Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public charter
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Accelerated Learning Center 5

Posted August 09, 2015
- a student
I attended Accelerated Learning Center the second semester of my sophomore year. I had attended Horizon my freshman year and hated it. Being extremely behind on my credits, I was told I wouldn't graduate on time. I enrolled at ALC and not only did I graduate on time, I graduated EARLY. I would recommend this school to absolutely anyone and cannot express my gratitude enough to the staff of ALC. Class of '13!

Accelerated Learning Center
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 09, 2015
- a student
Accelerated Learning Center does not believe in homework. While you can take your work home at any time you feel you need to, they do not make you do any homework so that you can rest your mind before the day ahead.


Accelerated Learning Center
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted August 09, 2015
- a student
There is not one member of this faculty that does not want each student to succeed with flying colors. All of the teachers and administration wants nothing more than to see every student work to their full potential.

Accelerated Learning Center
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 09, 2015
- a student
Countless times I had been experiencing home issues regarding family and such. During this time, I was also having issues focusing in class and I was a bit distant. There was never once that a teacher or principal didn't pull me aside to make sure I was okay.

Accelerated Learning Center 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
My daughter transferred to ALC after being bullied for a year at Boulder Creek (a public high school). It was the best decision I ever made. She graduated from ALC this spring and will be going to Maricopa Community Colleges this fall. ALC classes are small and students work at their own pace, which is especially helpful for those who have learning disabilities. The Administration, teachers, and staff are extremely supportive, but very firm. This is a great school, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.


Accelerated Learning Center
no rating

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
My younger daughter graduated from ALC and is now a senior at ASU. She is an honor student with a 4.1 grade average. She was in danger of not graduating from high school at all but because of the extra attention she received from the teachers and their willingness to accept her unique approach to learning she did graduate. She is now a few months aways from a college degree. ALC not only gave her the academic tools she needed to be successful but also the confidence to continue her education. Taking her to ALC was one of our best decisions.

Accelerated Learning Center 5

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
All 4 of my kids attended alc...3 Have graduated and one graduates this year. If it were not for this school my girls would have given up a long time ago due to the lack of one on one time in public schools. The staff at alc mrs keppler and dr canady and mr hadad are wonderful and they really take the time to get to know each student individually and they really care about their direction in life and they support them 110% in everything they do!!! keep up the great work alc i will keep recommending your wonderful school to everyone i talk to!! thank you cuozzo/schmit/hockman family!

Accelerated Learning Center 5

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended ALC and is now a senior as ASU. Her best friend who also attended ALC is now in the Air Force. For the young man who could not get into military, maybe you should look at other factors. ALC certainly was a step forward for my daughter and her friend - not a stumbling block.


Accelerated Learning Center 5

Posted June 08, 2009
- a parent
My son attended ALC during his Junior/Senior year and graduated with a Presidential Academic award. The experience turned his life around, gave him confidence in himself and this made all the difference. He went from in danger of dropping out to wanting to attend college this fall. Some students just need individual attention in a smaller environment to succeed. ALC's committment to student achievement is what made all the difference, thanks for everything. Also your graduations are the best by far - much better than the public schools in town.

Accelerated Learning Center 5

Posted June 05, 2009
- a student
I am a former ALC student. I have graduated from ASU as a nurse. I was prepared in every way due to my high school education. ALC let me explore my areas of interest as electives. I was unable to do this at my former school. I will always be indebted to ALC and the teachers. Love you all!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Accelerated Learning Center
4105 East Shea Blvd., Phoenix, AZ  85028
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (602) 485-0309
Last modified Accelerated Learning Center is a Charter school
Top