Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center - South Mountain

Charter | 9-12 | 362 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $92,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2012

My experience at the south mountain campus was an amazing aportunity for growth. I acomplished a lot in the two and a half years i was there, AAEC provides the opportunities and one as a student is responsible for how far they want to go from there. What i loved most was the staffs commitment to see us succeed. AAEC high school prepares student with life long skills.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2011

AAEC-South Mountain has helped me succeed as a student. This school gives students the unique opportunity to take college and high school classes, and the teachers and staff are very supportive. Being able to take college classes helped me learn how to work and behave appropriately in a college environment. After graduating from AAEC with a high school with an associate degree, I am confident about going to a university. The teachers and staff were there every step of the way. Because this was a small high school, I got the attention I needed in class to do well on assignments. AAEC-South Mountain is a caring community of students, teachers, and staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2011

AAEC South Mountain has been a wonderful opportunity for my daughter to complete two years of her college education while in high school. The education and life skills provided by AAEC have helped my child to become engaged in her education and seek out service opportunities in the community. AAEC has done a fine job of creating a safe campus community and a positive learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

There are many factors that can cause trouble when you have a teenager. School and peer influence are two major factors among them. However, I am lucky that my daughter goes to AAEC-SMCC. The school is great with regards to its teachers and courses. The teachers caring attitude helps my daughter to maintain her interest and good grades in school. In addition, the school s safe environment and conscientious students affect each others productivity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

This school has given me great opportunities in advancing my educational skills and has helped me achieve two Associate's degrees.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2010

this school gave me great opportunities that i couln't find anywere else ! the staff and the students are all very friendly im glad i came here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 11, 2010

AAEC is a great school to get ahead in our learning , they also provide college classes for us the students so me being a student i really enjoyed being here these past four years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2010

Ms. Mashatt and Ms. Ness Rock!! I love the school and cannot wait for next year!! I am so excited to be here, and i am excited to take college classes next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2010

AAec is a great school for students who want to have a great edducation. the school gives the students the choice to take college classes in south mountain community college. they can even earn their AA degree by the time they graduate from highschool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2010

I love the school !! it has wonderful oppertunities,and i have had many of them. The teachers are great and so are the students,we may be a very diverse school but we all get along and love each other. There is not a word i can think of to decribe the school as to how awesome it is ! Especially the principle,Mrs.Mashatt she's like a mom to each and every one of the seniors she calls us her kids and her seniors.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2010

I am a student that has been going here for three and a half years and I've been to three different schools. This school is by far the best. The other schools around this place pale in comparisson to A.A.E.C.. It has, in my opinion, the best staff any student could hope for. They push you becasue they actually care about the students, unlike the schools that only say they care about the students that go there. I have only good things to say about this school and the staff working here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2010

I am the parent of a Student who learns differently. My son has just completed his Sophomore year at AAEC - I have to tell you that he is thriving in this environment. IEP's are honored, but more importantly they are incorporated into the teaching for ALL students, ie, the teachers meet the students needs, then challenge them beyond... My son will meet his goals of University because of these dedicated teachers & staff empowering him to do so! Do not hesitate to come visit the school. It a gem, tucked away in an area of Phoenix that for many is discounted as unlikely. Not so....great things are happening here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I transferred to AAEC South Mountain my junior year, so i have a different view of it than others. This school teaches you responsibility and how to take control of your own education. It teaches you independence, and how to succeed in college. By allowing its students to take college classes and possibly even earn their Associates Degrees by their Senior Year. This school is the perfect place for anyone who wishes to go to college in the future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2010

I've been attending AAEC since my freshman year. Today i am a senior in AAEC, all i have to say is that attending this school has given me much of what is necessary to go out into the world. Not only has it taught me perseverence, but that there are many opportunities out there. I think that over all the school allows for the students to grow in maturity and education. This school is a great place to meet people, succeed in school, and have a headstart in our future.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2010

My daughter has been at AAEC SM for four years. She will be graduating this year with not only her high schoool diploma but also her associate of Arts degree from South Mountain Community College. AAEC has prepared her to be successful during her last two years at ASU. The teachers really care about each and every student. Students have every opportunity to be successful. I would recommend AAEC to students who want to be challenged and get a head start on college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

My daughter will be a junior next year and she just found out that some of her teachers will be leaving. She is complaining about the amount of turn overs in teachers. Should I be concerned? As a parent I wonder about the stability of the school keeping teachers. -Sincerely a concerned parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

Being a student, I'm sure i can give an inside-view of the school. The teachers are very well-educated for the most part. The college classes are very helpful and will help us to graduate with an associates degree. The only thing I'm not very fond of is the over-abundance of homework. - A sophomore
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

I've been attending AAEC-SM since my freshmen year.. I think it has been the smartest decision that I have ever made. I've gone a way with learning so much and gained college experience. I'm in my last year here and I'm leaving with two AA degrees and plan to transfer in Cal State.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 19, 2008

I've been attending AAEC at Red Mountain since my sophomore year. I am returning as a senior this upcoming year. I can't explain how awesome this experience has been. Honestly, I think it's a great thing to actually be able to attend college while still in high school. I think anyone who attends this school will witness the blessing and understand how much this school truly offers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2007

I have two children that attended AAEC-SMCC campus. Our older daughter will Graduate ASU Barretts Honors College at age 20 with a 4.0 on full scholership. She intends to apply for law school in October. Our younger daughter is a Junior at AAEC maintaining a 3.8 GPA. She will graduate high school with 60+ college credits. Both of my daughters benefited so much by having the college experience being so much a part of their high school experience. The staff gave them the confidence to steer through the scholership application process and a real leg up on how to choose the best coarse curriculum to achieve their college goals. The staff encouraged the highest level of college goal setting in way that gives the students great self confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 76% 42%
Black 11% 5%
White 10% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 6%
Asian 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 4:30
School Leader's name
  • Dr. William R. Conley
Fax number
  • (602) 323-9869

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Equine Activities
Girls sports
  • Equine Activities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Partnerships with: *arizona state university *south mountain community college *many industry leaders *community provides access to biotechnolgy & veterinary labs
More from this school
  • AAEC is directly located on the Community College Campuses. Students that attend our program will be concurrently enrolled in Community College courses. AAEC's class of 2002 averaged 46 transferrable college credits per student with an average overall GPA of 3.0. Three of the graduates graduated with their AA degrees.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2002 E. Baseline Rd
Phoenix, AZ 85042
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 323-9890

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT