Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benchmark School

Charter | K-6 & ungraded

We are best known for hands on sensorial curriculum.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

152 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 22, 2010

Teachers and administration focused on teaching and leaning without all of the public school nonsense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

This school has a fantastic science lab, full of great (live) animals for the kids to observe and learn about. And so much more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Our daughter entered Kindergarten at Benchmark this year. She has a very late birthday and I was worried about her getting 'lost in the crowd' in a public school. The children are taught their subjects in a 1:15 teacher/child ratio...and are put into four different groups based on skill level. Therefore, every child is taught on their 'growing edge' and no one falls through the cracks. I can't say enough about the amazing staff and fabulous principals at this school. We feel very lucky to be a part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Great School! We love everything about it!. Its a wonderful feeling to have your child come home everyday from school and when you ask how was your day, sweetie? The response is always...Awesome, Dad and she goes on about all the things they did in schooll. The teachers are caring, they really individualize the teaching, parent involvement is great as well. I couldn't be happier over my choice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Benchmark is a progressive school that does a fantastic job preparing kids for moving on to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Our three grand girls have attended Benchmark for two years and the results have been fantastic academically as well as socially. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I have three children at Benchmark and have only been there for two years, but our choice to move our kids to this school was one of the best decisions we've ever made. The Core Knowledge curriculum and Singapore Math are unbeatable! The faculty and staff take an interest in each child as an individual and the level of instruction is amazing! High academics with lots of hands-on applications make learning fun and exciting! Benchmark is a remarkable place for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Principals with high standards. Amazing, dedicated teachers who obviously love what they do. My daughter comes home from school so excited about her class subjects and activities. As a parent, we send our children to school to learn. At Benchmark, they also instill a love for learning. Wish they were a K-12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

great teachers who really care about the kids and make learning fun!!!!


Posted April 22, 2010

The staff is wonderful and the facilities are amazing. In addition, parents volunteer at all times and are welcomed with open arms---they have nothing to hide! And on top of that---you should see the number of fathers who are there to assist in the learning process for all of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

My oldest will be attending Kindergarten in the fall. We currently attend preschool and are very impressed with the parent involvement and education he has received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

They care for the Kids and I want the best for my Nephews and Niece
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

This is a school that takes a personal approach to every student. The Principals know these kids, know what is going on in their lives, and go over and above whenever there is a need. The teaching staff believes in meeting each child wherever they are on the learning curve, and continually seek out ways to help them understand, with the belief that every child can learn, not on the same day, and not in the same way. A++ does not begin to show the merits this school deserves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

The science lab rocks. Kids love all the creatures big and small there. What a great way to engage kids!


Posted April 22, 2010

Benchmark is like a small community. I love the student to teacher ratio. I love the friendships my kids have made over the last few years. I love the science and art building.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

I spent a lot of time looking for a great school to send my daughter and Benchmark has been wonderful for her. The teachers are wonderful and the curriculum is creative, challenging and really helps her learn in many ways. The science lab is awesome! Parent involvement is pretty much expected but that is OK for us since we believe that it is important to show our daughter that school is important. Communication by teachers is good but communication by the school is marginal. The school also has a lot of rules - luckily the teachers are flexible in using common sense. Net, it is not all perfect but Benchmark is excellent at the things that are truly important to her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

We have been at Benchmark school for six years. At the end of each year, I reflect on how much our children have grown both academically and socially. The teachers are responsive , involved, and approachable. The curriculum is hands-on, fun, and fosters a love of learning in our children. Not only do they receive wonderful classroom experiences, but they feel part of a larger community. The parents, teachers, and administration collaborate to create wonderful events that bring the families together. We are very happy with our childrens' experiences at this school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

My children attended Benchmark for two years. We were happy with the first year, but into the second year and third year, we began to have serious concerns. Problems with teacher turnover and communication with teachers and school staff was poor. The administration is very defensive, combative, and does not deal well with simple problems. This school suffers from poor administration, low cademic standards, and too concern about their image and less about the children they teach. Every morning it was very hard to get our children to school because they are not happy at the school and does not enjoy their teacher's company - which is very sad. Teachers are to inspire not discourage children from school/education. Its a shame because our children are our next future. We are now in a much better school (public) and my children love it! Thank goodness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2008

The nice thing about schools is people have a choice where they take their children. Our choice has been Benchmark Elementary since our children were in Kindergarten. Now they are in 4th and 6th grade, and are testing two years ahead of the National average. I have watched their progress very closely over the years and am so thankful that my wife and I chose this school. The schools' Principals and Teachers care greatly for the children of this school and work tirelessly to give them the best education and learning environment possible. We are so thankful to them for 7 years of nothing but excellence! Thank you Benchmark!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2008

My son alsolutely loves this school! He has wonderful relationships with the teachers and I can tell they really care about him as a person. I was most impressed by the administration caring about each child who walks in the door. They take the time to get to know each child and I truly believe they want what is best for the children at their school. The teachers and adminsitrators have been nothing but kind, supportive and helpful. My son and I couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top Ten Charter School in Arizona, A+ Charter School
  • Odyssey of the Mind finalist

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Carole Challoner and Barbara Darroch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 765-1932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • All NYS sponsored sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved at benchmark through many committees involved with the benchmark parent teacher organization. they coordinate the cultural arts program which brings many visiting artists to school. parents are on campus daily as reading companions, library helpers, lunch time helpers, playground supervisors and art and music masterpiece presentors.
More from this school
  • *Preschool on site *Full day kindergarten *Music *Visual and performing arts *Physical education *Multicultural appreciation *Technology *Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 E. Acoma Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 765-3582

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT