Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bennett Academy

Charter | K-8 | 169 students

 
 

Living in Phoenix

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $48,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2014

Bennett Academy is a phenomenal school! I am so glad that my daughter is able to attend a small charter school, with uniforms, that is dedicated to their students and their education. The principal is always available and listens, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable, and the extra curricular programs are best! The theater program is amazing also! Definitely worth the daily drive for my daughters education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2013

I found this to school to be very beneficial for my daughter. Her scores were low when I removed her from another school that was not helping her achieve. Her scores doubled she is doing great..Her 5th grade teacher went over and above with staying after school and before school to help. I found all the staff friendly and caring. The drama/ art department is totally off the chart. If you want your child to succeed with their education this is the school for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2013

My daughter started kindergarten in Aug of this year. We love it! its a great school. Small town feeling. All the staff are very friendly and they genuinely care for all the students. They have a great mixture of academics and others like sign language, drama and art. Mr. Roerbaker is a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

This is a great school I went 5th through 7th grade which I left the school due to moving but I would have stayed there for 8th grade. They had some of the best teachers and tried to do the best with what they had.


Posted September 12, 2011

My child attended Bennett Academy for the first time last year, it was great the children seemed to be well behaved, the staff was wonderful and pleasant, the principal really kept the school top notch and neat, no bullying. Upon returning this year not so good they have changed principals' and I'm not sure if it's going to work. There are kids always in the office in trouble seems as though the principal really has his hands full. There is a co- principal on campus so you would think that things would go a little smoother not the case. This is to bad because I really liked the school in the beginning. It seems as though they took kids that the other schools didn't want. There is a big difference!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

Excellent to bring out the best in your children! Highly recomend this school- professionalism exhibited at all times with all teaching staff and most especially with the principal, Mr. Blakeley!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

My daughter has gone here since Kintergarden. She loves this school and so do we. They give indivdual attention to the students and identify special needs for the students. They don't put up with any bullying among the students. Bad behavior is dealt with promptly and effectively. The principal and staff genuinely care about the students. The only problem with this scholl is it doesn't go through high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

My Son attends Bennet Academy it is a great school, Mr. Blakely, the Principal has done an outstanding job leading the staff. Every one is very proffesional and helpful. Their main goal is the kids education. , "A Good school for Good Kids" .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

My daughter attends Bennett coming from a Private school. She has never been so involved , fet as valuable and excelled in her grades. She doesn't want to miss a minute of it . the only downfall is they have a small budget for thier Drama Program that has a lot of potential ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

My son is in the sixth grade at Bennett Academy he is doing very well. The teachers are great, the assistants are great they know my son and they take care of him while he is at school. They are really on top of things, and they know the students. The principal at Bennett Academy is very positive and makes the students feel safe at school, and as a parent I feel safe. The owners are on campus quite often, that I really like! If you want a school that watches over your child and teaches your child Bennett Academy is the school. Try it, You will be amazed. You will see a difference in your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

great school. My daughter loves it here. Teachers and staff are dedicated to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

My granddaughter has beening going to Bennett since Kindergarten and she loves this school! She is counting down the days until school starts. Excellent caring staff. The teachers are dedicated to the students. This school watches out for it's students! We love Bennett Academy in Phoenix Arizona!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

Myh child has been attending Bennett Academy since 2nd grade. Overall I think that it is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Great school ! My son is 5 years old and is now reading. He just graduated from kindergarten at Bennett Acedmy. He is going back next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Bennett Academy does a phenomenal job of recognizing each student as an individual, and is very committed to the integrity and academic quality of the education that its students receive. The teachers are excellent and very accessible to the parents, and, despite its small size, the quality of the education and the programs provided can be compared to a private school setting. This is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

My son started his 6th grade year at Bennett Academy. The special services provided for my son is excellent. Their ability to find weeknesses and build on them is helping my son very much academically. Bennett also offers a drama/theater class, the instructor has been amazing. I do recomment this school to anyone who has had trouble with a public school setting and wants thier child to be seen as an individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2007

We've had children at Bennett Academy for eight years. We feel it is an excellent school that is preparing our children for further education. Our youngest child now in 2nd grade, another in 7th grade, and our oldest two children graduate and went on to graduate High School. Our son was Valedictorian of his Senior Class. It's was not easy being a student or parent at Bennett Academy, but the growth our children have experienced at Bennett Academy is well worth it. Our children often do not appreciate things that are good for them. Our test scores are improving each year. And even though they're not totally popular with the kids I love uniforms!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

Bennett is a good school, but only for good kids. If your child wants to learn, and is serious about learning, Bennett Academy can offer many great learning advantages. The children are taught by teachers, not by computers, although they do have a computer lab program in their curriculum. I have two children, who attend Bennett, one in first grade and one in fourth grade, Both my kids are doing well at Bennett. I like the fact that I am able to talk to administration whenever I have a problem. The teachers, Para educators and other staff are friendly, and there willing to help my children and me out whenever possible. The class sizes are small and conducive to learning. My children are happy at the school and I feel safe leaving my children there. It truly is a great school for good kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

After dealing with the Washington Elementary District for many many years we decided to send our child to Bennett Academy for Jr High. The staff at Bennett is first rate from the Director to the teacher's aids. It was refreshing to send our child to a school where he wasnt a number or just another kid. He has learned so much in the past year that we regret not placing him at Bennett sooner than we did. We love the small school atmosphere, friendly staff and a curriculum that is challenging and rewarding to our child. We tell everyone we know how great this school is and that they should enroll their child there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

My child just completed 1st grade at Bennett. I can honestly say there were ups and downs. There were some serious staffing problems due to what I believe was out of Bennett's control. I sincerely believe things were handled quite well considering the circumstances. My child has learned a great deal and has been a very happy student every step of the way. Even with all of the changes, they still managed to keep the standards of learning high. My daughter is an excellent reader and writer and the classwork is challenging. We plan on moving next school year and my daughter really wants to continue on at Bennett. The staff is truly caring and I love the fact that they know each child by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 43%
White 26% 42%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2930 West Bethany Home Road
Phoenix, AZ 85017
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 943-1317

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Montebello School
Phoenix, AZ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT