Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arizona School for the Arts

Charter | 5-12 | 750 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

101 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2009

ASA is such a wonderful school. They not only teach the children the basics, they also offer a nurturing environment and help bring the children out of their shell. My daughter is thriving in this school. In the traditional school she did well academically, however she would not participate in class and no one encouraged her to do so. I have seen such a change in her from the time that she started ASA to now that it is amazing. I can't say enought about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My daughter has attended ASA for 5 years with 2 to go and I can't imagine her in any other environment. Due to the excellent leadership and teaching professionals available to her, she has been successfully preparing for college since she began in the 6th grade. I have witnessed a transformation in her desire for academic excellence, accountability/responsibility, and self confidence. Arizona School for the Arts has been the best kept secret in education for years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

I attended ASA and it is a fantastic school. It isn't the traditional high school setting, but there is a lot of peer mentoring, and as it is a small school it becomes more of a family community for students, and provides a higher quality learning environment. As a student you feel safer and more able to explress your ideas and discuss more freely among your peers as well as your teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2009

excellent academics and 'out of this world' art programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

ASA is an amazing place. It is the type of place where 6th graders can be friends with seniors in HS along with other kids their age. The arts progrm is FABO and the academics are fantastic! It is definitelty a school where all of the teachers and kids are friendly! Everyone wants to achieve and has a passion for the arts and school in general. You don't have to be a prodigy at the arts, but everyone is exceptionally talented! The teachers are amamzing and with the small environment everyone feels safe, welcomed and known one another! I would definitely reccomend ASA as a current 6th grader who plans to stay till HS! :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2009

This school has taught me that i can do anything i want to do. I can voice my opinion and I feel trusted by the teachers and faculty. Students constantly engage in thoughtful class discussions that open so many doors. I have been here for about 1 and a half years and I can't believe the change I see in myself everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2009

This school has rigerous acedemic challenges and has a great community despite the issues with hiring teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2008

I go to asa and i have to say it is an incredible place to go! And i know that it will look beautiful on my collage application!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2008

Don't get the Nov. 16th post. My oldest child has attended ASA for five years and has gotten fabulous math instruction. The students are expected to make connections and think on their own, it's definitely not the drill and kill or 'turn to the next page' type of math instruction. I have found all of the teachers to be fabulous. They are amazingly interested in every child's progress unlike any school we have seen. This school is for self starters and high achievers. We just learned that they are expanding! They are adding 5th grade in 2009 and are adding 50 more spots in 6th grade. I am sure it will fill in a heartbeat. I see it as a school for kids who love classic musical study, project based learning and having alot of their own responsibility for their learning. No hand holding; high expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

Sending my son to ASA, the worst choice I ever made. My son loves mathematics (95% in 2007 AIMS); the math teacher was more concern on enforcing his pencil only policy (my son prefers a pen) than fuelling his passion for mathematics. That man had nothing to teach my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

Fabulous, talented kids. Fabulous talented Faculty. If you have a high acheiving student who loves the performing arts, look no further. Those kids who find ASA not a good match, are those who are not strong students or have behavior problems. I agree with another parent here that misbehavior is not tolerated. This is not a school for kids who need to be 'fixed'. My son loves ASA. It's for serious students and musicians.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

I love ASA. I do feel it has gone downhill slightly as many excellent teachers have left(plus Dr. Francis!) and the students keep getting marginally less accepting, but the classes (especially arts) are very high-quality and the environment is great. I am staying until graduation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2008

My daughter is a junior and attended since 6th grade. The teachers had high expectations of the students and expected the students to meet these expectations. They are interested in her personally, and worked with her on every issue of concern, academic, health related, etc. The administration is proactive, vocal and very personally involved with the students. Self-advocacy is taught so the students learn to stand up for themselves through the proper channels, an excellent skill for the business world. The small class size adds to the positive experience academically and socially as well as the team teaching approach across disciplines. My daughters writing skills, developed here, far exceed her peers in other schools. The lack of a phys. ed. curriculum, is unfortunate but the arts training is phenomenal. Our experience with ASA has been exceptionally positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

We are parents of a new ASA student. Our daughter is starting as a 6th grader and she loves it. Her math and science teachers were there last year and she thinks they are great, as we had heard. The 6th grade language arts/social studies teacher is a veteran teacher but new to ASA this year. We were hesitant because we had heard such great things about the teacher who left, but my daughter loves language arts and social studies, both; like never before and is writing up a storm. ASA expectations are very high and people w/ children with behavior problems or severe learning issues should probably look elsewhere. There is little tolerance for misbehaving or students who are not intrinsically motivated. My daughter says all of the teachers advertise their willingness to help students at lunch She says many students work during their lunch. Awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

I am a current student attending ASA. This school has a foundation of communication and understanding that I do not feel I would find anywhere else. The teachers work with individual students who need any help and are always glad to have you come in at lunch and talk with them. The work load can become hard at times, but in the end you find all the hard work was worth it. During third quarter you do a major project, which is where a lot of stress can be found if the student does not meet deadlines and show up to class on time. Overall I love ASA and do not plan to leave until I graduate in 2013.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 25, 2008

I am a student currently going to asa, as many reviews have said this school is a very safe-enviroment, however the school's methods are very, very confusing and it tends to get me and my fellow classmates confused. This school is much more different than any other public schoool, yet that can be a good thing. ASA has a huge stress level and there is no time to just relax and be a kid. Many students become depressed because they care so much about their grades ad the teachers put even more stress, telling the students that it is not enough and that they must revise. Arizona School for the Arts does have a good enviroment, yet the education is alright and it tends to protrays as if the educaion is one of the best in the west.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2008

This is our first year at ASA and we are loving it. My daughter came from public middle school and the leadership, class quality and parent involvement is night and day. Transportation and location are tough but worth the drive. We find the ballet program to be very strong. The expectations are very high and if your child is not good with stress normally found at the higher grades, it may be a challenge. Great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

This is our 8th year at ASA. We have had one graduate, who received a scholarship and is doing very well at college. He felt over-prepared! I have been so pleased with the faculty and leadership at ASA. Some amazing teachers left a year ago, but other excellent ones have replaced them. Some of the music programs have had their ups and downs over the years, but the strings have been consistently excellent. The choirs are wonderful and the new band director is very good. All the staff members we have had contact with have been awesome, cooperative and communicative. If you have a child who is hard-working and motivated, this is an excellent place to be. Low achievers should probably find a different school, as should slower learners, who will find this school very frustrating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

I am an ASA alumni and am currently in my second year of college. ASA was a great school, but unfortunately has lost a lot of the qualities that made it so great over the past few years. The school still continues to offer opportunities that can be found no where else. ASA provides students with a good education both academically and artistcally, but has lost many of its key teachers and its greatest contributor and supporter; Dr. Mark Francis. The friends that I made at ASA are my closest friends and we continue to be friends! As for the academics, every skill I learned at ASA I have used! ASA is still a great school, but not what it once was.


Posted January 24, 2008

My daughter is excelling at this school. The expectations are consistently high throughout the academic program as well as the arts program. The kids are just fantastic. My daughter never complains about kids misbehaving. Not sure about the comments regarding cliques. Kids do form groups, as do adult, but I find the kids to be accepting and supporting of each other. The facility needs to be improved. I could see prospective families being turned off by the old buildings. I see the only lacking elements here as lack of technology and the facility. The academic teachers spend the whole afternoon talking about the kids and planning. You don't get that anywhere else! The education my daughter is getting her far surpasses what she was getting in her public middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 66%N/A49%
Male 34%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Leah Fregulia Roberts
Fax number
  • (602) 252-7795

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1410 N. 3rd St
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 257-1444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT