Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
SSA-Phoenix is a terrific charter school, offering parents a public option to all the school choices in Phoenix. The parent community is outstanding - very engaged students. Teachers are experienced energetic and engaged as well. The class sizes are one of a few reasons I picked Sonoran Science Academy Phoenix. The leadership is very strong. Submitted by a parent

Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a teacher
This school has a huge multicultural community in a low demographic area. Each teacher is highly qualified and has compassion for this school. Although we are a Title 1 School and do not have many supplemental resources, everyone tries their hardest and works best with what they have. The Common Core Curriculum is used and each student is learning to their highest potential.


Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
The teachers in this school know what they are doing. Students always engaged with science-math and technology. The school offers computer science class to all grades K-12. This is unbelievable. Your kids begin to learn computer in kindergarten. The school, especially SSA-PHX has multicultural student structure. There are students from Somalia, Ethiopia, Russia and many other countries that I can't remember right now. I strongly recommend to visit the school to see the difference from other school once.

Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix is an outstanding school with a golden heart. Many of the teachers there are dedicated to the students and families and have been at this school for over 5 years. Alumni are active in the school, they donate their time to the award winning Robotics and Lego clubs. It may not be the fanciest looking school but it's heart is made of gold!

Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
Sonoran Science Academy teachers and staff are great. They are committed to the students by volunteering there time for tutoring and clubs with no cost to parents.


Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 5

Posted November 16, 2012
- a parent
This school provide's a safe enviroment inside the school buildings as well as outside and if something was'nt deamed safe it was soon made safe by the school. I have been to this school for a while now; the staff are all friendly in a professional manner, Excellent school, excellent parent feedback - couldn't be any better!

Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
I have two kids in this school. The teachers are very supportive and provide the right balance between education and play. I found the teaching very good and to a high standard. The special educational needs department has a specially equipped with many materials. This is a mixed school and is very multi cultural and you are able to lean a lot about the different cultures and faiths in here in the US which allows kids to get a broader and more open minded view of kids and other peoples faith and cultures. Great School, Great Teachers with High Standards of Education.

Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 5

Posted November 14, 2012
- a community member
I've been here for four years and really, I'm glad I have had the opportunity to attend such a school. The teachers are helpful in that they get to spend lots of time with their students; although it might get on some people's nerves, but they are only wishing the best for you. The education is great and improving - I am a senior and get to witness the younger students receive plenty of new programs to help them succeed. To be honest, I'm a bit jealous. Anyway, not only are we polishing SSA - Phoenix on the inside, but the appearance as well. The school's been painted to a more appropriate color, we've gotten newer, safer fences, and we are working on doing more. I hope this review will change your mind and give us a chance.


Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 5

Posted November 11, 2012
- a parent
I have known this school for two years and school is just doing great job. There is a diversity of students and teachers are so patient and dedicated to educate. I love the vision of the school which is STEM focused education. I feel lucky that we have this type of school in our neighborhood..

Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix 1

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
This is THE worst school I have ever seen. My 5 year old is not Muslim or Middle Eastern so she was made to feel like an outsider. She was YELLED AT by some inept teacher on the second day of school and was terrified to go back. The administration blamed MY CHILD for this, saying she was too immature to be in their school! The school called me and told me that I have to come get her immediately, and we had to withdraw her after only 4 days because of the teacher s inability and unwillingness to help out with the traumatic experience my daughter had there. They ate lunch outside where it's 112 degrees outside! There's supposed to be a school uniform, unless you're Muslim, and then I guess you can wear whatever you want (the girls' robes cover everything). The best thing I EVER did was pull my daughter out of there!!! I ve never seen so much incompetence in one school, and that was the adults ! (I use that term loosely) SSA I hope you read this, as I'm sure you know who my daughter was. FYI she is now doing AWESOME in her new school!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix
4837 E. McDowell Road, Phoenix, AZ  85008
(602) 244-9855
Last modified Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sonoran Science Academy - Phoenix Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews.