


The Caepe School
Anthem, AZ



Anthem School
Anthem, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT