Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wildfire Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
6th grade teacher seems to not know how to handle boys. She nitpicks everything they do and aggravates them.

Wildfire Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
My son is a great student but hates going to school with a passion because he hates his teacher and has other kids in his class share similar stories with him.


Wildfire Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
One of the 6th grade teachers shares personal information about her students with other parents. Gives her students a hard time instead of working with them in a constructive compassionate manner.

Wildfire Elementary School 2

Posted May 19, 2016
- a parent
Lower grades: Excellent! Teachers are genuine and very caring. Upper Grades: Despicable! One teacher in particular is mean, rude and shares personal information about students with her parent friends and seems to have something against boys as she constantly picks on every little thing they do and creates a very tense environment. Principal: No Integrity!

Wildfire Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2015
- a parent
We moved to the neighborhood two years ago and my daughter has attended 1st grade and is now in 2nd grade at Wildfire Elementary. It is a fantastic Core Knowledge school with a highly positive environment. Teachers are well-organized, knowledgeable and caring. Parents are involved and the children are happy and engaged. My daughter is gifted and she has been in the gifted cluster classrooms. She is gifted in math but has to work extra hard to stay above grade level in reading. The teachers have been fantastic about grouping her appropriately per subject and challenging her at her level based on subject. They also have art and music in regular rotation with PE and computers which is fantastic, to support my daughter's interest in the visual and performing arts. In addition to the regular art class, they also have a fantastic Art Masterpiece program taught by PTO parents. The field trips and extracurricular offerings are top notch. They have 3 field trips per year and so far she has visited The Children's Museum of Phoenix, Butterfly Wonderland, Rawhide Western Town, and saw a play at a local theatre. We love this school and our daughter has thrived in it.


Wildfire Elementary School 3

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
I am a public school teacher. Wildfire is a mixed bag. We got a new principal a few years ago; not warm and fuzzy (like the previous), but she hit her stride. She's very competent and learned to navigate the parents. The assistant principal is a good guy who really cares about and interacts well with the kids. My kids generally had good teachers. Ironically, I think the general ed classes are better than the honors classes. I had multiple kids go through the honors program. I was very dissatisfied. The teacher didn't teach math. The kids were self teaching with books, worksheets and Khan academy. I don't know if the honors teacher didn't know math, or didn't care. I had several conversations with other parents who felt the same way. Condescending to the parents. I made an appointment to speak with her in person, and she didn't know my child's grade and didn't care enough to look it up ahead of time. I am not even sure she had a good grasp on who my child was. Until there is a new teacher, I may not even let my kids test for honors. It is that bad. This year the class sizes seem to be a little too big. But I feel like that is more indicative of public school funding in AZ.

Wildfire Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2014
- a community member
This is such a good school and I love the teachers so so much i would rate this school one millon

Wildfire Elementary School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a community member
my school is amazing in so many ways from teaching staff to the playground I love it


Wildfire Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2012
- a parent
one of the best schools i've ever encountered. absolutely love the teachers and the principal is an amazing leader and motivator.

Wildfire Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2011
- a parent
Mrs.Bauer in Kindergarten along with Mrs. Zupke and Mrs. Clark in first grade and Mrs. Kennedy in 3rd grade are EXCEPTIONAL teachers! They go above and beyond to meet the needs of each and every student. We could not be happier! Thank you for being such an exceptional team of educators for our children. You are truly the very BEST!!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wildfire Elementary School
3997 E. Lockwood Drive, Phoenix, AZ  85050
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. (602) 449-2000
Last modified Wildfire Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top