Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 31 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arcadia High School 5

Posted April 10, 2014
- a parent
I am the mom of 3 children who attended Arcadia High School; 2 are now in college, one is still there. This is a school that embraces teaching the whole person, and offer students great academics with AP and dual enrollment classes in every academic subject, the opporutunity to participate in clubs and sports including 3 no-cut sports, and access to a wide variety of unique and high caliber CTE and fine arts offerings. My older children both were admitted to their top choice colleges early decision, one with a merit scholarship. All 3 of my children were able to play a varsity sport, take all college prep classes, and even create their own independent study curriculum in art. Every teacher goes beyond classroom teaching to support student growth, and there is an active, devoted parent organization that raises funds to support the classroom and coordinates volunteers all over campus. But you should decide for yourself. Arcadia offers weekly tours to prosepctive students and their parents, and to community members who want to see what a great school looks like. Just call the front office to make your appointment.

Arcadia High School 2

Posted February 21, 2014
- a student
I got bullied my first year here. This school is soo sick i dont see how the parents dont recognize it. Its just like mean girls. Kids get away with smoking weed here. Basically this school just wants your money. The staff is so biased to some students i swear its so annoying. Moral of the story is send your kids to private school. Its sad that even a school in afriendly area can be soo crude.


Arcadia High School 2

Posted January 14, 2014
- a student
I go to Arcadia and i found that it is very lacking in respect for the teachers as well as the students. Freshman are harassed by some of the teachers and students, but this is passed off as just messing around. Some teachers are just amazing and are able to create a classroom that is a home away from home, a place where the students feel safe. This school is a place for kids who are quite social and kind of lax on the idea of getting into a good college. I am not saying that about all of the students but most just talk about things that are not worth typing up in this review. If you want to truly challenge your kid in terms of science and math don't go to Arcadia, however if your kid is interested in filming and such they should got Arcadia.

Arcadia High School 4

Posted January 08, 2014
- a parent
I think it's a great school, I was more impressed with the curriculum they have for the students and the safe campus. My son really enjoys the school and the environment.

Arcadia High School 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
We have been very happy with Arcadia High School. My child attended a private school from K-8, so I was originally nervous about the transition. However, the transition couldn't have been more smooth and we have been impressed with the teachers and staff. Our child is challenged in honors classes and is very happy at Arcadia. We have zero complaints.


Arcadia High School 3

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
It's a better option than other Phoenix schools and coming from another state I am realizing how far behind even the "best" schools are. G&T here is average student in other states. There is a refusal to believe that Arizona is behind 95% of the nation in education and the PTO is run by stay at home moms who don't have a clue what the real world is like. They celebrate medicrity instead of encourage success.

Arcadia High School 5

Posted September 23, 2013
- a parent
We've been happy with the academic and overall life experiences at Arcadia. The school gives freshman the whole campus the first half-day of school. Faculty and staff return emails promptly. Students have a nice mix of backgrounds. Honors and AP classes are open to those wanting to try. Many extracurricular opportunities for each student to express and learn in their way. Good parental support, but it'd be nice if more came to parent-related meetings. Some, like a previous reviewer, would prefer more control. We think Arcadia prepares kids to succeed in the real world. As always, it's difficult to accurately compare with other schools because we haven't moved from school-to-school. Arcadia is for us.

Arcadia High School 1

Posted January 10, 2013
- a community member
This is a very chaotic school which the public knows little about. Students eat in class and take cell phone calls in class. The walkways each period find students walking during class and they are rarely questioned as to where they should be. Last year during Market Day, students put together a t-shirt with a pro-drug message, there were no consequences, and were allowed to take part in this event. Ask the school what percentage of those who enroll in an AP course actually sit for the AP exam. Last year there was a large fight during lunch which looked like a small riot. Another good question would be to ask the teachers which if any administrators do they think actually have leadership abilities. There is no discipline, students are very poorly behaved, class size is ltoo large for the school to be effective. This is a very, very poor school. If you are serious about your child getting a good education, do not send them to this school.


Arcadia High School 5

Posted July 03, 2010
- a parent
I am so pleased with the growth that my child has achieved since he transfered to this school.

Arcadia High School 5

Posted February 02, 2010
- a student
Arcadia is a great school! Have soooo many options classes wise. the enviroment is friendly and the students get along great. The new school is finished and its beautiful, and yes it might get a little corweded at some point but its alright! we get to bond more this way! :]

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arcadia High School
4703 E Indian School Rd, Phoenix, AZ  85018
(480) 484-6100
Last modified Arcadia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arcadia High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews.