Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benchmark School

Charter | K-6 & ungraded

We are best known for hands on sensorial curriculum.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

150 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2010

We have commuted 40 minutes to and from Benchmark for the past 5 years. Benchmark is a wonderful school and the teachers are excellent. Way to go Benchmark!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I am a teacher trainer and former mentor and coach of classroom teachers. I have been in hundreds of classrooms to observe and assist teachers with improving their craft. I have taught at the college level as well as in the elementary school, studying brain research, and writing and implementing integrated thematic instruction. Therefore, I am aware of not only what makes sense in the education of students, but also what works best for a happy, creative child like my daughter, Hannah. I chose Benchmark because it reflects best practices methodology, both in curricular focus and in meeting the needs of all students - whatever their temperament. Great staff, great administration, fabulous parent involvement, and precious kids make Benchmark the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Benchmark has excellent administration and staff. Everyone really knows what they are doing in education and really care about helping each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

The teachers are wonderful and the staff really cares. They go above and beyond to help children learn and grow. The cirriculum is wonderful. Benchmark truly is a very strong close knit community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My son had a most amazing year at Benchmark last year. He absolutely loved his teachers and all of the activities he did while in school. The teachers really cared and they understood the kids as individuals and adjusted to meet their needs. We unfortunately needed to switch from Benchmark this school year to a school closer to our house. My son always tells me that he wants to go back to Benchmark & if we even say the name 'Benchmark' he gets all excited and happy. I loved the field trips, science lab, the garden, and the special activities and events that were happening all the time. The student-to-teacher ratio was great! In the higher grades the Singapore Math & Core Knowledge curriculum really enhances the education. The school is large enough to have a nice facility, but small enough to still feel like a family. I recommend Benchmark to everyone I talk to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

A solid education, talented and caring teachers, a nice new campus with excellent facilities, a healthy community, lots of great activities and events, etc. We could go on and on - Singapore Math, Core Knowledge curriculum, lots of creative opportunities - it is such a well-balanced, yet fun place to be. Benchmark divides their grades into 4 levels of reading, math, etc. (gifted programs too) - small classes that help the kids learn best and progress upward. We have really enjoyed Benchmark and are thankful for our time there; it's just a very wonderful and comfortable place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Benchmark teachers are amazing. Parent involvement is welcomed and supported.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Benchmark is a wonderful school with fabulous teachers and a great community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We believe in Benchmark, it has been a great school for both my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I don't know of any other school with a dedicated art studio, with a kiln, and a dedicated science lab for this age group. Everyone is professional, receptive and interested in educating our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Great approach to learning. Wonderful family environment. Campus is beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We absolutely love everything about Benchmark!! The teachers truly enjoy teaching, the principals and staff are hands on and fabulous, and the parent involvement is phenomenal. The teacher/student ratio (1:15) enables every child the opportunity to be taught at their skill level. Benchmark is an amazing school and we are very fortunate to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We are very pleased with this school, the teachers, faculty/staff, and the other parents. I love the parent involvement and the opportunity to participate in my child's day. The teacher/child ratio is great and I love how the children break out into groups based on their skill levels. My son is challenged at the level he is ready for and not grouped into learning at a level that may not be right for him. We are amazed at what he learns every day and are happy to be part of Benchmark!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Benchmark teaches a wide variety of subject matter that keeps the students learning and having fun. Benchmark also keeps the parents highly involved through student programs, volunteerism, and frequent fun events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We truly enjoyed Benchmark School, which my son attended for 7 years. The school prepares the whole child in every aspect, and enriches them with a creative learning process. The school is very community friendly and encourages parent involvement. Benchmark not only educates but encourages them and helps develope a confident young person. The teachers and princlpals make a caring and creative enviroment for childrens learning. It is truly a remarkable school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I grew up overseas and had many concerns about the quality of the public education in the US in general. My first kid attended an 'Excelling' public school in one of the best districts in Phoenix, but she came home saying how boring and how long the day was. She was not challenged at all. I was fortunate to be able to transfer her to Benchmark starting in 3rd grade, and enrolled my second kid in preschool. What a difference! We love everthing about the school, from the academics to the parent involvement. My husband and I are both engineers and we are happy with the strong focus on Math and Science in the school. But what really makes a difference, is that the teachers really care and understand the developmental levels of each student, and they know how to make learning fun for the kids. The school is very hands on on their approach to learning. My kids are the ones in a hurry to get to school in the morning, looking forward to the activities they have for the day. My kids love going to Benchmark, and they are constantly challenge to do their best. If you have high standards when it comes to education, Benchmark does not dissapoint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My kids love it here! The teachers are the best! The core knowledge curriculum appeals to all children. No one feels left out. The teachers all love what they do, and it shows. Thanks Benchmark
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

We have been at Benchmark for 4 years and we love it! As a parent and former teacher, I feel that our boys are getting a well rounded education that will prepare them for junior high and high school! Involved parents + wonderful teachers + strong adminstration = happy confident children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Teachers and administration focused on teaching and leaning without all of the public school nonsense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

This school has a fantastic science lab, full of great (live) animals for the kids to observe and learn about. And so much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top Ten Charter School in Arizona, A+ Charter School
  • Odyssey of the Mind finalist

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Carole Challoner and Barbara Darroch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 765-1932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • All NYS sponsored sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved at benchmark through many committees involved with the benchmark parent teacher organization. they coordinate the cultural arts program which brings many visiting artists to school. parents are on campus daily as reading companions, library helpers, lunch time helpers, playground supervisors and art and music masterpiece presentors.
More from this school
  • *Preschool on site *Full day kindergarten *Music *Visual and performing arts *Physical education *Multicultural appreciation *Technology *Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 E. Acoma Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 765-3582

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT