Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benchmark School

Charter | K-6 & ungraded

We are best known for hands on sensorial curriculum.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

150 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2010

Great teachers and a healthy learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I absolutely love this school! The education and teachers are unbeatable.For us it is worth the drive to give our children a wonderful education. The school has so many wonderful activities they incorporate with the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

The Teachers are Awesome!! My kids enjoy going to school, and are learning so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

The teachers are passionate and knowledgeable, the administration is helpful, and the parents are involved. People work together to make this school a great place for kids to learn and success. My daughter not only learned a lot in academic also in the way she thinks about world and life. She is a thoughtful kid now and very happy every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Both my children go to Benchmark and it was worth the 2 year wait! They are learning so fast it's incredible! They don't like to be sick, because they don't want to miss a day of school. They teachers are awesome and encourage parent volunteers (I was a volunteer while I was unemployed) to participate. I never thought I would be helping my daughter do a science experiment while she was in Kindergarten. I love the fact that the teachers are always available to answer any questions I might have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

The leaders of this school value learning, inspiring inquisitiveness, and character building. PC is not on the menu. That's a good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I love Benchmark School for a million reasons! They have the best administration, staff, and students in the world. There's always something fun happening at Benchmark School!


Posted April 23, 2010

Where do I start. This is my second child going through the Benchmark curriculum and despite dramatically different learning levels, they both prosper. I really believe this is inherent to their model. Each grade has 2 classrooms and 4 FT teachers- and then based on learning levels they break out into four learning groups with coherent transfer of students from one group to the next as they progress in a particular content area. Gone is the bell curve where teachers are forced to teach to the middle performers. This allows real education to occur for the masses, for the gifted and for those that are struggling. Smart, Smart. Although they do not have a formal gifted program, I can say with confidence that my youngest who is lucky enough to be quite gifted has received all the needed attention to remain engaged, focused and loving the education process. Surprisingly for a Charter they have ample extra curricular programs to meet most any interest. People always ask, why a charter? My answer is simple- its not the path of least resistance. Charter parents are going that extra mile for their kids with the small things that add up, packing lunches, dropping off and picking up their children daily, arranging play dates because school mates are not necessarily in the neighborhood. I like the idea of my child connecting with children whose parents are willing to go that extra mile. The campus is impeccable, the administration organized, the teachers committed, the parents going the extra mile, I think all of these things together make for a excellent educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Great teachers and good results in kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

The administration and teachers have no problem showing the students that Learning is FUN!


Posted April 23, 2010

We left an excelling public school because we knew Benchmark was a school that would impact our children's education more than any other school. We are so thrilled that we did- our kids have benefited so much from the teachers and the engaging ways they look outside the box each day!!! We as well as our children have made lifetime memories and friends here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

The dedication of the teachers and administration give each child an atmosphere in which to learn and prosper.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Very good hand-on education activities (on-site science lab, science fairs, student projects, etc.), active advanced math and academic programs, great teachers with 2 teachers per classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Benchmark helped build a strong foundation for my children. Both of my children graduated from Benchmark exceeding state standards by a long shot. They provided an awesome well-rounded education, a safe environment and taught them about cultural diversity and the arts. They also helped them build self confidence and did a great job in preparing them for the future. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

It is great academically and artistically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

We have been at Benchmark since 2006 and have been so happy with our experience that we stayed for elementary school and tell everyone about the wonderful teachers, great diversity, arts, Core Knowledge curriculum, etc. through and through. A few years ago they erected a hands-on science lab for kids to truly learn about the life cycle. I wouldn't have my children in any other school setting. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I see happy faces when I am there and I see scholastic achievement in my grandchildren.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Benchmark Charter School rocks! Great teacher teams with small class sizes utilizing Singapore Math, Core Knowledge, Earth Science, AR reading program and so much more. Pulling it all together in a meaningful and impactful way for the kids to use and retain. The 'Extras' (as the kids call them) include art, music, PE, foreign language classes, and several outdoor learning environments. Benchmark offers both before and after care and has multiple clubs and sports teams as well as Boy and Girl Scouts. The parents are very involved and the kids benefit from all of it. My children are engaged and look forward to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We love Benchmark! We feel so lucky and blessed for our son to be able to go there. The hands on learning makes it so much fun. The teachers go out of their way to challenge the kids at their own level. The only thing that could make it better than it already is would be for it to add middle and possibly high school. Benchmark is hands down the best with so much to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Now that my child has graduated from Benchmark and moved on to middle school, I appreciate Benchmark even more. My child said it best herself: 'At Benchmark, when you didn't understand something, the teacher helped you until you did.' I know my child would not be the academic success she is now without the care and attention she recieved during her years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top Ten Charter School in Arizona, A+ Charter School
  • Odyssey of the Mind finalist

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Carole Challoner and Barbara Darroch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 765-1932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • All NYS sponsored sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved at benchmark through many committees involved with the benchmark parent teacher organization. they coordinate the cultural arts program which brings many visiting artists to school. parents are on campus daily as reading companions, library helpers, lunch time helpers, playground supervisors and art and music masterpiece presentors.
More from this school
  • *Preschool on site *Full day kindergarten *Music *Visual and performing arts *Physical education *Multicultural appreciation *Technology *Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 E. Acoma Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 765-3582

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT