Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John Bosco Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 500 students

Our school is best known for academic excellence for the whole child.
 
 

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

Great School! The faculty and staff are very welcoming. Even with all the new changes, I like the direction the school is moving in. The new leadership is already showing good results in implementing the newest educational technology. AND what thrill that each day my child is excited to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2014

New Administration is very poor and no patience to listen to small kids and parents problems. My kids suffered a lot at the elementary and the kindergarten is terrible. Some parents are too involved into the school and the other kids suffers a lot due to their favoritism and their involvement at the school. Administration has partiality in resolving problems and you are not welcome to make such complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

If you have a special needs child, read further. My family has been at this school for several years. Love the community spirit of families, and the faith based learning. However, I disagree with the information posted by the school that this school is able to assist students with special needs. My child has a physical disability recognized under the ADA. Administration is reminded annually that my child has a physical disability, and it is duly noted on the health record, yet there has annually never been ANY collaboration whatsoever with administration, health office and faculty to provide assistance. Instead, I have to contact each and every teacher to discuss the situation individually, hoping to get some small assistance. Weeks into the school year, one or more has forgotten about the special circumstances. Grades are impacted, tears are shed, but we have accepted this as the unfortunate result of not having gone with a public school where these situations are handled in a structured method by law. If the new administration wants to make an impact, they need to do a far better job in a COLLABORATIVE effort to assist students with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2014

The new administration is the BEST thing to happen to the school. They are making changes and implementing new programs from technology to language arts and computerized assessment testing for a far more accurate read on how individual students are performing -- SJB is the only Catholic school doing this. We have been at the school for a few years and I've never seen such innovative thinking AND making things happen at the curriculum level -- this is refreshing and impressive for a new administration that has only been in place for one year. It's human nature to resist change. This is truly the best time to be at St. John Bosco Catholic School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

The new administration has no direction and extremely poor communication with parents. I have been sending my child here for years, and we're making a tough decision this summer about whether or not to return. The fact that there was a new priest as well as new principal and assistant principal all over the same summer was problematic. I don't think the new administration understands the community one iota, nor do they seem to care to. The new principal is even less accessible than the prior one if that's even imaginable. Emails go unanswered, no one is accountable. I don't think the quality of education measures up to the price of tuition. The main problems at Bosco have been exacerbated this school year, and so far the only major change I'm seeing is in the dress code of all things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2014

I go to St. John Bosco, I am a new student and I was very pleased with the school before I actually went there. The kids were mean until I finally fit in almost at the end of the year. Some of the teachers were ok. But the unreasonableness of the awful new administration is astounding, I went to a public school before I moved to St. John Bosco and I honestly think I learned more at my public school. Teachers and administration use unfair and extreme punishments and is over all ridiculous. The parents are jokes they are so involved in their kids lives they literally harass and text other students about their personal lives. DO NOT come to this school, kids who have been there since kindergarten have told me that the school is getting worse and worse. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY there are many other schools out there that are better than St. John Bosco, coming here is a huge waste of time and money the students staff and parents are ridiculous and the school is over all awful.


Posted March 19, 2014

Great School! Love the community feel. The new leadership is headed in the right direction. Concerned about academic scores as compared to other private schools. Needs higher scores in Math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

The leadership at this school is under change and you do not want to get stuck in the middle of their identity crisis. The parent community is good and there are some good teachers. However they don't communicate well at all. They also allow kids to be rude, disruptive and disrespectful (Not at all what you would expect from a Catholic school)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2014

This school promises so much and falls short of everything. They have no leadership. The parent community is their strongest piece. They have no consistency amongst teachers and don't pay any attention to parents feedback or comments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Great school. Great Community. Great Environment. We are very happy we selected Bosco for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

The school talks about educating the "whole child." That has definitely been my experience! They learn, practice their faith, participate in community service and enjoy tons of extra curricular activities. From our experience, it is not something that you can get at public school or even other private schools. The academics are challenging and the faculty is great. What impresses me the most is the parent involvement. It's one big community where all the families know each other and participate in the education of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

St. John Bosco is a wonderful school that is truly committed to educating the whole child in a caring environment of academic excellence. The school has reasonable class sizes, utilizes instructional assistants to help facilitate center-based learning for math and language in the younger grades, and employs both a math and literacy coach. When you step onto the campus, you are warmly greeted by students and staff and the facilities are clean and well-maintained. My entire family is active in the school community and there is a wealth of opportunities to serve others through volunteer and other opportunities. The Catholic school environment, with its focus on faith and academics is worth a visit to find out more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2013

Class sizes are unbelievably high, and no consistency with use of the aides at the school. My child used to have a full time aide but suddenly ths year the administration has done away with having an aide in each lower grade class, instead throwing them around campus to help upper grade teachers - are you kidding me?? This is disappointng and insulting as a parent, the extra help in those large classes is vital with younger children. It's what made me switch from public to private initially. You're better off sending your child to the local public schools. The administration needs to change. There are some great teachers at this school, but NOT worth the tuition as I'm beginning to realize.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

I have one child who stated at St. John Bosco in kindergarten, graduated and was accepted at every school to which he applied. He is in honors and AP classes at a local Catholic school. His peers from St. John Bosco are in similar classes. The conclusion I draw from this is that the school did, indeed, prepare my son and his peers for high school. The teachers do care....a great deal. They are supportive but they did not coddle him. They forced him to take ownership and responsibility for his education. There were times when they took a hard line to teach my son about discipline, wortk ethic and integrity. I cannot argue with this approach. My child, a product of a St. John Bosco education, is a responsible, kind, contributing member of society. This is due, in part, to his St. John Bosco education. I recognize that St. John Bosco is not perfect. However, I'm quite sure no other school is perfect either. St. John Bosco is a good choice if you want to raise a child who recognizes his/her God-given gifts, uses them to potential, and grows up to share them with the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

Great school! Teachers are friendly and the parents are active in the school! I'm also impressed with my son's knowledge of the catechism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2012

I meant to say for Science my daughter was so grateful for the amount of work that the Science teacher had her do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

I agree, Bosco is a lovely community. I wish I could say that alone was worth the tuition dollars. Some teachers are wonderful, some are downright rude. Bosco needs to educate the faculty on how to send an email to students and parents that doesn't reek of irritation and condescension. I only rarely contact the teacher if needed, and from the first this was the tone I was met with. My older child emailed his science teacher a question, and the reply was curt and rude. In my studies I routinely contacted various educators of mine with questions through the completion of my post graduate degree, never was a question met with such disdain. This is K-8 folks, not a PhD program. Kids should be able to feel comfortable enough to communicate with their teachers. I'm actually paying you for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

Inconsistent teaching quality from grade to grade and poor leadership. The one saving grace is the lovely sense of community.


Posted October 30, 2012

Bosco is very hit or miss with the quality of the teachers from grade to grade. The curriculum is not at all rigorous. Too much attention (three full months) in science is paid to the annual science fair project as opposed to first learning the concepts that would enable the student to understand their selected topic. As an example, the teacher handed out a list of suggested topics, one included testing ph levels. Not once in science have they learned ph, acids and bases. The Spanish program needs an overhaul. Don't expect that upon leaving Bosco your child will have any remote chance of learning conversational Spanish, or being able to enter high school above entry level Spanish. It just won't happen unless you supplement the education. I can't in good faith recommend this school. Your child's education would be far better served at a private prep school or more advanced charter school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

Many of these reviews sound like the principal wrote. The verbiage is shockingly similar to promotional materials for SJB. I was a student at SJB, and there were good points. The community of students is clickish, but mostly a good group of kids. There are many school opportunities to participate in extracurriculars. Parents are always helpful and involved. The school feels safe, it's definitely a secure campus. Now for the downside. When I left SJB I had made principal's honor roll every year since 4th grade (95% or better for GPA). When I got to high school, what a wake up call. I felt like I spent weeks playing catch up in math in my honors class. Science wasn't as bad. My recollection of SJB is they spend too much time trying to conform students into Stepford-behaved students. That's coming from a student who didn't have behavior problems. Some teachers were rigid to the point of being unapproachable if you had a problem. Any classroom problem or miscommunication was always and necessarily the fault of the student, and teachers were often unwilling to listen. Better schools are out there, schools that nurture you into a self reliant, successful individual.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 18% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • John Hopkins Talent Search (2013)
  • Catholic Math League (2013)
  • Math Counts (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Christian Service Scholars (3) (2013)
  • Christian Service Scholars (2) (2012)
  • Christian Service Scholars (2) (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 3:05 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kim Silver
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Catholic
Associations
  • NCA
  • NCEA
  • WCEA
Fax number
  • (480) 219-5767

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Math/Literacy Coach
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Science Detectives
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Monthly Q & A
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Anonymous rating sites are no way to research a school. Visit the school, watch the middle school in action, talk to current parents, attend a class or two, attend a community event. That is how you find out why St. John Bosco Catholic School is worth the investment in your child. St. John Bosco provides students with the education to make a difference! To find out more, call Miss Dorothy at 480.219.4853
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
42
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
72
Students typically come from these schools
PreSchool
DayCare

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits
Empowerment Scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Catholic High Schools
Christian High Schools
Tempe Union High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16035 S 48th St.
Phoenix, AZ 85048
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 219-4848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Kyrene del Milenio
Phoenix, AZ





Casa Vida
Phoenix, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT