Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benchmark School

Charter | K-6 & ungraded

We are best known for hands on sensorial curriculum.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

150 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2012

My son and daughter attended this school for over 5 years. They enjoyed it most of the time. Benchmark is very strong in math. It has given both my kids an excellent foundation in math and reading. They group kids based on ability which is good for the kids because it challenges them on their level. In the upper grades though, it seems to cause some social conflict, in that there seems to be a lot of comparisons going on about what group certain kids are in. I believe the prinicipals, while not super outgoing, have their hearts in the right place. They can be somewhat hard to communicate with at times. Overall, this is a great school and I would send my kids there again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

My son has been at this school for two years. He has learned nothing new from the first year he attended. The principals are very unresponsive. I'm a unsatisfied with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

This school is, bar none, the best possible elementary school you can find! I found this school when my daughter was struggling in her first grade class. The teacher was submitting nothing but "paper and pencil" assignments. We love Benchmark because it encourages creativity and uses several different teaching styles! Best of all, it levels the children off so each child is working at the level that is BEST for them! My son just finished their Pre-K program and I am astonished at the amount he has learned this year. "Mommy, that is not a diamond, that is called a rhombus" (he was 4 at the time) I love this school so much that when I graduated with my teaching degree, I immediatly applied at this school...unfortunately, (for me, not you) they have such a low turnover rate, that nothing was available! I will keep on trying! I will sing Benchmarks praises to anyone and everyone I meet. If you are looking for somewhere where your child will grow socially, emotionally, and most importantly, educationally, you have found it! There is a reason it has a rating of 10!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

My daughter and son go to this school. My daughter started in Kindergarden then left for another school in second grade to another "Excelling" school. The other school was nice and had 'hug' days but academically did not challenge my daughter the way she needed to be challenged. We came back to Benchmark for 3rd grade. She loves it there! The teachers believe in educating the kids and keeps the bar high because they know these kids can do the work and do it well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

As a TEACHER/PARENT of Benchmark I am dismayed by the comment about the teachers of Benchmark. I am currently certified to teach in two states and have a degree in psychology in addition to a teaching certificate. I also have a Master's degree in education. I also take classes, at my own expense and as required by the state. Your child s teacher is an important ally and useful resource when it comes to raising your child. Go for the we attitude instead of the me attitude and work with your child's teacher to help your child have a great school year.Obviously some parents (not all) at our school have the "me" attitude. I certainly don't have the 'me" attitude when I spend hundreds of hours each year planning interesting lessons to engage students when I could be spending it with my own children and family. I guess my hours of planning are a waste since the parents do all the work. To that parent: Spend less time gossiping in the parking lot and reflect more on yourself and your child. Concerned about turnover, think about it. Are you the reason some teachers leave? I know I think of career changes after dealing with some parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2011

Our daughters have spent the past 6 years at Benchmark, and this school is top notch in every way. The academic education they received at Benchmark has surpassed all our expectations. Our 3 girls are avid readers, math whizzes and well-versed in both historical and current events. The curriculum is challenging and interesting. We can't say enough positive things about the teachers and the administrators; they clearly love teaching and working with children. Our experience at Benchmark has been overwhelmingly positive, and our girls love learning. Sadly, we are relocating to another state and have left the school. We can only hope to find another school that will inspire and support our kids' love of learning as much as Benchmark has. A big "THANK YOU" for a quality education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

This is to address the review about all teachers not being certified. I know that when they are audited, they have to show that all teachers are certified. I know first hand that these private schools you pay an arm and a leg for do not staff all certified teachers. My 3 kids have/are going through this school. My oldest has moved on to middle school with 4 other Benchmark students. All five of them tested into advanced math and one tested 2 grade levels ahead. Also out of 150 students in English, 5 were recommended to follow the advanced track. 4 of the 5 were former Benchmark. If this does show what kind of product Benchmark produces, I don't know what does. The kids are well prepared and transition easily to a new school. As with any school, you may have a teacher you don't see eye to eye with or an issue with admin. No school is 100% perfect, but Benchmark comes pretty close. We've been more than thrilled with it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2010

The best way to know about your child's success at their elementary school, is after they move on to middle. Our kids have moved on and are thriving in all honors programs, with all A's. They have excellent social skills, they are better prepared than most of their classmates, and are on track for top honors in high school, AP programs and academic scholarships. Hopefully Benchmark's parents know how lucky they are. Thank you Benchmark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

Benchmark is flat out THE best public elementary school in Arizona. What the school leadership has built here is a hidden gem. The curriculum is top notch with Singapore Math leading the way and the reading\language arts has the emphasis on phonics over whole word nonsense. The science lab out shines every elementary school in the area but you cannot beat the 15 to 1 student to teacher ratio (STR). Students are ability grouped to make sure those that need help get it and those who excel are pushed. No child at either end of the ability spectrum is left behind. This setup makes Benchmark not only unique (no other public school comes close to this STR) but truly a superior choice for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Benchmark provides a balance of academics, life experiences and school comradery in an environment that children enjoy and excel in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

Charter schools and the teachers there make all the difference!


Posted May 8, 2010

Benchmark School is the best choice for a quality education, bar none!


Posted May 8, 2010

We have watched our grandson thrive since attending Benchmark. He loves to learn. The Teachers are wonderful!


Posted April 28, 2010

Wonderful teachers and administration. Small class sizes, amazing curriculum. I wouldn't send my children anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The level of committment to the student is fantastic. The school provides a superior learning enviroment for it's students


Posted April 26, 2010

I love Benchmark because I think the curriculum is stimulating (core knowledge) and because they break their reading, writing, and math groups into different levels. The advanced child receives a challenging/rewarding education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

We love this school! My children began their career at Benchmark as preschoolers. One graduated 6th last year and the other will graduate 6th this year from Benchmark. Every aspect is appreciated from the sense of a close school community, the principals, parent involvement and the curriculum. LOVE IT!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Only here for 6th grade, best decision we ever made!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Benchmark is a wonderful community with parents that help make the school even better. There are so many fun and creative ways for the children to learn. I am so happy my Son has been a student there for four years. Maybe by the time he is in high school they will offer those grades, hint hint!!!! I am just glad I don't have to drive a long distance like some. Whatever it takes for a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Benchmark is not only fantastic academically, but it is a wonderful community of families. There is an unbelievable amount of parent involvement. Our kids LOVE going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top Ten Charter School in Arizona, A+ Charter School
  • Odyssey of the Mind finalist

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Carole Challoner and Barbara Darroch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 765-1932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • All NYS sponsored sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved at benchmark through many committees involved with the benchmark parent teacher organization. they coordinate the cultural arts program which brings many visiting artists to school. parents are on campus daily as reading companions, library helpers, lunch time helpers, playground supervisors and art and music masterpiece presentors.
More from this school
  • *Preschool on site *Full day kindergarten *Music *Visual and performing arts *Physical education *Multicultural appreciation *Technology *Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 E. Acoma Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 765-3582

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT