Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Acclaim Academy

Charter | K-8 | 449 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $42,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2014

Very unorganized . The principal is very rude and unprofessional . No actual playground . My child can't wear colored shoes other than black (do you know how hard it is to find black shoes that are comfortable to my child) You have to wear a belt or else they will send you to the office . Does it harm anyone if my child wears nail polish or if she has skinny jeans (of course uniform ) On free dress day you cant wear leggings . This school is absolutely insane . Also the classes are way behind education .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

This school is very unorganized. I had to take my children out of there. The rules are ridiculous. The director is very rude and disrespectful. The 7th grade changed teacher each month. How are my children supposed to learn at a school were they don't even know what they are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

The Teach for America teachers at this school are exceptional. They have worked hard for my children, and made sure that they learned this year. I agree that the dress code policy can be a bit to strict, but my children enjoy going to school each day and I love sending them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

I had my two daughters in this school 2009-2010, this school has a wonderful teachers, and discipline for students, focused in their goals for all our childrens, I drove over 30 minutes every day to have then attend to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

My child used to go to this school but I had to move him out. The school has low expectation of their students for they give seldom homework. Teachers want the students to get better but they don't listen to the ideas that the parents have. And I agree the principal only does what she wants. The schools main focus is discipline with uniforms not education. I have also noticed that the teacher constantly told me that my child was at a lower standard then the rest but didn't want to help him grow as a student. I hope that next year my child doesn't struggle in fourth grade. One thing is for sure he will not go to that school, instead of moving forward he is falling behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2009

I use to have my three kids enrolled here, and I took them out. There is a line when it is discipline and when it fall in being ridiculous, and I think they are on the ridiculous side. The kids here are very smart, and yet put on tutoring programs that they don't need, but the school can get money for. Another principal would be great, she doesn't like to listen to what parents have to say, only to what she thinks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

As a former employee of Acclaim Charter School my experience has been great. The Teaching and Administrative staff is wonderful along with the well disciplined students. Way to go Melanie Powers!!!


Posted February 9, 2005

Great school, it works with kid at the level they are at and develope their learning matterial at that level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 97% 43%
White 2% 42%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (623) 691-6091

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7624 W. Indian School Road
Phoenix, AZ 85033
Phone: (623) 691-0919

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tomahawk School
Phoenix, AZ



Heatherbrae School
Phoenix, AZ


G. Frank Davidson
Phoenix, AZ


Camelback Academy
Glendale, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT