Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School

Public | K-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

122 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2007

I really miss this school! all four of my children did great. We have since moved out of the state, and nothing we have found so far (except homeschool) has come even close to the high standards set for my kids. Kellie, centralia, wa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

My children started at ALTS when they were in 2nd and 3rd grades. I watched a really great school become a dictatorship and watched the best teachers leave... It is far past time for the Principal to retire and get this school back to what it once was. The 6 - 8th grade program is horrific. I dissagree with the statement that says if you're unhappy it's because you don't know what is expected or are not involved. I was involved and understood, but I also spoke out when I didn't agree and that meant my kids were singled out. They were both good students... one gifted one a straight A student but they had their own personalities... not good here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2006

There are several really great teachers here who take pride in their work. Unfortunately, there are others who are not as enthusiastic about the rigors and challenges of being an educator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

Our child is a former student at ALTS. We miss this school and staff very much. If you want your child to suceed this is a great place for them to learn. The staff are always willing to help the kids learn. My wife and I were both on different comittees and were very involved in our daughters education. The people who are complaining did not have to be there. This is a school of choice. You have to be active in the school at least 2 hours a month, the kids have to be dressed in a business type dress. A great place to learn and a good environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

I loved this school when my 3 kids started there 5 years ago. However, the politics and condescending staff make it really hard to keep them there. My son is constantly given dress code violations and detentions for very slight offenses. It is a wonderful school academically, but an awful school for everything else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2006

Very poor job instructing special needs (including gifted) children...only want kids who can keep up the ALTS 'test scores.' Agree with parent who said they are 'instructors' - not teachers...there is a huge difference! Canned, boring curriculum. Poor job in teaching creativity and gifted children. Excellent primary grades until grade 2. Grade 3 and above lacks age appropriate activities. Overall caring staff, however. But, beware! If you want your child to be able to regurgitate canned facts, this is the place for you. If you want your child to learn to think on his/her own, participate, have healthy creative experiences, participate in the arts, sports, cheer, and overall be happy, this is NOT the place for you! He/she will learn that being a student is being put down, think like teacher...not always a good thing there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2006

Any negative rating is probably from a parent who is not involved with their childs education. If they had been they would know what is expected of their child and would support the education opportunity. This is a school of Choice,if you don't like the curriculm or the teachers simply switch schools, no one will be offended.ALTS is an incredible Excelling school!It is highly recommended by many parents and students alike. Great teachers and staff, they are greatly appreciated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2006

Although ALTS has a very good academic program and my child excelled academically there,it is definitely not for every child.It is important that a school creates an enviornment where all children feel valued and all children can learn. Without a doubt, Abraham Lincoln does not do that. This school does not belong in the public school system. The principal hand picks whom she wants in position(s) of leadership and no one else has a say in the matter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

This school should not be in the public school system, they give WESD a bad name. These are not teachers, they are instructors. They do not want to teach the slow learners, because they do not know how. They only want to instruct the students that already know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2006

I agree with alot of these posts this school is very k-5 is good, however when it comes to 6th and up don't place your kid here. They are very self centered, and personally I really don't care what is said about my student and myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

This is a real find with a caring staff and a real down home feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

I am very pleased with the safety and cleanliness of the school. I do feel that the school does not encourage creativity and freedom of expression.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

I think alts is bad for juinor high students because way to much homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2005

ALTS is an overall excellent school. Academically every child is completely challenged. The level of parent involvement is incredible. The school Guild does a great job at sponsoring free family events and family friendly fundraising. Discipline and respect is not asked for but expected by teachers and students. I currently have a second grader and she loves her school. In this world where kids grow up so quickly it is refreshing to attend a school where your child's safety and education comes first to the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

My child is in his first year at A.L.T.S. He enjoys his class and teachers. The homework load is alot but he is doing great. This is a great school to challenge your child but it is not everybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

This is the best school I have ever been associated with. There are plenty of opportunities for parents to be involved, the children are treated with respect, and are challenged educationally. I know my child is safe and he absolutely loves the school despite the extra homework because he understands that this is beneficial to his future and he's willing to put in the extra effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

My children have been going to ALTS since kindergarten. It is very structured and the teachers are very good. Spalding is the phonics program used and it is very successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2005

Too many projects for the upper grade levels. Very good computer course. Lack of extracurricular activities for 6th-8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

I have spoken to many other parents with children in the upper grades and I continuely hear the same comments...'strong curriculum but..unfortunetly the teachers are just as unprofessional as the principal' As mentioned by another post...they are very self centered, hold grudges & if you child isn't 'perfect' the parent is treated like dirt. They only treat 10% of the children with dignity and respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Quality of academics for 4th-8th grades are above average. at the same time, too many projects for children to manage the other homework that is given nightly. Principle does not get involved. very poor communication with parents and with the children. Very unprofessional and unethical. Our daughter has been attending this school for two years and we are not happy with the unprofessional staff, ridicule and gossiping that goes on about the children and parents. Upper grade math teacher and computer teachers seem great though. Too many politics!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10444 N 39th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Accel
Phoenix, AZ




Sunset School
Glendale, AZ


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT