Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benchmark School

Charter | K-6 | 420 students

We are best known for hands on sensorial curriculum.

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $98,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 15 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

146 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

Prior to having children I knew Benchmark School would be my first choice. Now as a Mother of 3 (2 of which are school aged) I have no doubt in my mind I made the right decision for my family. We have been with Benchmark for 5 years now and love it! The school is amazing in every aspect. Parent involvement is very high and the students benefit greatly from that. We are blessed to have two teachers is every class from Preschool through Elementary. Any negative reviews always come from those pushy, overbearing, and argumentative parents, which unfortunately every school has. My kids tell me all the time their school is the best and that makes me happy as a parent. I don't look forward to the day my kids will no longer be in elementary school, unless the school adds 7th and 8th grade. hint, hint.. THANK YOU BENCHMARK FOR BEING SO WONDERFUL!!! --- PROUD PARENT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2013

Benchmark School - PHX, AZ To the parent, who I suspect posted both the 10/8 & 10/10 reviews, I would like to ask why, when you feel as you do, would you keep your children in Benchmark? If my assessment was as vociferously negative as yours, I would enroll my children in another school. What is in the best interest of my children will always trump what is convenient for me including driving a greater distance to another school. Sometimes parents don t like to hear that their child may have an issue or problem, and become defensive, attacking the messenger, instead of working in concert with one of the wonderful Benchmark principals & teachers who take great personal interest in the well-being of children placed in their care, under their supervision. As the Aunt of a Benchmark student, I know that there is a long list of parents waiting hopefully for spots to open so they can transfer their children to Benchmark. We were overjoyed when our little girl was accepted. The fact that you voluntarily chose to keep your children in Benchmark speaks much louder than your vindictive diatribes. Stop the venom. Shame on you. Support the school like every parent I know or move on.


Posted October 10, 2013

I would have to agree with the poster that wrote about this issues with the management, the principals in particular. If you spent 5 minutes in the office waiting for your child you know who it is. Having a child that spent 6 years there, if you have an issue with a teacher, you might as well be talking to a brick wall. While 1 star may be harsh when evaluating the education, overall it is within the spirit of the "unsatisfactory" rating because of how incredibly condescending they (she) is when discussing your child's issue or problem. Unfortunately the tone in the front office and makes this place very unwelcoming, unfair in how kids are discipline, with kids of parents they like getting favors and leniency and those that they disagree with not. Do yourself, and your child, a favor and go with one of the recently opened charters such as great heats, basis and other and leave the mind games to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

As a parent of 3 children that have gone to this school, you will realize one day that the mind games and poor administration of the principals, one in particular, are not worth the anxiety and stress you will go through. There are so many charter school options now for elementary school now, much better than Benchmark, that you will rue the day you sent your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

This school is amazing. Both of my children are happy and learning at their fullest potential. As far as other children leaving for other charter schools, most that we know have all since returned. The teachers are dedicated and have the ability to be creative with their instruction. We highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Benchmark is a dream come true for parents and students alike. Every teacher is wonderful in my 4 year experience at the school. Each year I think it can't get better than the current year and somehow it does! In my experience, the only disgruntled parents are the ones with struggling students. They move on to other schools looking for something better and then wish they could come back. The wait list continues to grow every year with very good reason, getting in is like winning the lottery. I volunteer often and am always impressed with the wonderfully behaved students. Kids don't need 3+ hours of homework in elementary school, too many parents are confusing busy work for quality education. I only hope Benchmark can get a junior high and high school developed in time for my 3rd grader to not have to switch schools, it would be a shame to break up their wonderful group. Other schools are thrilled to get Benchmark students due to their advanced skills, so no hurry to switch here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

Many families have decided that they don't need to tolerate the administrative issues with the principal now that there are new charter choices. There has been a real brain drain with a lot of higher performing students leaving. To remain competitive, the school needs to realize changes need to be made in the office and also recruit a higher level of teachers particularly in math and science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

Benchmark School provides an environment where any family will feel at home. There are 2 teachers in every class so no child falls behind. All of the teachers are top notch or they will not be allowed to continue to teach there. The principals truly care for each child as if it were their own and are always available to talk at a moments request. The front desk greets you with a smile and can help with any questions or point you in the right direction of someone who can. This school is very unique in that we feel like one large family. It is worth every moment you might stand in line to enroll your child. I have read the negative comments and can honestly say they are just not true. When my children continue on to another school after sixth grade I feel they will be ready to exceed any expectations their future school might have from a child entering at their grade level. I feel truly lucky that we are able to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Where else can you get a 15:1 student to teacher ratio, without paying private school prices? Not many, I know because I have looked. The supportive and involved parent community at this school allows us to shelter our children from some of the negative experiences I hear about in public school. I love this school and so do my kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

KYRENE DE LOS CERRITOS I have 2 kiddos in this school 1st & 3rd grade, principal and teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

This is our 6th year at Benchmark. Having been an elementary school teacher, I had very high expectations for what I was looking for in a school. Benchmark has hit all of those expectations. Two of my children have moved on to middle-school and they left Benchmark fully prepared with a love of learning. I can not say enough about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

I have two children at this school and the teachers are amazing! I could not be more pleased with the academics! The school also does an amazing job enriching and engaging the kids. I moved my kids from public school and it was the best thing I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I have two children at this school and the teachers are amazing. We left our public school due to class size and a deficient science and math ciriculum. As a parent I am so very pleased with the level of instruction at this school. The creativity and the varied tools of instruction that the teachers use make learning fun and memorable. Both of my children are exelling academically and are very happy at Benchmark.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I have a 2nd grader and a pre-k student this year. Our kids receive amazing individual attention as each class has 2 full time teachers. My oldest falls probably in the middle of his class academically, and i feel certain that he would be left behind at a traditional public school. It's a small community that has many wonderful traditions. It continues to be an academic success thanks to the amazing teaching staff and an administration that understands what it takes to be Great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2013

Don't send your children here - the school is lacking in many things from many different aspects!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

My son just finished kindergarten at Benchmark and looks forward to returning for first grade. The teachers and staff are amazing, parents are all involved, and facilities feel safe and welcoming. I am thrilled with this school and always recommend it to others. Space is limited, which is nice because faculty has more flexibility with addressing a child s individual needs. Everyone working with Benchmark truly has the children s' best interests at heart in all that they do and I greatly appreciate that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

My son and daughter attended this school for over 5 years. They enjoyed it most of the time. Benchmark is very strong in math. It has given both my kids an excellent foundation in math and reading. They group kids based on ability which is good for the kids because it challenges them on their level. In the upper grades though, it seems to cause some social conflict, in that there seems to be a lot of comparisons going on about what group certain kids are in. I believe the prinicipals, while not super outgoing, have their hearts in the right place. They can be somewhat hard to communicate with at times. Overall, this is a great school and I would send my kids there again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

My son has been at this school for two years. He has learned nothing new from the first year he attended. The principals are very unresponsive. I'm a unsatisfied with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2012

This school is, bar none, the best possible elementary school you can find! I found this school when my daughter was struggling in her first grade class. The teacher was submitting nothing but "paper and pencil" assignments. We love Benchmark because it encourages creativity and uses several different teaching styles! Best of all, it levels the children off so each child is working at the level that is BEST for them! My son just finished their Pre-K program and I am astonished at the amount he has learned this year. "Mommy, that is not a diamond, that is called a rhombus" (he was 4 at the time) I love this school so much that when I graduated with my teaching degree, I immediatly applied at this school...unfortunately, (for me, not you) they have such a low turnover rate, that nothing was available! I will keep on trying! I will sing Benchmarks praises to anyone and everyone I meet. If you are looking for somewhere where your child will grow socially, emotionally, and most importantly, educationally, you have found it! There is a reason it has a rating of 10!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

My daughter and son go to this school. My daughter started in Kindergarden then left for another school in second grade to another "Excelling" school. The other school was nice and had 'hug' days but academically did not challenge my daughter the way she needed to be challenged. We came back to Benchmark for 3rd grade. She loves it there! The teachers believe in educating the kids and keeps the bar high because they know these kids can do the work and do it well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 42%
Hispanic 7% 42%
Asian 6% 3%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Arabic languages
French
German
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top Ten Charter School in Arizona, A+ Charter School
  • Odyssey of the Mind finalist

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Carole Challoner and Barbara Darroch
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 765-1932

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Arabic languages
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • All NYS sponsored sports

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents are involved at benchmark through many committees involved with the benchmark parent teacher organization. they coordinate the cultural arts program which brings many visiting artists to school. parents are on campus daily as reading companions, library helpers, lunch time helpers, playground supervisors and art and music masterpiece presentors.
More from this school
  • *Preschool on site *Full day kindergarten *Music *Visual and performing arts *Physical education *Multicultural appreciation *Technology *Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Veritas, Basis, Sunrise
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 E. Acoma Dr.
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 765-3582

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT