Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wildfire Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 911 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

75 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2010

The principal and teachers are top notch! And we love the core knowledge curriculum!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Our principle and teachers are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2009

My two sons have been attending Wildfire since it opened its doors in August of 2006. I have been consistently pleased with the quality of the teaching staff, the richness of the curriculm, and the professionalism of the principal and office staff. I could not imagine a better elementary school experience for my children here in Arizona, public or private. The sense of community and optimism continues at Wildfire, despite the continued budget cuts being imposed by the state of Arizona. Kudos to the wonderful teachers and staff who make Wildfire such a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I have a child in Kindergarten class. He was very bored this year and the level they taught was a pre-school level. The Arizona Education system is shameful. Parents your children should know their letters, sounds and numbers before they enter Kindergarten! Then perhpas our education system can start to improve from the bottom up! The focus was solely on Core Knowledge rather than allowing any expansion to challenge the children at their level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

We moved my son from a very reputed private school and we are very happy about the our change. He is always ready to go to school because of his wonderful teachers, the school enviornment and the principal. I am very impressed with the PTO involvement here. Makes a big difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

My three children were new to Wildfire this year. We came from a private school in the area. The academics at Wildfire far exceed our private school. My children have since been caught up and are excelling here at Wildfire! The teachers are wonderful and the principal is very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

I've been very blessed to have had my son at Wildfire starting in Kindergarten through 2nd grade (this year). He has done beautifully, due to the teachers at this school. My son has been reading above grade level and has enjoyed the curriculum, due to Core Knowledge. He Loves going to school and has something new to tell me every day! It is amazing to hear about what he has all learned. This is a fabulous school, with a wonderful staff and a Great principal! We Love Wildfire!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

I give this school a star for core knowledge because that is the only thing that they care about promoting. I took my child out of Wildfire after one quater of kindergarten. Education of the whole child is something that is not done here. My daughter 's kindergarten class is told to sit with hands folded on lap and not move in order to 'Make Your Day Count'. No treats allowed for birthdays. All parents including myself are told to go down to the workroom on our volunteer day without helping in class. The children have a 20 minute recess, that includes walking to and from the playground, in a 6 hour day. The school has grown from 400 to over 800 students in the past two years. The plan is to put trailers on the back lawn to allow for next years growth of families moving into Fireside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2008

This school is great. I am going to 6th grade. And the Student council is great. You acctually get to do somthing and the kids from 3-6 grade get to vote
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2008

We transferred to Wildfire from a much smaller school and I was concerned that my son would get 'lost in the shuffle' however I was surprised that the front office knew children by their first names, teachers were caring to all, and everyone offered assistance. Wildfire is an incredible school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

I have 2 children in the school, 5th and 2nd grades, The teachers and administrators at the school are wonderful. My 5th grader is in the honors program and we have looked into academically based charter schools, but once we compared his standardized test scores with those from the charter schools we saw no reason for him to change. I think the students are challenged in their academics without surrendering a social atmosphere. the school also funnels to one of the best public high schools in AZ>
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Both of my boys go to Wildfire. One is in 5th the other in 6th. I am blown away by the high academic standards and teacher involvement. Wonderful school that deserves it rating! The principal is tops!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

My daughter currently attends Wildfire as a second grader. She has learned so much with the Core Knowledge Curriculum and has received a lot of support from her teachers and all of the staff at Wildfire. The principal does a great job keeping the school extremely organized and both her 1st and 2nd grade teachers have been extremely intelligent and nurturing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2007

My child started halfway through his 2nd yr and was really struggling with the structure. By the end of the year, he had caught up and was excelling! So far, 3rd grade has been even better. The teachers really care about each individual student and work with them to excell at their own pace. We have been very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

We're surprised no one else has rated this school yet! Our child began attending Wildfire quite late in the inaugural year, so our experience is admittedly limited, but we were absolutely thrilled with the care and attention our child received. We could not have asked for a better teacher, and the principal is friendly and genuinely interested in getting to know each child (often sitting with different groups of kids during lunchtime to chat and ask how they're doing). We had grown rather disillusioned at our child's previous school, but Wildfire has made learning fun again.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Hispanic 8% 42%
Asian 5% 3%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3997 E. Lockwood Drive
Phoenix, AZ 85050
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT