Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alhambra Traditional School

Public | K-8 | 741 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

94 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2006

Alhambra Traditional School has good curriculum and extremely strict. Parent involvement is almost overwhelming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

Beautiful campus, wonderful staff, excellent reading program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2005

Excellent education for my child. Very organized school. Principal always greets and talks to parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2005

Enrolling my children at ATS was the best thing I've ever done. The Spaulding program is the best reading and writing program! My boys are writing reports in 3rd and 5th grade that I didn't do til high school! They can recite long pieces of poetry from memorization. The school has 600 students and it has that smaller school feel. The students know all the teachers in the school. I feel my kids are getting the best possible education they could get and I feel like they are cared about while they are at school. Because this is a traditional school, the focus is on academics - not extracurricular activities, but they do have art, pe and music classes. There is also a before school band program. If you enroll your child at ATS, be prepared to be involved. Parents are strongly encouraged to take part in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

One year ago, we moved to central Ohio. My children had attended ATS. The move really brought home to me how much my children learned at ATS. Their writing and reading skills were improving very nicely. Reading lists at ATS included wonderful, classic literature. The time at school was spent learning. We are currently at a school in Ohio that rates 'excellent,' but the difference in the level of education is like night and day. Too much school time is used in 'feel good' activities and assemblies. The entire last week of school was spent going on local field trips to McDonalds and Dairy Queen. The teachers seem to expect the students to learn good writing skills simply through reading books. Our children need the guided teaching provided at schools such as ATS. Cynthia Vermillion
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

My oldest child has attended ATS for 8 years. He will graduate this year and I feel that he is well prepared for high school and the rest of his educational career. ATS prepares students by teaching them time management as well personal responsibility. The curriculum and teachers are excellent. I would recommend this to any family who is committed and willing to put forth time and effort to better their child's educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

ATS is a school for those who want academic excellence. It prepares your child well for high school. My two children who graduated from ATS were able to test out of several classes in high school, one child graduated from high school a year early as a result. The study skills and academic discipline learned have helped them go a long ways. ATS is strict on discipline and does not allow disturbances in the classroom - I love that. The downside is that they are inflexible and will not bend to accomodate a child with any special needs (learning disabilities of any kind, dyslexia, ADHD, etc.) It is a school for those who are willing and able to work hard and want to get ahead, not for the faint of heart. Depending in where you live, the drive may not be worth all that is required - nightly homework, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2005

My daughter attended ATS from Kindergarten through 8th grade. It is very parent oriented and very structured. Parents have a lot of say in everything that goes on at ATS, become involved! It is absolutely the best school in the valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

We have been taking our children to ATS for eleven years and will do so until the last one graduates. it has paid off for the oldest that have graduated and went on to IB programs and are doing exeptionally well. ATS will work with you and your children if there are some problem areas but it requires a full commitment from the parents at all times to be successful above and beyond what other schools require of the parents. secondly ATS provides a safe and structured environment and exposes your children to other families that are equally dedicated to their well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

My daughter has been attending ATS for 3 years now and we are very happy with the school. She is a very smart girl and we wanted a school that would keep challenging her and not hold her back waiting for the other students to catch up. It is a very structured environment. The teachers are very kind and want your child to succeed and will do whatever is possible to help in that endeavor. The teachers work very close with the parents so that your child can have a successful experience. I like that they teach Spalding, they have all the activities that a normal school would have such as; P.E., music,art,library,computers, etc. This school is not for everyone, it requires parents support and participation. I like that they have raised the bar of learning. My daughter loves it there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2005

Great back to basics program. There is no 'frills' (meaning extra-curricular activities), all of those are to come from home. Lots of academic assistants, nearly one aide to every class. Lots of parental involvement, parents really have a voice in this school. Dress code is non-uniform, but strict and enforced. This school is as much work for the parents as it is for the kids, but if you want a good education for them, this is it. This school demands alot from the children and the whole family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Alhambra Traditional School What can I say... I can honestly say this is a wonderful great school. I wish all school where like Ats. They show leadership, citenship,resondsibilities and very amazing study skills. Honest to God I can say when I send my child to school I am very confident that he is getting the education he needs and he is in safe hands. ATS as a school and their staff I give them A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A+A Thank you so much! Keep up the good work. From a proud parent who is proud to be a part of ATS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

A.T.S. what can I say, accademically superior, demanding, strict, and a safe environment. If you decide to put your child in A.T.S., expect to have to work at keeping your child in A.T.S.. It is a family involvement school. I hear 'I pulled my kid out of that school and my kid is now doing great at hes/her new school' But lets see what happens in the long run. I know parents that after making that decision kick themselves for it. The school is tuff on the students, parents, and family. You will have to give up some things and make some sacrifices, to give your child the best education (it is easy to give up) but your child will love you for it in the long run. Parents of students that have graduated from A.T.S. know this for a fact.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Excellent school if you are a parent that expects high standards of academics and behavior. Parents have a voice in this school and are expected to get involved in the many essential programs that make this school what it is. Test scores here are always some the highest in the state and this school has a reputation that has been earned over the past 21 years. I have been here 14 years and by next year four of ours will have graduated from this school. If you want a quality education and be surrounded by dedicated teachers and parents, this one is for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2005

The reality of ATS: After not receiving support from ATS, I am now sending my daughter to Sylvan because ATS does not teach students how to study or think outside of the box. This seems odd for a school that is known for being academically demanding. Please know that at ATS, if your child needs any type of support (academic, emotional, or social) it is the parent's responsibility to get it. ATS has defined their role as instructors and discipliners. They provide an occasional pat on the back, but that is where the support ends. If you want your child to have an excellent academics only experience, send him or her here. Please know that they will politely and indirectly inform you that assistance outside of this area is not their issue. Be prepared to find any additonal needs on your own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2005

I have a daughter entering Kindergarden this coming fall and I have been very impressed with the schools policies. I am excited for her to be challenged academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2004

Alhambra Traditional School has always strived to teach the children the best academic programs available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

This school provides a tough academics regeme, and strict disipline guideline which could be a good thing in some nature, depending on your preference;however it could use more teachers that portraits more patience/and genuine concern when it comes to teaching a child on an indiviual bases, whether than being bound by primary school policy in effort in using their on proffesional and intellicual judgment to be fair/just per student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2004

I have two children that have attended ATS from kindergarten through eighth grade. You couldn't ask for a better environment for your kids. It goes well beyond just the three R's. The respect, discipline and a sense that each child can succeed. I will admit that it takes alot of parental involvement with their studies. However, isn't that why we became parents anyway? To nurture and help someone else be all that they can be. ATS, provides in a school, what you provide at home. A great, safe surrounding with lots of learning mixed in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

This school, although academically good, is so strict as to not allow a second chance entrance exam for a nervous child who knew everything on the test. Unless your child is perfect, they might have trouble at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 43%
White 27% 42%
Black 12% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3736 W Osborn Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85019
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 484-8816

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT