Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benchmark School

Charter | PK-6 & ungraded | 420 students

We are known for providing a hands on sensorial curriculum.

 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 19 ratings
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

160 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2007

Both of my daughters have excelled at Benchmark. The teachers are incredible. Any parent wanting to learn more about a school will (or should) look at the tangibles like test scores, ratios and curriculum. Benchmark has the best of each category...hands down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

I am shocked at the negative reviews that I just read. I had very high expectations when my child started at Benchmark School and they have exceeded all of them! My daughter was reading chapter books in Kindergarten and was doing multiplication and division in first grade. She loves school and is excited to go back in the fall for second grade. The nice thing about Benchmark is that if you don't like it you can leave...there are lots of people on waiting lists that would be happy to take your spot! The teachers and administration are outstanding. I look forward to finding out what my kids will be learning next year! Thank you for your commitment to providing a world class education to our kids! You are very appreciated by me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2007

This school has been a wonderful experience for my child and she has flourished academically in ways she would never have in any other environment. The adminisration, however, is deploable and socially inept. Thank goodness they no longer are in the classroom so that the high quality staff they have had the sense to hire and the curriculum that has been implemented can enable the school to excel as it has. A school is only as strong as the top down and evenually the administrations' strong weaknesses will lead to this schools destruction.If they could accept reasonable and sincere feedback from parents and provide an atmosphere where parents and school work together, there might be hope, but I do not see the two directors 'allowing' this to happen.If your child is gifted and you require little or no contact with the front office,Benchmark is your school without a doubt!If not run!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

The education at Benchmark is superior to any other school I have seen.My daughters have excelled, due to the excellent cirriculum. They loved attending school and have grown in class and after school activities. The staff and administration are kind, caring people who put the children first. I am thrilled that my girls attend Benchmark School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

The Benchmark Administration explains clearly to touring parents the commitment to the educational process that they expect of their students, parents and staff. If we as parents did not have the same expectations for our child then we would need to consider making another educational choice. Benchmark has fulfilled all our expectations. The staff and administration are always available if ever we have a question or concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

I slept outdoors in front of Benchmark School two years ago to get my children into this fine school. Excellent curriculum, energetic teachers, and involved parents to our family this sums up Benchmark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

We had another successful year! (our 6th year)What an amazing place that my children love! The academics;reading,math,social studies, & science, are so far superior than my local school district. Our family could not imagine attending any other place! It is our educational paradise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

We moved our son to Benchmark this year from one of the supposed 'best' public school districts in the valley. This was his very best school year ever. He was able to reach new highs in academics because of the way that the classes break down and we are so grateful that he has had this opportunity. I only wish I had been able to have both of my children in this school from Kindergarten on, it is such an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

Teachers at Benchmark educate students successfully year after year. Ability grouping beginning in kindergarten allows children to learn at their own rate. I believe that Benchmark is one of the only schools in Arizona to use the Singapore Math curriculum, which is the top rated curriculum in the world. My son loves Math now, and loves going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

it's been a great all around educational experience for my kids this year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Much better than the local elementary school, kid is happy, what more could a parent want?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

Our family is also surprised by the recent poor reviews. My children have been there for five years with amazing success. The curriculum has been extra challenging at times and the advanced math program in the upper grades is phenomenal. I've seen the teachers dress-up as colonists and have been involved in the Art Masterpiece program. The kids create so many hands-on projects, it's hard for a parent to know what to do with them. My guess is that the 'unexpected turnover in staff' noted by a reviewer was truly unexpected by the management, who always seem to have the best needs of the students at heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2007

I'm shocked to read the recent reviews of Benchmark. My children have attended this school for six years and love going to school every day. We have found the teachers to be intelligent, caring, and interested in stimulating our children's minds with excellently prepared hands-on lessons. I completely disagree with the assertion that math and science are the only important subjects at this school. Teachers dress up and act out parts of famous people in history. The Art Masterpiece program at the school is incredible. Most amazingly, every month the Cultural Committee sponsors dancers, poets, musicians, and other professionals to come to the school and perform for the students. My children are receiving the best education in the Valley, and we'll be sorry when they have to graduate and move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2007

Benchmark is everything I hoped it would be. Every grade has accelerated classes, the parental involvement is none that I have ever seen. The events offered are none that I have seen in any public school. In first grade they are already doing division, multiplication and fractions. Unheard of in public schools. I could not be happier. This is my first year at Benchmark and I would recommend it to anyone over public schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2007

Benchmark is a fantastic school! My son, a 4th grader has been attending since kindergarten and he (and I) could not be happier. They really focus on the children's education because they truly care, not because they 'have to'. Parent involvement is always front and center. Since they have opened, the school has consistently year by year made tremendous growth in providing the children more and more opportunities. I cannot imagine my son at any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

Benchmark is the best elementary school education I have seen in Maricopa County. Between the Core Knowledge curriculum and Singapore Math, they cover all the bases. My children have learned a lot, and love school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

We have just completed our 4th year at Benchmark. The quality of education is wonderful. The teachers are the best! My children are excited about learning. What more could you ask for? There is great parent involvement, and lots of extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

We have been at Benchmark several years. My sons attended preschool and are now in elementary. The core knowledge curriculum with many hands-on science and social studies activities is a highlight of the experience. The Singapore math program has been challenging and a great experience for my son who is gifted in math. He reports that his competitive math teacher is in his 'teacher hall of fame'. Unfortunately, teacher ability and experience do vary, as charter schools often have a fair amount of turnover in teaching staff. We have also had some difficulty in communication and consistency with getting one of my son's special education needs met. Parents are very involved and the principles respond appropriately to feedback. Overall, I think that it has been a good choice for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

My three children are receiving an execellent education at Benchmark and the personal attention they get from teachers regarding there development is outstanding. This is a top quality academic instution with not only a strong math and reading program, but also an effective arts and cultures program. There are plenty of atheletic opportunities provided by the school through NYS sports, however this is the weakest development program at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2006

Awesome school, excellent teachers, outstanding reading and math programs, safe, fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 3%
Hispanic 7% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Japanese
German
French
Arabic languages
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top Ten Charter School in Arizona, A+ Charter School
  • Odyssey of the Mind finalist

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Carole Challoner and Barbara Darroch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • bobbie@benchmarkschool.net
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 765-1932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • NYS Sponsored Sports
Girls sports
  • NYS Sponsored Sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • We have an open door policy
More from this school
  • *Preschool on site *Full day kindergarten *Music *Visual and performing arts *Physical education *Multicultural appreciation *Technology *Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
100
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
550

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Basis
Desert Shadows
Sunrise
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 E. Acoma Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 765-3582

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT