Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School

Public | K-8 | 712 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

123 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2011

ALTS is the BEST school! Great staff. Great kids. Very good cirriculum. ms mayole is an amazing principal who truely loves what she does and genuinely loves the kids. Wouldn't put my kids anywhere else if you paid me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2011

Our daughter attendend Tumbleweed elementry school for first grade and I could not believe how horrible the school was..I am soo glad we found ALTS! The academics are challenging and her teacher has been great! It is just like private school without the cost!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

LOVE ALTS if you want your child to have a good education AND you want to be a parent who participates in your childs education, this is the school for you! The key is to participate, then your child will want to learn and have pride in their education and school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

Great school, the administration is fair when it comes to enforcing agreed upon rules. The principal takes time for students and really helps solve problems which is why there is so little bullying or fighting at this school. The teachers are very aware of what is going on and everyone seems to get along. The principal and teachers are always nice to each other and seem to get along really well. The principal is always walking around the campus or visiting students in the cafeteria Respect is found on this campus. T


Posted October 10, 2010

I love that this school strives for excellence and doesn't accept anything less. I wouldn't say that their rules are any stricter than other schools, I'd say that they actually ENFORCE their rules. The principal and teachers are always willing to make time for you if you have a concern. The dress code is wonderful! It's not too over the top that everyone looks like uniformed clones, it's about dressing respectfully and modestly which I do not think it too much to ask. They do have consequences for not turning in homework up to and including Saturday detention, which is just fine by me! Students who are constantly disruptive, delinquent in their homework, or have unresponsive parents are asked not to come back and I applaud such values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2010

That it stands for what our country was founded on originally.


Posted September 28, 2010

The teachers are the BEST, they are willing to work hard for our children!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

My grandchildren attend Abraham Lincoln Traditional School and I have seen nothing but good and positive teaching for the teachers and think they should be rewarded. This school is very caring and giving and could use some giving back to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

A.L.T.S has a higher starndard of learning, dress and expectation at the same time being a place where my son loves to be Monday -Friday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I love Abraham Lincoln Traditional School because my niece and nephew love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

academics, parent involvement, discipline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

ALTS has wonderful parent involvement. This creates a positive atmosphere and leads to the success of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Abraham Lincoln is an amazing school because of our families , teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2010

Its boring for the kids and everyone HATES the dresscode and many of the teachers. me and i didnt like this scholl... WHATSOEVER so if you are reading this DONT GO THERE I mean dont get me wrong the kids are all wonderful and its easy to make friends... but your child wont like it unless they are a little goody goody :P


Posted July 9, 2010

i am a goning to be eigth grader at this school and i will say i kinda love this school. the academics are good and SOME teachers are good. The school focuses too much on on dress code and i got to say i learned more in 6th grade then i did in 7th grade because in my 7th grad year the principal and teachers focused more on the dress code. I think some things are good about the dress code that keep us looking modest but some things have gone too far. Like i have a hard time finding jeans because of the new "tight jean" rule they call very pair of jeans you own tight and they want them baggy on you. The day of the made the rule, most of the junior high kids were in In School Suspension because there jeans were called "tight"


Posted July 5, 2010

I absolutely love everything this school represents. I have seen a huge improvement in my children since they started attending ALTS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2010

As a parent of an ALT middle school student, I am very pleased with what ALTS has established. We appreciate the staff and principal's dedication to the 4 cornerstones and we rely on their enforcement. One thing I do like about the principal is she is a flexible thinker and understands children of all ages. She sometimes has to hold firm and other parents may not like it, but it is her job. The teachers are very dedicated and willing to do anything to help students. There are a few teachers who do not relate nicely to children, but the principal seems to be up on everything and changes have been made. I love this school except those parents who are always complaining that the dress code isn't enforced 100% everyday. Nothing is 100% enforced, you try your best and ALTS does a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2010

I have had all 3 of my children attend ALTS because of their high academic standards. I also have had all 3 of my children "kicked out" of their school. It is ridiculous to me that the kids are not treated as kids, but more like a military!! My youngest child is 1 whole year ahead because of this school, which is great, however, at 7 yrs old she is also less mature than the other kids in her class. She has been bored and has received several detentions. Rather than testing her to see if she needs to advance again, they will not let her return do to excessive detentions. Don't they take into consideration that she might be acting out because of her age? NO, they just dismiss them like they are PROBLEMS! If your child is not perfect in every way, DO NOT send them here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

As a parent, I have found ALTS to be very upfront about their expectations. There are some parents who choose to bring their child to the school, but do not abide by the dress code, homework or grading expectations. The principal deals well with the parents and it is evident that she expects parents and teachers to show respect for children. She deals with numerous issues and I am glad she holds her own when it comes to unreasonable parent demands and strongly supports ALTS. Whenever I have wanted to talk to her, she makes herself readily available. This school is not for everyone, there is homework and if it isn't done on time, your child will receive a zero in jr. high. So responsibility is key and parent support is necessary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

I love love love this school. I have found if I have a problemt at all with anything I can go to the teachers as well as the principal. I am so glad we moved our kids to this school from the PV school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10444 N 39th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Accel
Phoenix, AZ




Sunset School
Glendale, AZ


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT