Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arcadia High School 5

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
3 of my kids attend this school. My fourth will in two years. The new leadership by Mr. Slater has transformed the school over the past couple years. My three kids are excelling academically and socially. The assistant principals are very in tune to the students needs. Mr. Moony (the assistant principal) is extremely responsive to any issues that ever arise including bullying or substance abuse. There is a fantastic open communication policy at this school between parents and administration. The campus is very inviting with a large open lawn surrounded by classroom buildings. There are dozens of clubs and activities as well as excellent sport programs. Finally, the school is large enough to not have any cliques dominating the social scene. Kids are either from the immediate neighborhood or open enroll. Most of my kids friends open enroll and are appreciative of this policy as they recognize this as an exclellent educational venue. We live in Arcadia and had several options for high school including two top private schools. Arcadia turned out to be an excellent choice and exceeded my expectations.

Arcadia High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
The school has ethics and leadership workshops and organizations that students can participate in. Students can also start their own clubs.


Arcadia High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 23, 2016
- a parent
Dear Mr. Slater, Thank you for being an excellent Principal who genuinely cares about all of the students at Arcadia High School!

Arcadia High School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
I am the mom of 3 children who attended Arcadia High School; 2 are now in college, one is still there. This is a school that embraces teaching the whole person, and offer students great academics with AP and dual enrollment classes in every academic subject, the opporutunity to participate in clubs and sports including 3 no-cut sports, and access to a wide variety of unique and high caliber CTE and fine arts offerings. My older children both were admitted to their top choice colleges early decision, one with a merit scholarship. All 3 of my children were able to play a varsity sport, take all college prep classes, and even create their own independent study curriculum in art. Every teacher goes beyond classroom teaching to support student growth, and there is an active, devoted parent organization that raises funds to support the classroom and coordinates volunteers all over campus. But you should decide for yourself. Arcadia offers weekly tours to prosepctive students and their parents, and to community members who want to see what a great school looks like. Just call the front office to make your appointment.

Arcadia High School 2

Posted January 14, 2014
- a student
I go to Arcadia and i found that it is very lacking in respect for the teachers as well as the students. Freshman are harassed by some of the teachers and students, but this is passed off as just messing around. Some teachers are just amazing and are able to create a classroom that is a home away from home, a place where the students feel safe. This school is a place for kids who are quite social and kind of lax on the idea of getting into a good college. I am not saying that about all of the students but most just talk about things that are not worth typing up in this review. If you want to truly challenge your kid in terms of science and math don't go to Arcadia, however if your kid is interested in filming and such they should got Arcadia.


Arcadia High School 4

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
I think it's a great school, I was more impressed with the curriculum they have for the students and the safe campus. My son really enjoys the school and the environment.

Arcadia High School 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
We have been very happy with Arcadia High School. My child attended a private school from K-8, so I was originally nervous about the transition. However, the transition couldn't have been more smooth and we have been impressed with the teachers and staff. Our child is challenged in honors classes and is very happy at Arcadia. We have zero complaints.

Arcadia High School 3

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
It's a better option than other Phoenix schools and coming from another state I am realizing how far behind even the "best" schools are. G&T here is average student in other states. There is a refusal to believe that Arizona is behind 95% of the nation in education and the PTO is run by stay at home moms who don't have a clue what the real world is like. They celebrate medicrity instead of encourage success.


Arcadia High School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
We've been happy with the academic and overall life experiences at Arcadia. The school gives freshman the whole campus the first half-day of school. Faculty and staff return emails promptly. Students have a nice mix of backgrounds. Honors and AP classes are open to those wanting to try. Many extracurricular opportunities for each student to express and learn in their way. Good parental support, but it'd be nice if more came to parent-related meetings. Some, like a previous reviewer, would prefer more control. We think Arcadia prepares kids to succeed in the real world. As always, it's difficult to accurately compare with other schools because we haven't moved from school-to-school. Arcadia is for us.

Arcadia High School 1

Posted January 10, 2013
- a community member
This is a very chaotic school which the public knows little about. Students eat in class and take cell phone calls in class. The walkways each period find students walking during class and they are rarely questioned as to where they should be. Last year during Market Day, students put together a t-shirt with a pro-drug message, there were no consequences, and were allowed to take part in this event. Ask the school what percentage of those who enroll in an AP course actually sit for the AP exam. Last year there was a large fight during lunch which looked like a small riot. Another good question would be to ask the teachers which if any administrators do they think actually have leadership abilities. There is no discipline, students are very poorly behaved, class size is ltoo large for the school to be effective. This is a very, very poor school. If you are serious about your child getting a good education, do not send them to this school.

Nearby schools

Arcadia High School
4703 East Indian School Rd, Phoenix, AZ  85018
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (480) 484-6100
Last modified Arcadia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top