Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benchmark School

Charter | K-6 & ungraded

We are best known for hands on sensorial curriculum.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

150 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2007

Much better than the local elementary school, kid is happy, what more could a parent want?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

Our family is also surprised by the recent poor reviews. My children have been there for five years with amazing success. The curriculum has been extra challenging at times and the advanced math program in the upper grades is phenomenal. I've seen the teachers dress-up as colonists and have been involved in the Art Masterpiece program. The kids create so many hands-on projects, it's hard for a parent to know what to do with them. My guess is that the 'unexpected turnover in staff' noted by a reviewer was truly unexpected by the management, who always seem to have the best needs of the students at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

I'm shocked to read the recent reviews of Benchmark. My children have attended this school for six years and love going to school every day. We have found the teachers to be intelligent, caring, and interested in stimulating our children's minds with excellently prepared hands-on lessons. I completely disagree with the assertion that math and science are the only important subjects at this school. Teachers dress up and act out parts of famous people in history. The Art Masterpiece program at the school is incredible. Most amazingly, every month the Cultural Committee sponsors dancers, poets, musicians, and other professionals to come to the school and perform for the students. My children are receiving the best education in the Valley, and we'll be sorry when they have to graduate and move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

Benchmark is everything I hoped it would be. Every grade has accelerated classes, the parental involvement is none that I have ever seen. The events offered are none that I have seen in any public school. In first grade they are already doing division, multiplication and fractions. Unheard of in public schools. I could not be happier. This is my first year at Benchmark and I would recommend it to anyone over public schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

Benchmark is a fantastic school! My son, a 4th grader has been attending since kindergarten and he (and I) could not be happier. They really focus on the children's education because they truly care, not because they 'have to'. Parent involvement is always front and center. Since they have opened, the school has consistently year by year made tremendous growth in providing the children more and more opportunities. I cannot imagine my son at any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

Benchmark is the best elementary school education I have seen in Maricopa County. Between the Core Knowledge curriculum and Singapore Math, they cover all the bases. My children have learned a lot, and love school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

We have just completed our 4th year at Benchmark. The quality of education is wonderful. The teachers are the best! My children are excited about learning. What more could you ask for? There is great parent involvement, and lots of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

We have been at Benchmark several years. My sons attended preschool and are now in elementary. The core knowledge curriculum with many hands-on science and social studies activities is a highlight of the experience. The Singapore math program has been challenging and a great experience for my son who is gifted in math. He reports that his competitive math teacher is in his 'teacher hall of fame'. Unfortunately, teacher ability and experience do vary, as charter schools often have a fair amount of turnover in teaching staff. We have also had some difficulty in communication and consistency with getting one of my son's special education needs met. Parents are very involved and the principles respond appropriately to feedback. Overall, I think that it has been a good choice for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

My three children are receiving an execellent education at Benchmark and the personal attention they get from teachers regarding there development is outstanding. This is a top quality academic instution with not only a strong math and reading program, but also an effective arts and cultures program. There are plenty of atheletic opportunities provided by the school through NYS sports, however this is the weakest development program at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

Awesome school, excellent teachers, outstanding reading and math programs, safe, fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

Benchmark is a great school. I am so happy to have my child in that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2005

Benchmark is a great school. They are working very hard to work with my child because she has an ld
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2005

We are entering our 2nd year here. Teachers are very caring, altho there's been a lot of recent turnover. Music needs a little improvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

This is our son's third year at Benchmark and we're very happy. The owners are very dedicated, there is a tremendous amount of parent involvement in all areas. The Singapore math is great. Our second grader is excited about math and reading. We were concerned about the change in principal this year, but the new principals are doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

We have been in the preschool for 1 year and find the teacher quality to be excellent - there was some movement in the Pre K this year with some new teachers and the quality is not that of the preschool teachers. This is still an excellent school because of their ethics, values as far as how they treat their students and how they expect their students to treat each other, and for their approach to academics. Their 1st priority is to teach the children a love of learning that they hope will last a lifetime. Parent involvement is very high at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

The academic programs have consistantly placed the school in the 90%category or above by most standardized tests. The school atmosphere is family-like and safe. It is a place where children are respected and appreciated for the blessings that they are. This is reflected by the academic and social growth accomplishments of the children. The teachers appear to enthusiastically go beyond what is expected of them to further the children's growth. The administrators are very skilled and beyond. The parent participation abounds. The school is modern, clean and appears to meet every need for learning. Communication between the parents, children and school personnel is excellent. Opportuinites for the childrens'exposure,exploration and experience go beyond any other school that I have ever witnessed. We have been blessed to have discovered Benchmark and have the experience of this excellent school that is setting a grand social and scholastic foundation for our precious child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2005

My daughter went to a private Montessori school from the age of 2 1/2 until 2nd grade. I started researching different schools when she was in kindergarten and decided Benchmark was the best choice. My daughter will be in 5th grade this year (her 3rd year at Benchmark) and I could not be happier. The teachers are wonderful, the Singapore math program is amazing, there is a very high level of parent involvement and the teacher/student ratio is great. I only wish Benchmark would add 7th and 8th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2005

Check the test scores and come look at the campus. This school is far better, from both an academic and an extracurricular activity standpoint, than any other school we've seen. Our sons are happy and love to go to school. They especially love the math program and the chess club at Benchmark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

My daughter has been attending since the 3rd grade and we love it. From its closed campus to after-school activities and active PTA there's always something going on. Academically it can't be touched. I only wish they offered Middle & High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2005

Great school. Two teacher per class is very rare in Phoenix. Secured campus and easy pick up and drop off. Singapore math taught here is terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top Ten Charter School in Arizona, A+ Charter School
  • Odyssey of the Mind finalist

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Carole Challoner and Barbara Darroch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 765-1932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • All NYS sponsored sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved at benchmark through many committees involved with the benchmark parent teacher organization. they coordinate the cultural arts program which brings many visiting artists to school. parents are on campus daily as reading companions, library helpers, lunch time helpers, playground supervisors and art and music masterpiece presentors.
More from this school
  • *Preschool on site *Full day kindergarten *Music *Visual and performing arts *Physical education *Multicultural appreciation *Technology *Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 E. Acoma Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 765-3582

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT