Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix

Charter | K-12 | 348 students

Our school focuses on STEM education and college preparation.
 
 

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $59,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2009

This school is awesome...Now i have all a's!! yi love the new 6th grade teacher he is real nice! i think i am going to stay here until im in 12th grade!! go sonoran eagles! u rock coach haight! (i think that's how you spell it..) Xd
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 5, 2009

The school is great but, the outside cement playground needs to be changed.Also, the Spanish is not so good either, my child has been here for 3 years and hasn't learned even the Spanish basics. In other ways, it is very good in math and science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

The teachers are unintelligible. Due to broken English being spoke throughout the school by both students and administration, it is difficult to understand the instruction. Administrators are also sometimes heard talking in a different language while within the school campus during school hours. These language barriers make it difficult for students to learn the content by any other means other than on their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2009

My son was attending that school as a second grade. We had tremendous experiences there. I think it was one of the very unique schools in phoenix area. The striking feature was the teachers in the school. Their passion and love of teaching -we wish- to be contagious to every school in the valley. They are locked in science and achievements of peace and success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

My son is doing so much better sense attending Sonoran Science Academy. He feels safe and loves going to school. He had mostly failing grade in public school but his grades are mostly A's and B's now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

My son started here as a result of him falling through the cracks at many other schools. My son is special needs and requires much help with reading and comprehension of grade level texts used in his core classes. Ms. Carol, the resident Special Education specialist, has taken my son up several points in his MAP testing for reading and language arts. I could not be more pleased!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

Sonoran Scienc Academy... the cultural diversity is such a positive influence not only for my son but for me as well. My son has be doing so much better sense attending this school. The ciriculum is challenging and therefore keeps things interesting... besides challenge is learning and learning is challenge. We are extrmely happy... this is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

One teacher, doesnt care about anything except for his own life. My son, since the first day, hasnt learned a thing. the recent MAp testing, he got -22 points lower than her first test. At home, i help them with his hw, but at school, when he asks a question, his teacher doesnt call on him. This school sounds all fancy and all, but really in reality its bad for your children. If you had to choose a good school, go to the SSA in tucson-that's a real school-it has better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

our son used to go to this school when he was in kindergarten and first grade and we really love it there, the receptionist Patty is a wonderful and very friendly woman. we really missed this school. our son now attends a brand new school under higly school district which we dont like, coz the curriculum is worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

The administration at this school is severely lacking, very serious safety issues are swept under the rug in hopes that they'll go away. Obviously this is a huge concern. Also communication is very poor - half day schedules were changed at the beginning of the school year and there was no notifications sent home. The office staff's excuse was 'now you know how the administration at this school works'. The curriculum seems great but far too many administrative issues for me to feel safe in continuing to send my child to SSA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

Sonoran Science Academy is a perfect school for my son compared to the other schools around..At the beginning of 2007-2008 season I enrolled my son to this school.Teachers are very dedicated and curriculum is very satisfying.My kid is challenged by his teachers and he doubled even tripled his knowledge level compared to the first day of the school.So I strongly suggest our school to the other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

When I found SSA I was very excited about the school. My daughter is a bright child. Most of the teachers at this school are really great teachers. The one my daughter had, unfortunately was not one of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

Sonoran Science Academy is a great place for my child to learn and grow. It is a great school with caring, dedicated teachers who go out of their way to help ensure that each student maximizes their learning potential. Professionalism and dedication to students is apparent every day as staff is easily accessible to parents/students. The school has great math and science programs that provide excellent challenge for students. Students may take part in numerous extra curricular activities (free-of-charge) such as chess, soccer, aerospace, etc. The school has strong test scores and I strongly recommend it to parents seeking a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

My child has been attending SSA since it first opened its doors. We tried private schools and SSA is levels above them. Math is terrific and they can work at their own pace. One on one instruction with smaller classroom size is a giant plus! I do wish they had more athletic organized sport events, however the school is a God send!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2007

Sonoran Science Academy is a great school. Last year, my kids were there and we need to relocate due to my job. This year, kids are going to a different school, but we still miss Sonoran. Academic is excellent there and teachers are very dedicated and dealing with students' needs. In addition to these, i have not seen any other school offering that number of academic clubs and teams for their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

My son is in the Kindergarten in SSA since August 06. His teacher is very devoted to provide above the standard quality in the class and in after class activities. I like small class size in the school and also the strictness and discipline they are enforcing. I haven t seen any running, yelling or misbehavior of students like you can see in many other schools. This school provides very high level of math, science and art/music/history curriculum in the school. There are several clubs for the after school activities as well. They will also start with the high school this year (2007) which will allow me to keep my son in the same school K-12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

My son has been attending this school for 3 years and we have had the best educational/social experience of any school private or public. The math and science programs are unparalleled. The students are encouraged to work at their own pace and it is not unheard of for 7th graders to 10th grade math. Language Arts and History curriculums are excellent. Drama, Art, music, and Personal Development are required classes. They also offer excellent after school programs and clubs including tutoring with ASU engineering/math/computer PhD candidates, guitar club, aerospace, and sports club to name a few. The faculty are easily accessible and accommodating. It is a friendly environment. I recommend it to everybody, particularly if your child is a math/computer whiz.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

This school is great! I am impressed with the school's math and science program. The teachers work hard with each individual.The administration and the teachers are very professional and dedicated. There are many extra-curricular activities that my son can join. They are also encouraging all students to be part of academic teams to compete in the regional and national competitions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My children's two years exerience with Sonoran Science Academy has shown us that this school is committed to providing a superior alternative to the traditional public and private school systems. Due to the smaller class size, they are able to devote the time needed to ensure each child understands the curriculum. The teachers I have had the pleasure to work with are caring, competent and committed to giving my children their best. They teach to our children's educational capabilities rather than their grade level. My sons are eager to go to school, and excited to learn. They have music, art and excellent after school clubs available. Unfortunately, they are too small for organized team sports, but I feel there are enough sports experience alternatives(AYSO, YMCA, Pop Warner) for this to not be a large concern. Parental involvement in the school is encouraged and welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 5%
White 37% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A47%
Female 42%N/A49%
Male 58%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Arizona State University (ASU)
University of Arizona (UofA)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Origami club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 am
School end time
  • 3:05 am
School Leader's name
  • Ike Ozis
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 244-9856

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Turkish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • PE instructor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • First Lego League
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Origami club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Seaperch
  • Student council/government
  • VEX Robotics
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University (ASU)
University of Arizona (UofA)
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4837 E. McDowell Road
Phoenix, AZ 85008
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 244-9855

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



New Way Academy
Phoenix, AZ


Balsz School
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT