Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

I like ACCLAIM with my whole heart. I am a social-justice minded person who wants the world to be better than it is. I believe academics are important but I believe it is more important to treat people well. I have worked at ACCLAIM for nine years, since 2009, and all of my interactions with students have been an opportunity to learn, for me and for them. The school is not perfect and the last few years have been very difficult because of staffing challenges. I am part of the interview team that has been hiring new staff over the last two years and we are doing all we can to find staff who will be dedicated to our students and our school. At this school I have learned what it means to persevere, what it means to pursue excellence and what it means to accept people how they are and make choices that always lead to a better place than where I currently find myself
July 28, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (4 responses)
characters left.
There are 119 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Acclaim Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted August 18, 2016
- a community member
Teachers are always great! The director just doesn't know how to treat them and disrespecting and talking down them is not the way!

Acclaim Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 18, 2016
- a community member
No, its not respect they develop.. its more of frightening the students! That's the only reason why they do as they're told.


Acclaim Academy
Grateful to: Parent

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
Sometimes it's confusing when there are changes at the school but the parents that support the rules, especially the ones like following the uniform, it makes it easier for other parents and kids to follow the rules too.

Acclaim Academy 5

Posted August 11, 2016
- a parent
The school changed this year. The secretaries are nice and helpful. There are no substitutes in 7th or 8th grade and there are teachers back from last year and before. The teachers that are new this year are good teachers and they make class interesting. The food is better too.

Acclaim Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted August 11, 2016
- a community member
Mr. Martinez helps answer my questions about the school, like he gives the meetings when students are enrolling and he speaks Spanish and English which helps alot


Acclaim Academy 5

Posted August 11, 2016
- a community member
The school has a lot of rules that are different from the other schools but the teachers help kids feel like the rules are there to help them learn

Acclaim Academy
Grateful to: no rating

Posted August 11, 2016
- a school leader
Thanks to all the staff members who are back at ACCLAIM. Ms. Moreno, Mr. Lopez, Ms. Garcia, and Mr. Teibo are all homeroom teachers who know about ACCLAIM and are helping move the academics, especially math and science, forward in a really excellent way. Mrs. Koehler is back and in the office to reinvigorate the Accelerated Math program in the upper elementary and middle school.

Acclaim Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted August 11, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Moreno is back at ACCLAIM and helping a big group of elementary students learn English and love reading. She is calm and patient. I would have loved to have her as a teacher!


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
I like ACCLAIM with my whole heart. I am a social-justice minded person who wants the world to be better than it is. I believe academics are important but I believe it is more important to treat people well. I have worked at ACCLAIM for nine years, since 2009, and all of my interactions with students have been an opportunity to learn, for me and for them. The school is not perfect and the last few years have been very difficult because of staffing challenges. I am part of the interview team that has been hiring new staff over the last two years and we are doing all we can to find staff who will be dedicated to our students and our school. At this school I have learned what it means to persevere, what it means to pursue excellence and what it means to accept people how they are and make choices that always lead to a better place than where I currently find myself
Posted July 28, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
ACCLAIM teachers, staff and administration really care about the students. We work hard to learn new strategies to teach students and help them love learning. We also make a great effort to talk to students about the virtues and help them practice those character traits at school.
Posted July 28, 2016

Nearby schools

Acclaim Academy
7624 West Indian School Rd, Phoenix, AZ  85033
(623) 691-0919
Last modified Acclaim Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top