Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School

Public | K-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

123 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2008

This school has great programs for phonics. Jr. high is ruled by fear and intimidation, with the use of a patriot card. The projects assigned at the 6th grade level rival that of a college term paper. The teacher's do not comunicate well with each other about when they are going to assign projects--so they come two and three at a time, and always on top of homework. The hand book states that for jr. high they will not have more than 90 minutes of homework. We as a family supporting our student, did more like 3 hours of homework on most nights. Students that do not cause trouble are not rewarded for the behavior of being good. This school is more focused on themis behavior of students and discipline, then they are with rewarding good behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

This school provided an excellent learning environment for my children,with no bullying,and good friends,including a better social life.I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

My kids can be creative and imaginative individuals at home. They come to school to start getting ready for the real world out there. This school does assign many projects and reports in the upper grade levels, but it is comparable to educational expectations at local private schools. In today's increasingly tech-based world and economy, I am glad my kids are also learning prioritization and organization, as they learn the basics. My 8th grader has access to tutors every week, for any subject, whether her grades are down or not. My kindergartner reads 3rd grade-level books, and can do simple addition and subtraction. I have found most of the teachers respectful and encouraging, when the parent and student are the same. We like the family-oriented environment; there are many events, where the whole family is welcome. Extra-curriculars can be done elsewhere; this place focuses on education. Thanks ALTS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

This school is not what I expected it to be. I thought that the staff really all about helping the students achieve success. After my son has been there for half a year, I find out this is not the case. I have asked for help numerous times and have come up empty-handed. I am very diappointed in their curriculum and their way of not giving what they say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

Total in this school there are really only 3 teachers that really love their teaching job! The schools current principal could care less. The teachers here are on a power trip and push these kids around way to much.These teachers are more like drill sargeants. I thought you became a teacher because you had a heart to teach. My child is very soft hearted and it hurt her to see kids publicly embarressed and humiliated. That is not what a teacher should be doing. For those of you reading this and think I wasn't invovled enough youre wrong. I was a regular in school volunteer and also kept upwith what my child was doing. Education is important and the happiness of your child should be as well. If I had wanted my child to go to military school I would have sent her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

Love the school and am so happy to see the principal gone. Now maybe we'll have a better chance of our kids getting a better education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

I have three kids attending this school. Two have been here for four years and my youngest has just started kindergarten. We have been more than pleased with every teacher they have had over the years. The staff have all been kind, supportive and understanding from the principal to the cafeteria help. We have also been very pleased with the choice of friends my children have made. The acedemics are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

We have been with this school for 5-6 years and the school is great! This is the best school in the state of AZ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

ALTS has been great for our child. I highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

We've been at ALTS for 8 years. This is perhaps the best school in the state. Serious about education with a no nonsense approach. The rules and curriculum are determined by parent committees and the administration answers to those committees. Some people don't get along with this approach and feel that the school should be patterned after their image. The leadership has stood firm over the years and refused to compromise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

My children attend ALTS now and this is their first year. I find that the teachers are very rude and that two of the three of my children are with teachers that don't seem to like them at all and aren't helpful with them in the slightest. I am very disapointed with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

My son attended ALTS from k-5. When he started there, the staff and parents were wonderful, but as time went on, it got worse and worse. Starting in the third grade the kids were expected to act as if they were in college and if they started struggling, they were alway in trouble, in detention or on the wall at recess. I was very involved, in fact the teachers were always happy to have me there. He is now attending a school in the Madison School District and we are having a much better experience with caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

I am a student at ALTS. I want to say that this school has its pros and cons. The principal made rash under-thought decisions. This is based on my observations of a few times I seen some of my friends get suspended for reasons they did not participate in. Its sad to see this school run the way it is.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 7, 2007

My children just started at ALTS, 3 months so far there. It was chosen based on the positives from this web site. The principal does not perceive more than one side of a situation. The school's after before and afterschool activities are great. There is sometimes too much parent involvement to the point they are involved in the kids personal life. The teacher's push the kids to the point of causing them to have anxiety issues,esp. if their grades seem like they will drop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

Abraham lincoln is a very focused and involved school that is excelling. I like the clean respectable dress code. Not just passing students thru rather teaching responsibility and accountibility which is what i want for my children. I know high school will be a breeze after abraham lincoln.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

My 5 yr experience with ALTS has been outstanding! Their approach; no student has the right to interfere with anothers education is so important to me. Repeat discipline issues are not tolerated. Dress code is strict so students arent paying more attention to what others are wearing, or the blue highlights in someones hair than what they are there to learn. Parent involvement is expected, which shows the kids that their education is worth their time as well. I wouldn't want my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

I live very far and thankfully am able to drive my children to this fantastic school! The reason, It Is The Absolute Best School In The Valley! The teachers and administration are wonderful and my children are way above the AZ average. I am confident in this school and appreciate that they encourage parent involvement and that they focus on what school was meant to be about, learning! (My kids like it too!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

Great school. Not without commitment on the part of the parent. You have to be pretty involved making sure your child finishes all their homework. And volunteering is highly encouraged. The payoff is a truly great school, in a neighborhood where every other school is pretty pathetic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

This will be our 5th year at ALTS. We couldn't be more happy with the education, staff, etc. There is no doubt that parents have to be active or aware of every aspect of the school for their children to succeed. The homework can be heavy at times but there is usually plenty of time in class to get a big head start. The children have to take advantage-which mine doesn't always understand. Every issue that has come up over my 5 years has been addressed, not always to my preference, but that really isn't realistic. I think most people that have strong comments about the teachers and principal didn't handle the problems they had properly. If you go straight to the district with problems, you should expect a less than happy staff. Just like in the real world. We had over 10,000 vol hours last year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

I was a student attending this school, in some ways es, it can be very good. Student are the best, smartest, and the teachers puch them to continue its excellence. Your children definetly get taught more than the average student. I was in 4th grade gettitng phone calls from my eighth grade cousin to help him with his homework. But on the otherhand, teachers there are very strict, the whole school is focused on an unattanable dress code, and students spend hours upon hours on homework. The dress code is the worst- with so many rules and regulations they should have just went straight to uniform.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10444 N 39th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Accel
Phoenix, AZ




Sunset School
Glendale, AZ


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT