Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John Bosco Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 500 students

Our school is best known for academic excellence for the whole child.
 
 

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

60 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2010

This school is not a good choice for those who have an interest in the education of their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

Very poor academics and special classes. The faculty is not up to par with schools in the area. I would not choose this school for my child. Next year we will not be returning. Sit through any parent teacher conference just once and it is easy to see just how below par these teachers are. The art program or lack thereof is shameful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2009

I have read the reviews of this school and assume mediocre is viewed as exceptional. My children attended this school for 2 years and we found it a surprisingly poor choice. This is difficult because you expect pubic schools to have typical challenges, but for a private expensive school like SJB - they offer no advantage outside of the families and parents being very lovely. But, heck, I didn't expect to pay $5K a year just for friendly parent acqaintences. Very poor choice. St Mary's would be a better fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

Overall, we have been happy with our experience at SJB and we plan to continue supporting this great school. There are great teachers and the latest technology is in every classroom but the main thing is- my child feels safe here and has friends he will know for years. There is a sence if family here that you don't find at other schools. It is truly a tight knit community of family and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

St. John Bosco is a fantastic school! From the Top to the bottom everyone shines here. The Principals are always around and knows everyone by name! The teachers and staff are dedicated to their professions and feel proud to be a special part of our children s lives. We have been blessed to have such great people around our kids every day. The school runs a tight ship - The students are taught discipline, respect and how to live daily by their Catholic faith. The parent involvement exceeds any other school around. The Dad s Club is awesome! It s worth every sacrifice we are making to send our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

SJB is great for students who are at grade level or below. The school cannot meet the needs of students who are above grade level. Those students are not stimulated academically or creatively. Rule enforcemment is vigorous, particularly with the dress code. The campus is beautiful, especially compared to other Catholic schools, but resources are most used on material campus improvements versus strenghting and enriching the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

SJB is a great school. It is also a great community. The community (parents, staff and administration) is committed to maintaining a school environment where the students know they are cared for and are challenged to grow academically, personally and spiritually. We very satisfied with the school and would recommend it to anyone looking for an academically challenging, Catholic education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I find SJB as a very caring and excellent school that nurtures the whole child. Our child has been attending SJB since 2003. We are very pleased with the curriculum, teachers and administration. The strict standards and religious education are pluses in my book. The parent involvement is another positive aspect that makes one feel very connected to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2009

Parents of students who attend this school will find that after the 6th grade the level of education at SJB is extremely poor. Even worse, is the complete disregard by school faculty and administration for parent's expressed concerns and requests for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

I truly believe that both Catholic elementary and HS will help prepare my kids to better individuals all around My daughter was accepted at both the schools she applied to. Most of her close friends/classmates are doing very well at the school she attends as are her friends at the boys and girls high school. One semester out of SJB and her grades resulted in her making 1st Honor Roll. I am personally very pleased and happy my kids attend SJB. I love the small school environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

While some teachers on campus show great dedication to their craft and provide a fantastic environment for the advancement of the child both spiritually and educationally this school has some major flaws. Administration seems to lack the ability to allow the teachers to creatively do their jobs and is slow to adapt to the ever changing educational landscape. Some teachers are demeaning to the children and stifle their ability to learn and grow. The school itself has a beautiful campus and amazing technological resources but until the leadership of the school changes its mindset or are relieved of their duties I would be hesitant to send my student there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

The family community is awesome and supportive, actual teaching is above par, but the staff community is grossly lacking. Makes for poor PR.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2008

I was a student at St. John Bosco when it opened in 2001. I enjoyed going to school then, but later things weren't as good as they used to be. This school may look great, but tuition is very high. I was constantly picked on and the situations weren't handled very well. Lastly, academics are standard, but it's possible for students to be challenged more. I switched schools 2-3 years ago and my parents don't regret it. Now, I've been attending school with the Kyrene School District, and I love it. So, if you're questioning about putting your kids into this school, parents: Don't take any chances. Take this advice from a student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2008

SJB is awesome! My children have been there for 4 years and have never said 'I dont want to go to school.' The teachers communicate with parents and there is alot of parent involvement. I have been very pleased with the PreK, Kindergarten, 1st, 2nd and 3rd grade teachers we have had so far. We are truly blessed to be a part of the SJB family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Great school with excellent teachers and administration. I think it takes special people to run a school and we have them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

We have 2 children who have been at St. John Bosco since 2003. We are very impressed with the teachers and administration. The academics are above standard and the spirituality adds something that is missing in the public schools. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

Good resources. Smart boards and computer availability are wonderful. Heavy parent involvement and cohesive community feel. Extremely structured and rigid for children. Slow to adapt or progress due to leadership and faculty. I like the school but I think the principal's vision plays too big of a role and stiffles the potential of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

It's a good school, but my overall satisfaction is not as high as it used to be. Phenomenal prek program due entirely to the teacher who has been there since inception in 2005. Weaker in 1st grade and only 1 very good 2nd grade teacher, but very good special faculty (PE, art, music). Class sizes tend to be too large. Principal leadership is questionable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

Class size is large (32-35) with one teacher and one assistant. Self-paced work is expected starting at kindergarten, which may prove challenging for some children. Gisselle methodology for entrance into kindergarten. Overall a decent school, but probably comparable with good public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

Parents are required to be involved in every aspect. Art and Music are required every week and spanish is required through 8th grade. They have smart boards in every classroom and have very high standards
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • John Hopkins Talent Search (2013)
  • Catholic Math League (2013)
  • Math Counts (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Christian Service Scholars (3) (2013)
  • Christian Service Scholars (2) (2012)
  • Christian Service Scholars (2) (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kim Silver
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Catholic
Associations
  • NCA
  • NCEA
  • WCEA
Fax number
  • (480) 219-5767

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Math/Literacy Coach
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Science Detectives
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Monthly Q & A
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Anonymous rating sites are no way to research a school. Visit the school, watch the middle school in action, talk to current parents, attend a class or two, attend a community event. That is how you find out why St. John Bosco Catholic School is worth the investment in your child. St. John Bosco provides students with the education to make a difference! To find out more, call Miss Dorothy at 480.219.4853
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
42
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
72
Students typically come from these schools
PreSchool
DayCare

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Empowerment Scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Catholic High Schools
Christian High Schools
Tempe Union High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16035 S 48th St.
Phoenix, AZ 85048
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 219-4848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kyrene del Milenio
Phoenix, AZ





Casa Vida
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT