Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
400 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
107 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (13 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (15 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (12 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (11 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (15 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (10 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 258 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. John Bosco Catholic School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 03, 2016
- a parent
The problem is a few teachers are ineffective, requiring you to reteach your child material not covered well in class. It happens often enough that it's unreasonable.

St. John Bosco Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 31, 2016
- a community member
Alumni SJB have always been good to me! This school have made huge impact on me! It is a wonderful school! This school has such wonderful community! I love the fact that everyone really does care for one another! It doesn't matter what school you are at, there will always be changes not everyone is going to agree. I find that changing is always good! For those of you who are bad mouthing about this school, I find that is lack of kindness! It is a Catholic school, where is your faith? I am so very disappointed when people judge by what they hear. Number one lesson, before you judge someone, get to know them first. We finally have a leader who truly cares about the students and our community. The new administration that we have today are wonderful! They are so positive and always smiling! We need more people who are positive and encouraging one another. For those of you who are not happy here, it's okay you can leave, but there is no need to be bad mouth talking about this school or anyone else! that is just unprofessional! We are all adults here, so please let's just share more positive messages here!! So please spread more love and put down the hate!!


St. John Bosco Catholic School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Certain teachers are phenomenal at this school however, the ones that are not, do not receive mentoring to improve where they are lacking.

St. John Bosco Catholic School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
In the junior high, students are not treated respectfully by the teachers. Students are berated and chastised and then told to respect the teachers.

St. John Bosco Catholic School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
In the junior high, students are not treated respectfully by the teachers. Students are berated and chastised and then told to respect the teachers.


St. John Bosco Catholic School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Fairness in the teaching staff is lacking. Students are favored for being high academic achievers as well as something as simple as being male or female.

St. John Bosco Catholic School 1

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
The new school administrator and priest are using this review site as their personal PR damage control pulpit, injecting a spattering of phony reviews to cover the reality, which is that this school is in bad shape and it's entirely their fault. Luckily parents in the local Catholic community, and in Ahwatukee in particular, are close knit and share valid information on how abysmal this Catholic school has become. My children won't be attending Bosco next year, which I say with a heavy heart because we have been here 9 years collectively. My younger children and I are already scheduled to tour SMB and OLMC, Bosco will not get my considerable loyalty or tuition dollars as they move toward tearing down what truly has been a fantastic community. They can trot out the damage control all they like, but they can't disguise that they have lost a tremendous front office staff as well as dedicated and beloved instructors due to the intolerance and ineffectiveness of the "interim" principal. They will have to find a way to bus new families in from far outside the inter parish area to hope that the damage they have done at Bosco goes unknown. The diocese has been ineffectual at handling the heart of what is wrong at Bosco, and long time families leaving will be a clear cut sign impossible to cover with fake reviews. I encourage all families to contact the diocese to express their concerns, as this is a hostile environment for parents and staff, which absolutely is a distraction from Bosco doing its job of educating the children.

St. John Bosco Catholic School 1

Posted January 28, 2016
- a community member
If you are looking for a catholic school, keep looking! My child was thrown out by this new admin. So much for developing the whole child.


St. John Bosco Catholic School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
Whole heartedly disagree. Scathing remarks from the priest at the helm to parents during mass and discussion is far from caring and compassionate. Opposing views are treated as personal attacks, and we are publicly admonished for not simply falling into line with a poor vision. Being chastised for expecting to partner with the school in shaping our children's futures is far from compassionate. Doing this in front of the children is outrageous. Unwillingness to take constructive input from parents whose children will carry with them the lifelong impact of their education is unreasonable. You teach what you preach, and caring, empathy and compassion has no part in this political battle being waged by the leadership.

St. John Bosco Catholic School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
The teachers foster this to a point. The families have done a exceptional job raising a group of quality kids. I do not attribute this to the school environment, though. The leadership has very little regard or respect for the faculty, staff and parents. Trickle down result is a lack of respect for the children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. John Bosco Catholic School
16035 S 48th St., Phoenix, AZ  85048
(480) 219-4845
Last modified St. John Bosco Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. John Bosco Catholic School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 258 reviews. Top