Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Phoenix, AZ
Students enrolled: 1,900

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


32 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Camelback High School 5

Posted July 19, 2014
- a community member
Camelback High School has experienced a renaissance since 2009, establishing a positive culture where every student is connected and valued. No student is allowed to be invisible. More of the top performing students are gaining college admission and scholarships ($3.8 million in2014). Top students are also helping the struggling students via a popular and successful peer tutoring program. All students have the same advisor and counselor for all four years. Many new clubs attract students with a variety of interests. Students participate in many community outreach programs. This process has been assisted by a group of local business and professional people from Social Venture Partners-AZ. United Way has launched its own mentoring program for struggling freshmen students. See: successismandatory.org which provides a case study of this remarkable project and outcome. The school's visionary principal has now been moved up to a senior position at the District where he is helping other schools in the Phoenix Union H.S. District to create their own versions of this success.
1 person found this helpful

Camelback High School 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a student
Best school ever. The students are really disciplined and respectful. They value diversity and they are very very nice. Yes I know the ranking is a 5 and it doesn't have debt card vending marchines but its a perfect environment for your kids.


Camelback High School 5

Posted September 09, 2011
- a student
CBHS is one of the best schools in the district. I graduated class of '09 from CBHS. The teachers are wonderful and push students to strive for a better future. If you're a parent whose student was struggling academically, you should consider whether your student pushed him/herself. High school isn't about having your hand held and being babied (Though, that is how some students expect it to be). It is the responsibility of the parents as well to ensure that their child is understanding material and communicating with their instructors to ensure that he/she is getting all of the help needed. Violence is hardly an issue. Everywhere you go, no matter what part of the city, there is violence. Compared to other schools in the district, CBHS has much more rules and procedures regarding safety. CBHS is simply fantastic. GO SPARTANS!!

Camelback High School 5

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
very good school. Im so proud of my student sucess at Camelback Highschool.

Camelback High School 4

Posted April 08, 2010
- a community member
I'm a former Camelback HS student and my neices attended CHS too. I saw the neighborhoods around the school deteriorate with gangs and drugs becoming more prevalent over several years. The school itself has performed as well as it could to handle these problems, but the parents certainly have not! Considering the faculty only, they've given their best effort in a tough environment. CHS isn't what it once was, but no Phoenix Union District school is!


Camelback High School 0
no rating

Posted April 02, 2009
- a student
Camelback isn't the school that will treat you like a child and guide you through high school and I think that is what many parents want it to be. As a student I prefer the way that it is now where they put the responsibility of an adult on me so that when I do leave I will be prepared for actual life. The only thing that I think is lacking is the advanced placement classes and that could be improved if parents ever wanted to start supporting the programs instead of complaining without a point. Camelback is a good school overall despite all the bad imaging that it receives.

Camelback High School 4

Posted April 02, 2009
- a student
I graduated last year at CBHS as one of the top of my class. Personally, I don't know what people are really complaining about. Camelback undeniably has great teachers (though we all agree some need to learn how to). Camelback has this reputation of being a bad school, but the way I see it, many of the teachers at CBHS helped me prepare for the university I'm attending now. Then again, the lack of AP classes brings this school down a bit. (Class of '08)

Camelback High School 5

Posted January 16, 2009
- a student
I am currently a student at camelback high school and in my opinion it is much better and a little cleaner than schools like North. Of course there is absolutely no way to avoid the gangs and all those stupid problems, but Camelback is alot cleaner and controled than all those other schools.


Camelback High School 5

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
I am formerly a student of CBHS. Don't believe all the bad publicity about gangs and violence!!! This school rocks!! The environment is both student/parent friendly-encouraging parents to be proactive and encourages student growth upon graduation. Also, this school embraces cultural diversity....cudos to this school-I am glad I attended...it helped myself and many others to excel!

Camelback High School 2

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Camelback High School
4612 N. 28th Street, Phoenix, AZ  85016
(602) 764-7000
Last modified Camelback High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Camelback High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top