Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arizona Cultural Academy

Private | PK-12 | 240 students

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $92,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted November 7, 2011

We look forward to hearing from you!

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

LOVE ACA... I have to kids there one in KG and the other is in P-K .. My KG scores in Sylvan 1.6 in Math and 1.8 in English !!! that's more than a first grade level mashaallah!! Family oriented, caring teacher, amazing principle, amazing staff and kids get to feel comfortable being muslims, memorize quraan and read Arabic !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2013

There are few schools in the Valley that allow for a safe yet educational environment especially for the Muslim community in Arizona. ACA is one of them, and lets children enjoy an education on par with public schools, if not greater, without all of the bad environments, drugs, and peer pressure of the public schools. There is no other school that is K-12 in which students can learn about their religion, learn arabic, hear the call to prayer, pray, give talks, and stay with other Muslims in the valley. The gym is a very nice addition which is great for community events and for playing in. This school has small class sizes and leads to strong bonding between classmates. Its overall a great school.


Posted March 11, 2013

I think ACA is a horrible school because the don't know how to teach am student and I been disliking the school for a long because of the system thanks god that I am out of ACA and i am public school my grade had enproved In my opinon ACA is just a money Make DON'T GO THERE.


Posted December 2, 2011

I am a student who has studied here for over five years. Nothing beats the environment. It's amazing to be able to find such a family-oriented safe place in today's world. In the long run, despite the fact that the education could be better, the environment is really worth it. Love this place!!


Posted August 23, 2011

A great school has qualified caring teachers, strong principal leadership, and challenging academics. Sadly, this is not how I would describe ACA. Less than half of the teachers there are qualified. Need a job but don't have any teaching qualifications at all? ACA maybe the only school in the US that will hire you. If the principal cared at all about the student's education, they would never hire someone who wasn't qualified by the state to teach. Frankly, tuition is way too expensive, especially in this economy, and that may be fine if the academics were above average. They aren't. Luckily, there are some really strong charter schools in the Valley that I think many will find a better option all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

Good School, Good hard working people run it. safe environment, care a lot about the students. Strong principal/school leadership Challenging academic programs and the fees are resonable.


Posted September 23, 2010

Exceptional school, for exceptional children and responsible, sensible parents. Top academics by test scores, safe environment Not suitable for everyone especially low discipline families and underachievers, who may find public schools a safe heaven.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

The teachers are qualified, but as mentioned by previous reviewer, they have favorites. They give more attention and care to some students than other ones. ACA has good curriculum and good teaching method. Remember, as parents, you have to be active because if you are not teacher's friends or your kids are not teacher's favorite, surely they will only give little attention or even ignore you and your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

it has it's good and bad sides. the good- teachers care a lot about the students and its a very safe enviorment. the bad- a lot of us feel it messy. also some teachers don't know how to controll the class, so sometimes we barley learn anything which is pretty sad. but over all it's a pretty average school. i'd rather go to public school but it's okay. everyone is friendly :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2009

Teachers have favorites. I barely learn anything. We barely ever do anything productive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

Every school has its good side, and its bad one, including ACA. Its academics are standard, and the teachers are qualified. But what I am concerned about a few things regarding the behaviour of students. I am hoping it improves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

This is an excellent school. If you want your child to do well in academics as well as behavior send him here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I have 3 kids at ACA , I think ACA is an amazing school . The principal is a great leader. I love the new ACA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

This school is horrible the staff rude, and they also favoritize! I Left the school and life has been great for me. Public school is way better than this horrible private school! They are a very cheap school, and you have to pay alot of money to attend there. That school is horrible!


Posted June 25, 2008

The 7 years I've had in ACA were awesome C: The teachers were wonderful and they would really look in to your problems and help you fix them. They looked out for us students and everything. ACA is a little messy here and there, but I think it has the potential to grow as one of the best Islamic schools in the US! Go ACA
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2008

Its very safe compared to many schools I have seen. Also the people of the staff nurture a welcoming environment. Good academics with diverse student population. Recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 39% N/A
White 31% 42%
Black 30% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 39%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public Schools
Out of State Public and Private Schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic
  • Arabic languages
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Jane Smoudi
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Islamic
Fax number
  • (602) 453-3222

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic
  • Arabic languages

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tae Kwon do

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Creative writing

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • The school has an established school council which includes parents, students, teachers, board members, and community members. the board of directors is composed of community members. parents volunteer at the school as well as help plan and organize school events. parents escort students on field trips. the school is run in part on community donations, therfore parents and community play a huge role in the school.
More from this school
  • 100% of our graduated high school students for the last three years have been accepted at colleges and universites of their choice with full scholarships. 85% of our students scored at least a grade above their current grade level in Stanford 10 results. 85% of our students scored in the 75% and above quartile in Mathematics and Science in Stanford 10 results.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public Schools
Out of State Public and Private Schools

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University
University of Arizona
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7810 S 42nd Place
Phoenix, AZ 85042
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 454-1222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT