Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ambassador Academy

Charter | K-5 | 47 students

Our school is best known for strong leadership character development and small c

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $900.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

I don't know what else to say about this school that others have already mentioned. My daughter was born on 9/3/2010 and every where we went, they said she can't be in Kidengarten and was about to give up and leave her at home with our grandparents. After contacting Dr.Reyes, she invited us to tour the school and had a test for our daughter to see if she would qualify. Fortunately she qualify after she was given some test. I am so glad I didn't give up on our search. We love the teachers here and the school is such a great environment for our daughter. She has excel in so many ways that I can't even recognize her anymore. She has even requested more homework and enjoy reading. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2014

Ambassador Academy is a one of a kind school! I couldn't be happier with the education our children are receiving. They are absolutely thriving here! No need to even discuss bullying because it isn't an issue at this school. The energy is focused on learning and empowering our children to become future LEADERS in this world. Dr. Reyes has created a school with a sense of community that is simply hard to come by. I feel very blessed to have found it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

We love this school! Our daughter previously attended Colina and this was the best move we ever made. The class sizes are small, providing far more one on one for each student- good for those who may be slower developing and also for those who need to be challenged. The teachers and curriculum are top notch, very involved and in consistent communication with the parents about their child s development. The leadership is also something to be recognized; Dr. Reyes does a great job of creating an environment and culture focused on character, leadership and values which is carried out in the classroom. This school is exactly what education is supposed to be and used to be in the public school system. We couldn t be happier and feel very fortunate to have found this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

Ambassador Academy is a wonderful school that provides opportunities for students to learn at their own pace, which results in a thriving, well-balanced student. The class sizes are small, which gives teachers the opportunity for some intensive one-on-one assistance.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 28, 2013

Ambassador Academy is a gem of a school! My first grader and my kindergartener are thriving at Ambassador Academy and here is why: Small teacher to student ratio. Teachers can give individual attention to each student. Every little voice is valued and heard. Where everybody knows your name. My kids can walk through the halls and five a fifth grader. Happy students, happy teachers speaks volumes about a school. Dr Reyes is a gifted educator. She knows how to support her teachers and students. A true leader grooming future leaders. The academic ability speaks for itself, Ambassador Academy is ranked #3 in the state of AZ for the combined AIMS scores. My children have blossomed in this school directly because of the above. I am one happy parent of two successful students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2013

Love, love, love this school!! My son has just blossomed here! His teacher is awesome and works so well with him. Because the class sizes are so small, each child gets that extra attentio they all can use! What a blessing to have found this wonderful place. I just wish it went into the upper grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

My daughter loves this school and is thriving with this new learning experience. Although this is a charter school it feels more like a private school and has a low student to teacher ratio.I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

Just when I thought it couldn't get any better, Ambassador Ranked #2 in Reading for AIMS and #3 for Math in Arizona. My son is in his last year there and I'm horrified about moving him elsewhere. There is nothing like Ambassador. He's gone there from K-5 and there has never been any incidents of bullying. I love that school and don't want to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2012

This is my daughter's first year at Ambassador Academy and I'm very pleased. There are only 9 other students in her classroom which is a big difference from 34 kids the last two years in other surrounding elementary schools. The atmosphere is very family friendly and Dr. Reyes is very easy to speak to regarding any questions that may come up. My daughter was bullied last year at her previous school and I'm pleased to say my daughter hasn't came home one day thus far with a complaint about a child being mean to her. Dr. Reyes encourages leadership and doesn't tolerate bullying. She holds an assembly weekly to discuss good character and leadership and re-enforces positive behavior daily. I absolutely love Ambassador Academy and so does my daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

My son has attended Ambassador Academy for the past three years and I would agree this is the best school in the Kyrene District. I know that the curriculum is excellent and all the teachers are concerned about getting the learners that attend ambassador to the next level. I feel that Dr. Reyes does an excellent job with running the day to day operations. She also does a great job in her selection process of hiring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

We have 2 children attending the school, 1st grade and Kindergarten, and they love it there. It is a very good environment for children to learn and thrive due to small classes and attentive teachers. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

My husband and I feel so fortunate to have our son at Ambassador Academy. The school came highly recommended from a friend who is very familiar with the charter schools in Arizona. Dr. Reyes knows what she is doing - the teachers are top notch and each student gets individual attention. The leadership development focus is something no other school I'm aware of is doing - and the students really respond to being "future leaders". The best part - my son adores the school, his teacher and Dr. Reyes. This school is a hidden jewel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2011

My Daughter Started Kinder this year 2011 on September 15th. I am so happy We changed her from Laveen District (HORRIBLE) to Ambassador Academy the best choice we ever made. My Daughter is excited to go to school every Morning and can not wait to give her Teacher an Angel in disguise a Hug every Morning. My Daughter has learned so much in little time. I am super Amazed how fast she picked up. Did I mention the Class size. OMG The best. My Daughter and the other Students are getting the Education they deserve and need for the futrure. Thank you Dr. REYES. My God Send.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

This will be my son's 2nd year at Ambassador and I couldn't be more pleased. I have my other son starting kinder. Both my children love this school and the teachers. The class sizes are so incredibly small and my children get one on one attention. My son left Kindergarten at almost a 2nd grade reading level. Plus he enjoyed going to school everyday. One more thing.... pick up and drop off are a breeze.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

My child attended Ambassador Academy for Kindergarten and will be returning for 1st Grade 2009-2010. The school is excellent! The teachers are passionate and committed to the success of each student. The environment is safe for kids to thrive and grow into wonderful character traits. The curriculum is challenging and top notch. I am amazed at what my child learned in Kindergarten and how well balanced he is I saw tremendous growth and development. My child is above average in all areas. Parents are kept informed and encouraged to be involved in the education of their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

Our son has attended Ambassador Academy for two years. We could not be more pleased and impressed with the level of teaching and devotion that the teachers and staff give each and every student every single day. The emphasis is developing 'Future Leaders' through academics as well as caricature building. Test score are consistently above the average mark. Class size is kept purposely low to ensure one on one attention. We highly recommend Ambassador Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

Small class's, great parent teacher communication, Incredible learning system taht works with all the kids no matter what level, outstanding teaching philosiphies that developes future leaders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

My daughter is a 'Future Leader'! She started with the school in Kindergarten and is in 1st grade for the 08/09 school year. Ms. Elizabeth and Dr Reyes are a two angels in diguise. The moto of the school is teaching our children to be the 'Future Leaders' of the world. The energy and passion that they show in education is something all teachers and schools should model.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 46% 42%
Hispanic 24% 42%
Black 20% 5%
Asian 11% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 993-3222

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Common Core
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3820 E. Ray Road
Ste. 8
Phoenix, AZ 85044
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 961-2214

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Kyrene Monte Vista
Phoenix, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT