Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center - Paradise Valley

Charter | 9-12 | 350 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $196,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 15 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

41 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2011

I can not say enough good things about this school. The teachers and staff are not only qualified, they are also caring. Who could ask for more. We moved to Arizona to give my children the opportunity for an excellent education. Not a statement many would say about AZ, but AAEC has exceeded my expectations. Not only are both my sons being challenged academically, they are both very happy and love the teachers and staff as well. Thank you AAEC for caring and striving to be the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

I go to this school and I like it a lot only down side there is on sports but running which is not the most fun of the sports ..
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2010

The special ed dept has taught my daughter the skills needed to intergrate high school with college. The teachers are very involved.Thank you AAEC for all you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

My son has excelled in this school and we are very fortunate to have found it. Mr. Gray and all of his staff are wonderful, caring people who have encouraged excellence while bolstering self-esteem. I can't thank AAEC enough. Schools like this are few and far between.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I couldnt agree more ! I love this school it was the best choice for my daughter Mrs. Anema is awsome with her and the other teachers well there amazing!!! and Mr gray and his ladies Ms Blake and Ms Brady are so on top of things I couldnt ask for a better high school AAEC has welcomed her with open arms Thanks is not enough
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

This school is amazing!! I especially have been impressed with the attention to students success. The teachers genuinely care if the students are successful. Mr. Gray is helpful and always available, even when your son, like mine, has problems. Thanks AAEC!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

As parents, we want what is best for our children's education. Large public High Schools were unable to provide the learning environment our children were looking for, so we turned to AAEC Paradise Valley campus for a solution. Now with two teens graduated from the program it was without doubt, the best choice available. Small class sizes, supportive administration and engaged teachers provided the perfect learning experience. The campus is safe and the transferable college credits are a great extra benefit for those going to college. If you are looking for a public High School alternative, AAEC Paradise Valley is an excellent choice. Thank you AAEC, 5 Stars for your efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

Oustanding My Daughter attended AAEC all four Years. The Principal, Mr. Gray is a strong leader and was very involved on a day to day basis with the students. In addition, He and the Staff were very helpful in preparing my Daughter for College. The Teachers were motivated and really cared about the students development. AAEC is a smaller School which was a real bonus. This is a special school for students looking for this type of unique educational experience. Thank you AAEC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I have found the teachers and staff to be so helpful in guiding my son. He has struggled with his ambition and motivation and they refuse to give up on him and continue to work with our family in an effort to bring my son to his full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

So far I have 19 college credits and I am currently working towards my Associates Degree. I enjoy that all the staff are friendly and willing to help out the students and assist in any and everyway possible. The faculty are just as amazing with their ability to provide a unique learning environment. Each teacher has their own personality and often this is reflected in their outstanding teaching styles and their classrooms. Thank you AAEC for providing me with all that I need to start on my path of success!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2009

I have high praise for the quality of the education at AAEC Paradise Valley. My son has attended this school for the last 2 years and has already earned 16 credits toward his Associates Degree at Paradise Valley Community College. The teachers are supportive and knowlegeable, and the principal, Mr. Gray, is always watchful of the students. It is very obvious that Mr. Gray has the best interests of the students at heart. The children are allowed a certain amount of freedom because they attend college classes. However, they also must check-in for classes in the morning and check-out in the afternoon. They are required to attend at least 4 hours of classes on the high school campus, and college classes are then selected to fit around the high school schedule. I would recommend this school to any parent. It has been an exceptional experience for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

We had such high hopes for this school and were terribly disappointed. School staff promised that even though there was a lot of freedom, the kids would be supervised and communication to parents would be constant. They let us down on both parts. Freshmen left campus constantly, attendance was not verified, parents were not notified when kids were missing. Teachers were changed several times during the year for different classes and grades were not kept up to date on the website. Not only were we disappointed, our child is now behind in AZ requirements due to the different standards for this school. I am sure this program can work for some students, but not for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This school has made a dramatic change in my daughter's life. She is taking college classes that are going towards her degree, which is exceptional. She will graduate from high school with an Associates degree in buisiness. Deciding to attend this school has been one of the best decisions I have made in her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My son has attended this school for 2 years and we are all happy with our decision to have him attend. The teachers and staff are caring, intelligent people that truly care about him, his grades and his mental well being. There is extra curricular activities but remember what AAEC stands for, its not a sports (b-ball, football, etc.) oriented school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

i highly disliked this school. it was unorganized and not well rounded. i regret my decision to go there.


Posted January 14, 2008

We have continuously been disappointed with this school! They do not have very many extra-curricular activities, and many of the teachers do not have enough knowledge on the subjects they are teaching. Also, if you are not into the agricultural scene, then this school traps you. i would not recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

Both of AAEC's principals were and are wonderful, and encouraging to students and parents alike. All of teachers want students to succeed. There are so many teachers on the staff who go out of their way to help the students. It is encouraged by the principals. Both of my daughters attended AAEC, and both graduated with honors from Paradise Valley Community College. I wish the opportunity to acquire college credits had been available to me when I was a teenager. I am very grateful to AAEC's founder, principals, and all who made it possible for my children to excel, and be challenged in such an encouraging environment. I hope this school will continue to be available to all students entering or in high school. I highly recommend it to all parents who want their children to succeed, and get off to a great educational start!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2007

AAEC offers the student with direction the means to achieve their goals quicker and easier. Quicker, because if applied correctly, students can graduate with their AS degree, and easier because everywhere you turn at AAEC there is someone to help with whatever the need may be. I'm one of those parents who feels the school is not an alternative school for the student who can't make it in a public high school, but it's a wonderful foundation for the student making the effort. The teachers really care and are very well qualified. The BioScience program can't be compared to any other high school! AAEC and it's staff are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2005

This school is Awesome! The staff are kid and parent friendly. The academics are geared for the success of the students. The access to the college is wonderful, the kids are able to participate in anything they could want. Thanks to Mr. Gray and his staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2005

We love AAEC and I too have recommended the school to friends. Principal Gray is an honest man and devoted principal, watching out for all of our cildren. The teachers demonstrate their dedication to our childrens success on a daily basis. Unfortunately there is little availability for arts, sports and other extracurricular activities. However, there is horsemanship, FFA and student governement for our children to get involved in. Parents are encouraged, but not pressured, to be involved in every ascpect. I'm so happy I found AAEC for my children. Milu Simpson
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 42%
Hispanic 6% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A47%
Female 65%N/A49%
Male 35%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Cave Creek USD
Paradise Valley USD
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Community College Foreign Languages
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Martha Braly
Fax number
  • (602) 569-6372

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Community College Foreign Languages
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Equine Activities
Girls sports
  • Equine Activities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • School activity parent participation. parent participation on committees and governing board. field day participation. ffa events sponsorship and participation.
More from this school
  • Every student attending AAEC is enrolled in at least one college course, earning college credits through concurrent enrollment. The class of 2002 averaged 46 transferable college credits per student with a 3.0 GPA overall. Three graduates earned AA degrees along with their high school degrees.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Cave Creek USD
Paradise Valley USD
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3775 E. Union Hills Drive
Phoenix, AZ 85050
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 569-1101

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT