Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wildfire Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

75 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2010

the teachers and Dr Bales...clean enviornment, parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I am amazed at what my daughter is learning in Kindergarten. No milk and cookies and naptime. She comes home telling us something new each day. The Core Knowledge program is awesome. Dr. Bales is a great principal. You can tell he cares about the students. I am thrilled we are a part of the Wildfire family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Wildfire is a collaborative and safe learning environment that promotes a positive student self-concept. In addition to the curriculum and core knowledge, students are learning to be responsible citizens and good 'people'. I never imagined I could be so happy with a school community. Wildfire has truly enhanced my daughters' lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I am both a teacher and a parent at Wildfire and have loved every minute here. My daughter has had excellent teachers. The parents are wonderful and supportive. Dr. Bales is great. Core knowledge is just awesome. I am very blessed to be here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It is a wonderful school with caring teachers. Emphasis is placed on student responsibility and high academics. I love the Core Knowledge curriculum.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2010

We love the Core Knowledge Curriculum. Our principal, Dr.Bales, holds everyone to a higher standard. Our teachers truly love their students and their jobs. Our front office will go above and beyond for the parents/students. Our PTO have taken an equal role in raising money to support school programs. There is so much parent/grandparent involvement. We love being a part of the Wildfire family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

A++ in eduction! The teachers are amazing -- so inspirational! We love the staff and our Principal. Core knowledge is a great program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Wildfire is a great school with outstanding leadership. The Core Knowledge curriculum is excellent. And how the school teaches the students to be responsible citizens is invaluable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The staff is wonderful, the curriculum is really strong, and the principal is a great leader and motivator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love the staff and the 'Make Your Day' program and ideals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The programs at this school are incredible. I have never seen a more supportive group of teachers and parents! It truely is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It starts from the top. Dr. Bales is incredible and the teachers are so passionate. The curriculum is exceptional and student focus is fantastic. We really love our teacher (Kertesz)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I love this school. Principal, Teachers, curriculum, 'Make your day' program, etc, etc. I am so sad we are moving. We will miss it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Great teachers! Terrific communication between the staff and parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

my grandchildren are there and they are getting a great education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This is our 4th year there and we've had such wonderful interactions with the staff from the principal, office, duty aides and teaching staff... the communication between teachers, parents and students is fantastic and fosters an open dialogue at all times. There are many things about our school that I am grateful for. For example, we're lucky to have an AR reading program that encourages children to do their best and get recognized at every reading level. Our Art Rembrandts program is volunter-led and encourages children to learn to love the history of art thru both a learning and hands-on approach. The spirit of that program is echoed in the art pieces that adorn our halls, both those of the great classic artists of centuries past as well as the bright, young artists in our classrooms. Even amid the tough education budget cuts that have faced our state and districts in the last couple years, our PTO has strived to give our students the best that can be offered in a positive, upbeat learning environment. We have a strong parent volunteer effort in the classrooms because we feel so proud to be part of such a wonderful school. It's hard to believe that our school is only 4 years old.. it has impressed me from day 1 on and I am looking forward to seeing our school continue to flourish in the years to come!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This is our 2nd year at Wildfire after having moved to Phoenix from Canada. We were nervous about the differences in the education system between the two countries at first but Wildfire has definately exceeded my expectations in so many different ways. The parent involvement at this school is excellent and the whole staff is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Its a great school! Our teachers and principal are the best!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

The teachers and support staff are phenomenal -- it all stems from the one-of-a-kind principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Wildfire has great curriculum and teachers who care and challenge students both academically and behaviorally.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 42%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3997 E. Lockwood Drive
Phoenix, AZ 85050
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-2000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT