Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alhambra Traditional School

Public | K-8 | 740 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

94 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2007

The principal is constantly visible on campus and very involved - and even sat on the dunk tank chair for field day sporting floaties and flippers. Not only is parent involvement appreciated, it's expected. Homework is to be checked and signed daily and we can walk into the classroom whenever we want. This school is the most fantastic thing that ever happened to our children. We drive them 30 minutes each direction to get there and it is so worth it! The use of the smart boards in the classroom is so fantastic. The teachers have instant feedback as to how well the students are understanding the lessons, and the kids pay attention because they are interacting with their own transmitters. I cannot say enough great things about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

I love this school! It is comforting to know that my children are getting the education that provides a good foundation for their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

By far this school is going in all the wrong directions, admin is awful, the principle is down right unfair, and parent involvement is unwanted. Children are overloaded and have not life after school from grades 5-8. Policies are being broken all over the place and nothing is being done about it. U will see burn out r around 10 grade. Let your kids be kids and have fun with education. There is no fun at this school. Parents whom are involved watch out. This school is not the same at all and that is the plan. This school is open to all, but at what expense, just for the numbers to be pushed up. I will never send or recommand anyone to send their children here every again. Admin undfair and unjust. Bad location as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

My children were promoted out of ATS 3 and 5 years ago, and they are still benefiting from their education there. They were not only challenged academically, but they were also taught how to study and apply their knowledge. Our oldest graduated first in her high school class, and credits her success to the skills she learned at ATS. Our youngest is entering his senior year of high school, and his teachers cannot stop talking about how much he brings to the classroom environment - again due to his years at ATS. I recommend this school often - especially to those parents whose children need to be challenged academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

I loved and hated ATS at different times. Coming in and not starting at a young age is very tough. I recommend putting your child in at a young age. I started in 4th grade and had a hard time with the spalding method. Although the work is hard and you get a lot of homework I have realized it really does give you the upper leg when applying somewhere else. If you pay attention in class you will do great. If you don't get it the teachers are always willing to help. Extracurricular activities are great Music,P.E,and Art teach you a lot. If you are not a driven student and love to push yourself , I wouldn't go. Even though ATS gave me a great preparation for my new school, I wouldn't go again with all the groups who are harsh.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 19, 2007

I have 2 students at ATS. My oldest has attended for 7 years. My youngest for 5 years. The teachers are very good and I am amazed at all they are able to teach in any given year. The principal is easy to talk to and knows my kids by name. ATS has a small school feel - only about 600 students. My boys both can memorize long poems easily because this started with a short poem in Kindergarten and grew as the years went on. They love reading and math. They do not feel that they cannot be kids there as others have reviewed. They don't like the dress code, but they don't complain about it much. It is better than uniforms. My younger son is ADD and ATS has handled it great. The teachers work with me to come up with solutions that work. I love ATS and staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

The only difference from Ats to their other schools is that students are now doing both State req. and Ats Requirements. Overload! Uncooperative Principle and Dist. Superintendent.. Don't send your kids here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

My child began ATS this school year as a second grader. The difference in the rigor and quality of education was tremendous. The expectation that all children are capable of learning at a high level is pervasive and interwoven throughout the academics and the extracurricular activities. The principal knows all of my children by name and greats parents openly. This school is an opportunity for children and families to focus on their education and a place where kids love learning. I look forward to all of my children having the opportunity to be part of the ATS family in the coming years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

I am a parent of 2 going to ats. The teachers are very uncooperative and don't teach very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

Hi I am a student at this school and I am in the seventh grade. The new principal is not as good as the old one, but I do think that she is trying, and I give her credit for that. My parents also agree that sometimes she is uncooperative but with students she is great with being fun and energetic( as long as you aren't in trouble). I would definetly say that this is an amazing school and the teachers are teriffic! I have attended this school for 7/8 possible years, and I have tried other schools, but they were awful! At alhambra traditional your children will get the best (free) education that their is, and they deffinetly can be children!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2006

My 2 kids attended this school since kindergarden.I truly loved this school however new principal not very cooperative with parents. Teachers are great, education is great. However I decided to pull my kids due to the school administrators negative attitudes and thinking they control my children's future. Great education however kids are over loaded and have no extra activates. Kids need to be kids and they can't at this school. Send them if you want an awesome education. Things are changing @ this school and not for the best.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 21, 2006

I went to this school starting in 2nd Grade when we had one of the best principles. New Principle came in not as good as I might have thought, however teachers are great. I would say this was a great school until the last year with new principle didn't care about students so much, sorry to say that just a kids perspective.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 19, 2006

So far my 4th grade child has done great at this school. He has made many friends, and really enjoys his play time. His grades have been outstanding. The teachers we have had each have different personalities, but all have been open to questions, and suggestions. Some of my friends whose children don't attend ATS, are struggling with things important, such as reading. ATS understands teaching children while young, and sponge like, is the best approach. Spaulding has worked very well for our child. ATS' Principal in my opinion is doing a very fine job. In a society where gangsters rule and lazy parents accept this, she has a challenging job, and does it well. More is expected from the child and the Parent. If you are not going to work hard, this is not the school for you. Go Eagles! G. Slaughter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

My two children where in ATS for two years. They received an excellent education and we took them out because we moved overseas. During the time we where in the school my experience was that the rules overcame everything and exeptions where not made even in the extreme case. My kids had wonderful teachers and excelled while making great friends. The day I transferred them out I asked the front desk if they could say goodbye to their teachers and friends and we where denied. The rule states that since they no longer where students in the school and I had signed the papers they could not even step foot in the grounds to even say farewell. I left very disappointed and sad for my kids because I felt that an exeptions should have been made. Excellent school but very disheartening for my kids in light of their circumstances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

I went to this school from kindergarten through 8th grade. I received a high quality education and also learned how to take tests, study, take notes, etc., which many students entering high school cannot do. I also started high school with a huge ego, thinking I would be smarter and significantly ahead of everybody else. ATS carves this idea into you brain; make sure you humble your kid before high school. Any decent school and parent involvement can produce the same result as ATS, only it would be more fun, more lax dress code and better extra-curricular activities. ATS concentrates more on academics than anything else. Don't expect good sports, field trips or arts.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 3, 2006

I feel as if this school is too strickly structured. If you are looking for that, this is it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2006

I was a student here from kindergarden-8th grade. This school does not allow a kid to be a kid! I urge you to continue your school search and not choose this school for your children! Please!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 12, 2006

I like this school because of the challenge that provides to my 3rd grade child, there is one warning that I would like to give to the parents, please request a class room policy from your child's teacher otherwise he or she will be spending and receiving 0's and detention when he or she should not have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

this is one of the best schools for excelling kids. it teaches kids how to plan for the future and strives for exclance
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

Great school! Excellent parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 42%
White 29% 42%
Black 12% 5%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3736 W Osborn Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85019
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 484-8816

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT