Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School

Public | K-8 | 712 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

123 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2014

This is a decent school UNLESS you have more than 1 child. There is not nearly enough parking at the school so they remedied this by having release times 40 minutes apart for K-2 and 3-8. This is the only school in the district that does this. They will not let you wait in the cafeteria or playground if you have a younger child waiting for an older one. Your options are to use the pay per hour child care provided on campus or sit in the car and wait 40 minutes...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My grandson changed schools this year and has been extremely happy here. His last school was a little harder but the kids were all snobs. This school has been the best thing for him all around.


Posted January 17, 2014

I am very happy with this school. My child is a first grader this year and although she was struggling in the beginning, her teacher was there to help us guide her in the right direction. My child started tutoring and the teacher would sit with us regularly to check on her progress. She is now right on track and feeling confident in her skills. Parents and teachers alike are very enjoyable and ready to work together from my experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

To the comment below VVV. That is awesome how your daughters are doing extremely well and you work with them. Take in to consideration the struggling student who gets help before school, during school, after school, and at home and the weekends. Not every child is perfect and children learn at different paces. I'm sure if your child was struggling and not so smart, you'd feel the stress as the parent and your child would feel down. You are having a great experience, because your children are above grade level. A real teacher can handle teaching different levels of kids and be capable of leading the class in a positive manner. This school is has great kids who have parents that care about their education and that is what is well-liked about this school. However, certain classroom instruction needs a bit of tweaking and adjustments. Children should not feel "not smart enough". Children this young need to be built in to confident individuals.


Posted November 6, 2013

Both of my daughters go to this school and we are more than happy. The teachers are great and have never had a problem and the Principal is fantastic, she cares about the kids and the school and does every thing she can to communicate with the parents. The dress code may be strict to some but it is needed and also parent interaction with your child AFTER school and even before is very important which is what ALTS pushes. We have three years of this school in our lives and are very impressed and could not be happier. As parents you also have to be fully involved with your child's development in school and not just depend on that school to substitute all parental involvement. It is a bi racial school that is a plus with everyone there with the same mind set, discipline, morals and education which prepares your child for the future . ALTS, is strict but so is the world and it prepares our children for that world and has an environment that has the focus on education. If one feels this is not what they want then ALTS is not for you. Through hard work both of kids are straight A students and are at a higher level than they would be at your standard public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

On a good note this school has structure and great curriculum, but if your child is not up to pace with the others they make you feel like they are a burden to the class. If your child is smart this is a great place where they will feel the welcoming spirit and praise. If your child is not smart, then they will soon feel unwelcomed. This school needs to focus on a variety of students not just the specific student. I think they need aides in the class to assist the teacher, so every child can stay on track and not get left behind and feel horrible about not keeping up with the rest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

Abraham Lincoln is an extremely structured and safe school!!! Total parent and community involvement helps ALTS to be one of the top schools. Teachers at ALTS actually care about there students success. I'm pleased to be part of the PATRIOT family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

This school is very family oriented school which focuses on academics, discipline and modesty which is really great for children. What would be nice though is if they offer more sports for the kids 2nd grade and above like volleyball, softball, soccer, martial arts, etc. This would really help the children to have more diverse orientation and experience in their quest for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

I went to this school since first grade and the things they taught me have ern very useful for Highschool. The teachers teach us stuff that we will also need to know during Highschool. I loved this school and highly recommend it.


Posted June 19, 2013

This school is amazing. My daughters are bi-racial and the last schools that they went to they were bullied because of their race. At this school the staff does not tolerate this kind of behavior. A positive to kids with bad behaviors at this school is that they will send them back to their home schools. Also you should know if considering this school for your child/children is, my daughters both have I.E.P.'s one is for speech and one is for reading. The teachers are amazing and really take extra time to help kids that may need just a little more time than other children. They have tutoring in mornings to help. I will say that because they do believe in such standards as we were taught it can be a little challenging coming from a different school because it's just a little harder academically...Only because the other schools are removing funding to teach such things as phonics or cursive. No one really thinks about what kind of impact it can make on someone to not know cursive. That means you can't read it or sign your name. Well at this school they are back to basics and care for each and every child as it were their own. I feel blessed to have my girls at this school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

I am a previous student of ALTS, and want to respond to the recent negative review. Teachers are very caring and do not name call or belittle students, far from it, they work hard and give up lunch time to help students, they provide Saturday school to help students and all teachers are available in the morning to tutor. The principal would never condone belittling of students, ever. The reviewer mentions teachers leaving and parents leaving. I know for a fact that several teachers left because of moving out of state or retiring, As for parents leaving, that is their choice. ALTS is a school of choice, meaning anyone can attend if they follow the strict rules and enforcement of rules, many times parents are fine with this school until their child gets a detention or suspension. The reason why this school is so popular is not just the academics, it is a place where bullying is not tolerated. As for a bored child, I am not sure how anyone can be bored unless they don't like school.


Posted May 3, 2013

ALTS is wonderful place to work and learn. Our students participate in a number of interesting activities. We use worksheets (some may call it paperwork) in order to review which is vital to the learning process. A student must review a concept up to 500 times before it is considered prior knowledge. However, we also have great projects for our students. Our teachers have them writing books and poetry. They have gardens and plays. Guest speakers come in and creativity is encouraged. We have Music and PE for every grade level. Our children get recess every day - even in Jr. High! That is not something you will find everywhere. If you come onto our campus, you will see kids and teachers talking and enjoying their time together. Our teachers have great classroom management. You will not see students off-task. This does not appeal to everyone. However, if you want a child who goes into high school and college READY for the challenges they will face, this is the place to be. The majority of our 8th graders will go into high school taking advanced level courses and they come back and talk about how easy those courses are. As a school, this is our desire. Success for all children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 3, 2013

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School is just that, tradional. It is a tough school meant for those who can focus and want to learn using the four cornerstones. It is not a school for everyone especially those who may have challenges focusing or sitting for a long period of time. If your child is excelling academically and wants to be ready for college, and as a parent you are willing to support them and their teacher this is the place for you. The school is advanced and expects a lot, but it is worth the time and effort to put into your child's future. Teachers, volunteers, and staff are amazing and work well as a team. Students are encourage to do their best at all times, as well as, use their creativity in many subjects. Those who disagree do not fully understand what goes on here. My 2 children went to another school in the district where they were not challenged, saw fights, and drugs. ALTS is a much safer place for my children and has taught them so much more than they previously would have leanred. It is rated an "A" school for a reason. I strongly encourage parents to bring their child to this school of choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

We have two students who have attended ALTS since kindergarten, by our choice. The older has gone on to high school very successfully, where the teachers have told her (and us) that the kids from ALTS are always well-prepared for the rigors of working independently, even in advanced and AP classes. While our second child is not of the same academic ability and has some emotional issues, the staff at ALTS has been nothing but kind, caring, and accomodating of the special needs of our child. They have worked VERY hard to ensure his success while being very accomodating of his challenges. It is true, ALTS does not provide counseling, as do many neighborhood schools, and we sought outside assistance. However, the teachers have done EVERYTHING in their power to help him to be as successful as possible while being sensitive to his needs. ALTS is not a perfect school - there IS no such thing. It's not the school for every child, just as a Montessori or a bilingual school is not for everyone. If you believe in the traditional school model, want your child to be CHALLENGED to excel and are willing to back it up with parental action and involvement, then ALTS might be right for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2013

This school is traditional in the level of excellence expected from the students. I think this school feels more like a private school and academically it is on the same level as a private school. If you are looking for a school with high expectations and smaller class sizes where your child will get individualized attention, this school is a good fit for you. All students are held accountable for their actions, even Junior High where the behavior is tracked on a Patriot card that records student behavior and missing homework assignments. There are built in consequences for students who misbehave and the Patriot card provides daily communication with the parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 25, 2013

Seeing some of the negative reviews of this school amazes me. Yes, they are strict on discipline and expect the students to be respectful to the teachers and to each other. They do not tolerate bullying and I have never seen a fight at this school. Yes, they have a strict dresscode, but it is not unreasonable. Kids are on an even playing field and focus is on learning. Yes, they give a lot of homework, but it is not unreasonable. My son is a perfectionist and takes 3 times longer than most children but does just fine. Middle school does present more big projects often due at the same time, but this prepares them for high school, college and work down the road. Time management, stress management, and prioritizing are great skills at any age. Yes, parents are expected to be involved in homework and volunteering when possible, even if it's simply reviewing a book for the library. All of the negative responses seem to be from parents and students who do not seem to understand the value of discipline and rigor. Children will rise to higher expectations but if we set low expectations, we will never know just how far our children will fly. As for not getting extra help, simply not true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

I've had two children attend this school with two very different results. If your child is smart or above average, and needs no additional guidance then this is an excellent school. My daughter excelled at this school and tested out into the gifted program. Her biggest complaint was in first grade the teacher used to scream at the class and call them brats,I questioned the teacher and she deined it, so I used the opportunity to teach my daughter how to deal with difficult people as I'm sure this is not the last difficult teacher she would have. My son on the other hand had a much more difficult time, I knew we were going to struggle but gave it a try anyways, and he of course struggled miserably. He was suspended in Kindergarden 3 times. I requested couseling and help for him and was told that this school doesnt have the resources to deal with Children like my son. (at his 6yr old well check he was diagnosed ADHD) we have since moved on to a very caring school that he is excelling at. Point is if your child thrives there great, if not find another place for them to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

After struggling with bullying, teasing, and a lack of supervision at a previous school in Arizona, my child was able to get in at ALTS. In spite of strict rules and academics, my child has embraced the new school, and in turn has been embraced. She has managed to make friends for the first time in four years, and has been treated with respect and listened to when she needs to be. I cannot thank this school enough for enforcing the rules for everyone and for allowing my child to be exactly who she is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

Excellent School. ALTS has surpassed all my expectations for an Elementary School. My two 7 year olds (seperate classes) will be entering 2nd grade and can't wait to see what teachers they will have because the last 4 were awesome!! Great Job!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

This school is a nice option for parents who want a traditional school that actually enforces dress code and academics; including homework and classwork completion, The school has set standards and keeps to them. It is a school of choice but every year we have many parents coming who complain about the rules. Or fight them throughout the year, so if you are considering enrolling your child, make sure you understand the school; parental involvement and structured atmosphere. Administrator is visible and available and cares about children, teachers and parents, she is awesome. Great team leader
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10444 N 39th Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85051
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Accel
Phoenix, AZ




Sunset School
Glendale, AZ


Arroyo School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT