Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arizona School for the Arts

Charter | 5-12 | 750 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

102 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2006

My daughter has learned so much here. I'm very impressed by the yearly presentations and science curriculum. We also love that she can take ballet at school! Her teachers have always been very commented to ensuring she is actually learning the skills, not just turning in assignments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

ASA is the best school I've ever experienced. My son was floundering in a large, public high school. At ASA, he has become an accomplished musician and a much improved student. The quality of the teachers is outstanding and the small class/school size create an atmosphere that is conducive for learning and achievement. As a performing arts school, ASA is an especially great place for unconventional/artistic kids. It's a phenomenal school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

Outstanding number of extracurricular programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2005

Academic quality is excellent. Music, drama and dance are very advanced. Very high level of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

The truth is that you either love ASA or you don't. A majority of the students love ASA; I know I do. Many people have become stressed over homework, and they decide to leave, but almost 100 percent of them come back within a couple months. ASA is not involved in who is 'popular.' There are not cliques. Everyone knows eachother as in a big family. Also, the classes are small, so you get the attention you need. The teachers are willing to help at lunch, and they are the best teachers that you are going to get. The curiculum is amazing, and the arts teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2005

ASA is a public funded charter school with grades 6 to 12 but they do not serve the economically disadvantaged. They only serve the over achievers and superstars. This school is geared toward doctors' and lawyers' kids not inner city kids. They expect college level performance from grade school students. They have a sink or swim mentality that is not conducive to a good learning environment for all students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 16, 2005

If you want your child to become a self-directed learner, a confident person, and an independent thinker, as well as becoming exceptionally ready for college, this is the school they should be attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

This is a place where students are safe, where teachers are positive and where real, meaningful and enjoyable learning occurs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

ASA is a wonderful school full of open minded individuals who are highly mature.... this school is not only socially comfortable for students but academically comfortable for parents.... they may not have a sports program but their arts programs make up for it... parent involvement is highly encouraged here and welcomed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 11, 2005

Very high stress. Good peer group. Mostly great teachers. Just graduated from there in May. Got a lot, lost a lot (as far as stress). May or may not be worth it. 12 year-olds are dealing with several hours of homework a night and extreme pressure to live up to expectations. You can do it if you keep in mind that they just want you to do your best and the good teachers are pushing you for your own good, not because they expect something unattainable from you. Small classes and going through similar high-pressure times creates an amazing peer group. We're more like family than anything. Which of course means we fight, but whether or not we like each other, we love each other. I wouldn't change my decision to go there, but I couldn't go through it again either.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 10, 2005

It is a marvelous school! But alot of hard work. THere is alot of homework, but the benifit is great. We have been very pleased with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2004

Excellent college prep focus with an emphasis on performing arts. I have been very impressed with the guiding principles of the schools founder and faculty leaders. The success of the school's approach is evidenced by the high number of students who advance into college, many with scholarships. My children have thrived in this environment where the emphasis is on academics and performing arts, not athletics as in traditional public schools. A real gem in the Phoenix area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2004

This school is amazing! When I first came to this school I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly atmosphere, and genuine people.I love ASA!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 16, 2004

ASA has been a good experience but it is not for everyone. It is a good fit for my son who really enjoys music, but my other will not be attending due to a lack of sports (there are none). The teachers in Social Science and Language Arts have been inspiring for my son, while Science we feel was better in our public school. Also, foreign language is not taught until high school, but the students do have 3 arts classes each day, which will be perfect for some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

The best school for the creative - intelligent student. The students are supportive of each other, and enjoy celebrating each others achievements. The staff is caring, and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2004

ASA was a great school for my son. He went there in six and seven grades. We had to change schools, the kids in his classes were bullying him. Now my son hates school also playing the vioin. The kids make fun of him. They were very mean to him. He now goes to two Doctors for depression. He's on two medication's for depression. I try to get help about want the kids were doing, from the school, nothing was done. In the first month of school they say why don't you find a new school. They don't like to help handicap kids. I miss the happy and joy my son had for school,vioin,and other things he enjoy before ASA and the kids there bullying him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2004

I know the school has good academics, which is very important to me. However, there seem to be a lot of student, administrative and parent cliques. On the whole, my son's transfer to this school, from a montessori environment has not been successful. I am not sure how much of that is because of the montessori methods, and how much is because of the schools appparent inability to deal with diversity of thought and learning styles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2003

When trying to enroll my child for high school I found the administration to be pretentious and unaccommodating. There seemed to be an air of 'elitism.' I felt as if I was being told my child didn't belong here, that they were looking for only the 'perfect' student.


Posted April 28, 2003

Arizona School for the Arts provides an awesome well rounded education. While there are virtually no extracurricular activities, the classes themselves provide a greater level of arts exposure than would be provided through the same extracurricular activities in a public school. I would recommend this school to anyone wanting a strong college prep program.


Posted March 25, 2003

As a student who has left and is now returning, I'm proud to say that this school is wonderful. The small classes make it easier to taken in information, and the one on one teacher student relationships are what is lacking in other schools. The school is a community, not based on sports and other highly competitive activites but more on the knowledge that your peers are interested in the same arts and academia that you are.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 66%N/A49%
Male 34%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Leah Fregulia Roberts
Fax number
  • (602) 252-7795

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1410 N. 3rd St
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 257-1444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT