Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 130 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


146 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 1

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
This is a decent school UNLESS you have more than 1 child. There is not nearly enough parking at the school so they remedied this by having release times 40 minutes apart for K-2 and 3-8. This is the only school in the district that does this. They will not let you wait in the cafeteria or playground if you have a younger child waiting for an older one. Your options are to use the pay per hour child care provided on campus or sit in the car and wait 40 minutes...

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
My grandson changed schools this year and has been extremely happy here. His last school was a little harder but the kids were all snobs. This school has been the best thing for him all around.


Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 5

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
I am very happy with this school. My child is a first grader this year and although she was struggling in the beginning, her teacher was there to help us guide her in the right direction. My child started tutoring and the teacher would sit with us regularly to check on her progress. She is now right on track and feeling confident in her skills. Parents and teachers alike are very enjoyable and ready to work together from my experience.

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 2

Posted November 19, 2013
- a community member
To the comment below VVV. That is awesome how your daughters are doing extremely well and you work with them. Take in to consideration the struggling student who gets help before school, during school, after school, and at home and the weekends. Not every child is perfect and children learn at different paces. I'm sure if your child was struggling and not so smart, you'd feel the stress as the parent and your child would feel down. You are having a great experience, because your children are above grade level. A real teacher can handle teaching different levels of kids and be capable of leading the class in a positive manner. This school is has great kids who have parents that care about their education and that is what is well-liked about this school. However, certain classroom instruction needs a bit of tweaking and adjustments. Children should not feel "not smart enough". Children this young need to be built in to confident individuals.

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
Both of my daughters go to this school and we are more than happy. The teachers are great and have never had a problem and the Principal is fantastic, she cares about the kids and the school and does every thing she can to communicate with the parents. The dress code may be strict to some but it is needed and also parent interaction with your child AFTER school and even before is very important which is what ALTS pushes. We have three years of this school in our lives and are very impressed and could not be happier. As parents you also have to be fully involved with your child's development in school and not just depend on that school to substitute all parental involvement. It is a bi racial school that is a plus with everyone there with the same mind set, discipline, morals and education which prepares your child for the future . ALTS, is strict but so is the world and it prepares our children for that world and has an environment that has the focus on education. If one feels this is not what they want then ALTS is not for you. Through hard work both of kids are straight A students and are at a higher level than they would be at your standard public schools.


Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 2

Posted October 29, 2013
- a parent
On a good note this school has structure and great curriculum, but if your child is not up to pace with the others they make you feel like they are a burden to the class. If your child is smart this is a great place where they will feel the welcoming spirit and praise. If your child is not smart, then they will soon feel unwelcomed. This school needs to focus on a variety of students not just the specific student. I think they need aides in the class to assist the teacher, so every child can stay on track and not get left behind and feel horrible about not keeping up with the rest.

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
Abraham Lincoln is an extremely structured and safe school!!! Total parent and community involvement helps ALTS to be one of the top schools. Teachers at ALTS actually care about there students success. I'm pleased to be part of the PATRIOT family!

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
This school is very family oriented school which focuses on academics, discipline and modesty which is really great for children. What would be nice though is if they offer more sports for the kids 2nd grade and above like volleyball, softball, soccer, martial arts, etc. This would really help the children to have more diverse orientation and experience in their quest for learning.


Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 5

Posted August 19, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school since first grade and the things they taught me have ern very useful for Highschool. The teachers teach us stuff that we will also need to know during Highschool. I loved this school and highly recommend it.

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School 5

Posted June 19, 2013
- a parent
This school is amazing. My daughters are bi-racial and the last schools that they went to they were bullied because of their race. At this school the staff does not tolerate this kind of behavior. A positive to kids with bad behaviors at this school is that they will send them back to their home schools. Also you should know if considering this school for your child/children is, my daughters both have I.E.P.'s one is for speech and one is for reading. The teachers are amazing and really take extra time to help kids that may need just a little more time than other children. They have tutoring in mornings to help. I will say that because they do believe in such standards as we were taught it can be a little challenging coming from a different school because it's just a little harder academically...Only because the other schools are removing funding to teach such things as phonics or cursive. No one really thinks about what kind of impact it can make on someone to not know cursive. That means you can't read it or sign your name. Well at this school they are back to basics and care for each and every child as it were their own. I feel blessed to have my girls at this school!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Abraham Lincoln Traditional School
10444 N 39th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ  85051
(602) 347-2600
Last modified Abraham Lincoln Traditional School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Abraham Lincoln Traditional School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 146 reviews. Top