Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alhambra Traditional School

Public | K-8 | 741 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

94 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2010

Wonderful teachers, incredible principal, great staff. I can't say enough good about this school- living almost 30 miles away and driving in everyday should say enough!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

My child started attending ATS (2nd grade) during the 2009-1010 school year and has learned more in 3 months than he did in an entire year at his previous school. The system in place requires both student and parental accountability and involvement. My guess is that those who are unhappy with the school are not fans of high expectations. I have seen Dr. Lopeman at various activities interacting with students and parents by name. At my child's previous school, I don't believe I EVER saw the principal. I am thankful that ATS is a school of choice. Those who do not like it can go elsewhere, leaving those of us who love the expectations, discipline and achievement. There is a reason we drive 15 miles each way when we can see the old elementary school from our front door.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

First I want to say, I attended this school and my son now attends. Before you start posting your thoughts on the school, ensure you are using the correct spelling, grammar and punctuation. If you have had the privilege of attending this school, you will understand the importance of making sure you are stating your thoughts clearly in the proper format. It is hard to take a comment seriously when there are errors that are negligent. Do not start giving the principal a hard time if you, yourself, are not capable of completing a thought with dignity and the knowledge to back it up. This school excels in every area. The staff for Extended Day is terrific; the teachers are terrific; and I have never seen a principal so involved with the students as the current principal is. Past principals do not compare to Dr. Lopeman ( give respect with the proper title, it is earned ). The teachers are excellent and my son would not receive an education even close to what is offered here. A.T.S. is a school that prides itself in the curriculum and success rate of children. It helps when you are in the real world to be able to complete a thought and sentence when you have been taught how to express it properly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

This is the best school I could hope for. I only wish it could go beyond 8th grade. It's hard finding a high school with the same high standards as ATS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My son has gone to this school since K. He loves it! We considered moving him to the new school that opened here in our Laveen neighborhood and after 2 day he begged to go back to his old school. It is very accellerated and as a parent you need to be involved with homework for your child to succeed and do well. All of the staff is very friendly and the Teachers are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

I love the individual atention teachers give to each of their student, they make them feel unic and important. This is very important for the development of a child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

The teachers are so involved, and deticated! there is more then just basic learning going on here. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

We have graduated two from ATS one still here. This will be our 17th year, we have had our ups and downs but would not change a thing. The teachers have been great starting with Mrs. Leek, she had all three.We have seen some changes in the school but the education my kids received and are still receiving has not changed. It's true this school may not be for everyone, but for us has been a wonderful experience and one we will truly miss when we graduate our last one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2009

The school is great and the expectations are wonderful. The teachers are committed to helping the children succeed. The principal leaves a lot to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2009

This is the best school I could have ever hoped to have ever gone to. I went to ATS for 9 years and there have been few cons. For one, the current principal Ms. L. is not very personable and certainly has something to desire in the dissipline involvement. But look on the bright side...ats sets you approximately 1.5 years ahead of other schools academically and i have been ranked number one out of tolleson university high with a 4.5 gpa...which is an awesome placce to send the graduates from ats to continue their higher learnign and prepare for a successful life...take it from an ats graduate
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

I would like to know if any teachers are going to be affected by the layoffs, that are happening throughout the state of Arizona. Both my daughters go to the school and they love it. My oldest gets mad when you tell her she has a dentist appointment and she has to leave school early. She hates to leave early. I hope all the teachers keep their jobs and keep up the Great Work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

This is an awesome school. My daughter went to public school in the kyrene district, was in the gifted program and still thought her work was easy. This school actually challenges her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

Great school. Best my children have ever been to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

ATS is one of the best schools in az, my children attend this school, I am very pleased with their progress!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

ATS is not for everyone, be careful. yes the curriculum is awesome, but its not worth the pain and stress you go through. When children are being bullied, nothing gets resolved and the teachers do not listen to you. The principal is horrible and so are some teachers. Mrs. Hoffer your the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

A.T.S. is a SUPER school! My children's teachers are going above and beyond to teach them what the state requires. The technology that my daughter comes home knowing is more than I can say for myself. The principal knows my kids by name and loads cars right along with the teachers each and every day. Kids travel from all over to attend here- which makes perfect sense. It is a safe, friendly school that is amazing in academics as well as discipline. You would be crazy to send your kids anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

I attended this school for 9 years. There are very few postives that can be said about A.T.S. Teachers act like tyrants and the principal was horrible. Students aren't treated like real people with real feelings. I can't even begin to count how many times teachers made me cry. At my high school I feel more comfortable talking to my teachers now than I ever did at this school. The only positive thing I got out of going to this school was a good work habit for high school homework. As for the social aspect, I am thoroughly disappointed with this school. Students become too sheltered and bullying abounds in this school. I think students would benefit from being in a different environment than A.T.S.


Posted February 19, 2008

I am thrilled with this school. Those who say negative things about this school, truly don't belong here. I have two children here. They study and have no problems. This school is not for everyone. Parents must be committed to their child's education. My children still enjoy playing with their friends, sports and art classes outside of school. My family loves the school, the teachers, the principal, and the welcoming environment. There are so many opportunities for parents to be involved; those who don't get involved can't complain. I recommend this school only to parents who I know will be committed to the curriculum. It does take some getting used to, but it is well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

This is the first year my child has attended ATS, and he has found school not only challenging but fun. He cannot wait to tell me about his day and for me to review his homework with him daily. I also agree that this school is not for everyone. Only those whose parents are active in their child's learning careers. So, if you want your child to receive a great education with plenty of parent interaction, than ATS is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

My child is new to ATS and is challenged every day with the amount of reading and homework that is given. As a parent I am 100% pleased because his previous school he was bored and did not care about learning. Since, I have noticed that he is such a stronger reader, now loves books, and does care about getting assignments done and on time. He has improved tremendously all around. This school is not for everyone. It is for the parents and children who are serious about there education. I would definitely recommend ATS to parents who are involved in their children's education and care.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
93%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
95%

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
90%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 43%
White 27% 42%
Black 12% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3736 W Osborn Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85019
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 484-8816

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT