Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I like ACCLAIM with my whole heart. I am a social-justice minded person who wants the world to be better than it is. I believe academics are important but I believe it is more important to treat people well. I have worked at ACCLAIM for nine years, since 2009, and all of my interactions with students have been an opportunity to learn, for me and for them. The school is not perfect and the last few years have been very difficult because of staffing challenges. I am part of the interview team that has been hiring new staff over the last two years and we are doing all we can to find staff who will be dedicated to our students and our school. At this school I have learned what it means to persevere, what it means to pursue excellence and what it means to accept people how they are and make choices that always lead to a better place than where I currently find myself
July 28, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 95 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
I like ACCLAIM with my whole heart. I am a social-justice minded person who wants the world to be better than it is. I believe academics are important but I believe it is more important to treat people well. I have worked at ACCLAIM for nine years, since 2009, and all of my interactions with students have been an opportunity to learn, for me and for them. The school is not perfect and the last few years have been very difficult because of staffing challenges. I am part of the interview team that has been hiring new staff over the last two years and we are doing all we can to find staff who will be dedicated to our students and our school. At this school I have learned what it means to persevere, what it means to pursue excellence and what it means to accept people how they are and make choices that always lead to a better place than where I currently find myself
Posted July 28, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
ACCLAIM teachers, staff and administration really care about the students. We work hard to learn new strategies to teach students and help them love learning. We also make a great effort to talk to students about the virtues and help them practice those character traits at school.
Posted July 28, 2016


Acclaim Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted July 28, 2016
- a teacher
The Director, Melanie Powers, an Arizona native has been the academic leader of ACCLAIM for all of its 20 years. ACCLAIM was one of the first charter school in Phoenix, it is an independent, non-corporate school and it gives parents in the west Phoenix neighborhood of Maryvale a choice. It also tries to do something unique, it attempts to create a school environment where virtues and academics are balanced equally, and where really practicing the virtues is the rule and not the exception. I thank Melanie for opening ACCLAIM.

Acclaim Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 28, 2016
- a teacher
The effectiveness of the teachers can be seen in the student test scores. ACCLAIM students get two State mandated tests and five reading and math program tests every year. On the State tests the students do so well that ACCLAIM has earned a B rating from the State, meaning most kids approach, meet or exceed grade level or improve their English-language proficiency. The reading and math tests show the students continually moving from one academic level to another: from Urgent to Intervention, from Intervention to Approaches and from Approaches to Meets or Exceeds the benchmark. While the students take the tests, the teachers do the daily work of organizing lessons that students enjoy and understand. There are new teachers every year, due to the extreme teacher shortage in Arizona but every effort is made to find teachers who love our students and our school environment. And when the right teachers are found, teachers like Mrs. Bustos, Mrs. Walther and Ms. Piceno not only are the teachers effective, but they help develop school spirit and create joy.

Acclaim Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 28, 2016
- a teacher
ACCLAIM gives homework in math and reading only to 3rd-8th graders. The students are in school for 7 1/2 hours. They are expected to read at least 30 minutes at home and complete some practice math problems. At the end of the day, that's about 8 1/2 hours of learning per school day. On the weekends students should read a lot more because they have more time, but ACCLAIM believes the families need time to be together and giving lots of homework for nights and weekends can take that time away.


Acclaim Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 28, 2016
- a teacher
The Accelerated Reader and Accelerated Math programs that ACCLAIM has used in 3rd-8th grades for many years are reading and math practice programs. At the beginning of the year students take a test that gives their teacher their reading or math level and every school day the students have class work at the level. Because they do so much work (practice) their skills improve and when they take another test at the end of the quarter their scores improve and their level increases. This is hard work. The students, who may think they don't like or are not good at reading or math, come into the classroom and find a math teacher like Mr. Lopez or Mr. Lapin or a Language Arts teacher like Ms. Moreno or Ms. Powers who are so enthusiastic about the day's work that they set aside their own feels of doubt and put in the good work necessary to improve.

Acclaim Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 28, 2016
- a teacher
Respect is a two-way street, which is a hard sell for teachers and students. It seems like everyone wants respect first, then will reciprocate. At ACCLAIM it seems like teachers are less concerned with demanding respect up front and much more interested in creating a classroom environment where everyone is welcome and everyone is respected. Also, because the teachers talk about virtues everyday with the students, most kids choose to respect each other, the staff and the rules of the school.

Acclaim Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 28, 2016
- a teacher
The school is a safe place to learn and the students are the number 1 reason for that. They respond to the expectations of the teachers and administration because those expectations are valuable to the students themselves. They want to learn, they want to be good people, they want to live a valuable life. ACCLAIM helps them do that by being able to come to school and learn instead of being afraid or worried.


Acclaim Academy 5

Posted July 28, 2016
- a teacher
ACCLAIM is an established west Phoenix educational institution. Entire families have started in Kindergarten and been promoted through 8th grade, siblings, cousins, aunts and uncles, and even children of former students. Because the school has been around for so long the programs are well developed and the administration has been with the school since the very first day. That means something very important because the school has a B rating with the State of Arizona, 400+ students year after year, and is now celebrating its 20th year. That must mean the Director, Melanie Powers, leading a really great team of educators!

Acclaim Academy 1

Posted June 09, 2016
- a teacher
Virtues what virtues. If a school is going to say they have a values plan it should start with the adminstrative staff. If it doesn't start there how can the teachers and students show those virtues. Administration is more focused on dress code, what food is being eaten and talking down to people than what the real focus of a school should be educating the students. Making sure teachers have the supplies they need to teach the standards. How this school has run for so long is only through lies and deceiving parents.

Nearby schools

Acclaim Academy
7624 West Indian School Rd, Phoenix, AZ  85033
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 95 reviews. (623) 691-0919
Last modified Acclaim Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top