Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arrowhead Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

I currently have 5 students enrolled at Arrowhead Elementary - 2nd through 6th grade. We have been here for almost 5 years and have seen tremendous growth. The special needs program and the attention to our children's learning levels is above expectation. My children have opportunities for enrichment during school & after school at very minimal cost, which is wonderful with such a large family. In my lifetime, I have never experienced a school that actively seeks & appreciates so much parent involvement. The principal & teachers make special effort to recognize student achievement & student respect as well, during morning announcements & on classroom displays. They also make it clear that the mistreatment of others is not tolerated. Arrowhead is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2014

This school has been a fantastic for us. I enrolled my children in the middle of 2009 and I will tell you that it was very beneficial for both of them. They both have learned a lot. My oldest is now in 8th grade at the local middle school and doing so well. My youngest is in 6th grade and is special needs. After having him in one of the best school districts in town (2 different schools in that district) he has never excelled more than at Arrowhead. The special needs staff are amazing and his progression has been phenomenal! He has learned so much academically that he is top of his main stream classes which shows also how far he has come socially also as he started in the special needs classroom. The staff bent over backwards to help us challenge my son and help him grow but also to make sure that we as a family were taken care of. They have met all our needs and more and I feel confident that my special needs son and my daughter will excel in life due to the guidance and attention that we as a family received. The office staff are not always perfect but they try and you can tell when faced with much to do they do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

they pay more attention to the staff then they do the students..the staff is rude to the students seems like they are forced to work there..they are so rude the lunch staff an the office are the worse..they never smile they always look grumby..this school is very boring..instead of giving students awards they are giving eachother awards..they don't do enough for the students..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

Principal and teachers strive to bring high quality academics to all students. Individualized learning through multi-media approach is a great strength.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

this school is very disfunctional. the teachers seem very rude and lazy! the lunch staff is the worse ever! next year my kids will be going to a much a better school. i don't recomend this school one bit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2009

Once again this school has changed principals, also most of the teachers are great but most of the staff there are not, they always seem grumpy and just mean to the kids and also the parents. They do offer many after school programs for free or really cheap because it is a title 1 school. I am choosing to leave Arrowhead because of the staff members especially the new principal who started in 09-10 school year. It's sad that the staff members care so little about kids and their parents, when they should be showing us that education is their goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2007

I choose to take my children out of their neighborhood school and drive them to Arrowhead. The prinicipal and teachers are fantastic. The whole staff is very dedicated and hands on. My children both love their teachers, and I am impressed by the amount of technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

My students are in 4th and 6th grade, and I highly recommend Arrowhead Elementary. Ms. Silvestri is an extremely knowledgable and excellent principal, always available to both parent and students. The teachers are wonderful, and really seem to enjoy what they do. My children are very happy at Arrowhead!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

My grandchildren are in 5th and 6th grade. This is there first year here. Their teachers, Mrs Dittman and Miss Weber are just outstanding. To me they go above and beyond what I saw when my children were growing up. They really are great. Mrs. Silvestri, the principal, needs to be commended too. She is always there at all functions and really dedicated to her job. Great job to all of you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

My son has been in this school for 3 yrs and I have had the best teacher support I could ask for and a nice back up system with the principal. Thank you for them! Cindy Zucco
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

I really like the adult classes Arrowhead offers, such as Spanish and Computers. They often have parent meetings in the media center which I think is really good as well. It gives you a chance to find out what is going on at the school, and gives you a chance to find out what programs are offered. My daughter really enjoys the chess club once a week. I think it is nice that Arrowhead offers extracirrucular activities. I feel our principal really cares about the students and parents as well. The teachers my kids have this year are really great. They care how my childeren are doing academically. If there is a problem in the classroom, they find resolution. If they need extra help in any area, the teachers make sure they get it. The teachers and principal welcome parent involvement, which I really enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

I removed my kids from this school. It's a very disorganized school and the communication between school and parents is virtually nil. I do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

my children have attended arrowhead from k to present currently they are in grades 4 and 2 the principal is in her 2nd year there and is good at her job our last principal was just awesome and her retirement shocked us all but mrs silvestri fell in nicely. the staff is good but the teachers are why we stayed after my divorce. my kids are actually interested in math! and good at it too. overall school test scores are great i highly recommend our school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2005

My kids have attended Arrowhead for the past 4 years, and I have to say the teachers work very hard to make learning enjoyable for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

The teachers are terrific. The academics are good, but sometimes I felt my children were either too challenged or not challenged enough. Music, art, and P.E. are not available for the whole year; but should be. Parent involvement is encouraged, but low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2004

I think that Arrowhead has great afterschool programs. The homework and math clubs helped my child improve his study habits and understanding of math considerably.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

I had a great time growing up at Arrowhead. I think that the teachers were very dedicated and hard working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2004

A great school. Very respectful teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

In the 6 years my daughter attended Arrowhead Elementary on 38th St, the teachers have been very helpful in communicating with me. They encourage parent & teacher communication. The teachers communicate with parents regarding the level of learning your child is at and how to improve. The Principal is very involved and seems to know all the childrens names. The school offers Honors Reading & Math to those students with special needs that can't be met in the regular Reading & Math classes. They challenge the children to develop in their learning abilities. Only one teacher, in the 6 years she attended Arrowhead Elementary, did my daughter & I have difficulty with. I highly recommend Arrowhead Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2003

The teachers at Arrowhead are great, but the school is poorly managed. Since the school has so many different programs happening, it lacks focus. Things are often done at the last minute. One side often doesn't know what the other side is doing.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 43%
White 24% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3820 E Nisbet
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Benchmark School
Phoenix, AZ




Prospect School
Phoenix, AZ


Pvonline
Phoenix, AZ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT