Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Campo Bello Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

I feel this school doesn't really tend to the needs of the children. They say they're a bully free school but my daughter comes home everyday saying "Please don't make me go back to that INSTITUTE!" she says kids bully her but none of the teachers do anything about it! I went to her teacher conference and I saw this ridiculous poster saying "Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will always hurt my heart" I was always taught my daughter to not care what mean people say. I wouldn't reccomend this school at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

I highly recommend Campo Bello! The teachers are caring and involved and take an honest interest in each child's education and advancement. The principal knows everyone's name and when you are here you can feel the energy in the atmosphere. My daughter is currently in sixth grade and has been at Campo Bello since Kindergarten. Each year her teachers have gone out of their way to provide her with extra work that challenged and encouraged her to strive for her best. In addition to her exceptional homeroom teachers, she has been involved in honors for the last 3 years. The honors program not only challenges her academically, it allows her to express herself in a non-typical classroom manner. My son is currently in first grade and began his journey in the structured autism class. Our goal was to transition him to regular education by third grade. With the help of the amazing team here, he has already transitioned to the regular ed room. Not only have the teachers and aides helped him reach this goal 2 years early, they have helped us with the speech, social skills and sensory issues. We wouldn't have been able to transition him this quickly without the wonderful team here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

My grandchildren attend Campo Bello Elementary and I have seen them grow socially and academically. The school offers numerous before and after school programs from tutoring to gardening and the children seem so happy to be involved. When I ask them about their days they always tell me the fun they had in class that day. I'm so happy that my grand kids have such a wonderful school to attend.


Posted October 25, 2013

Campo Bello is an amazing school that strives to see all students succeed. This is a school where everyone works together for the best of the community, students, and staff. With a warm, friendly, and family oriented feel the teachers go above and beyond to work with all students, family members, and the community to make sure everyone feels welcome. Campo Bello has a great leader that inspires the teacher to be the best that they can be which in turns creates a great school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2013

Campo Bello is an amazing school where the teachers go above and beyond to make sure that each child receives that they need in order to succeed. There is a community feel to the school and you can tell that teachers and students work together to achieve a common goal of learning for all students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 8, 2013

Campo Bello is a school that has continuously beat the odds year after year. This small Title I school has extremely diverse students and group of teachers who do not seem to be phased by the challenges set before them. They demand that their students reach the high expectations set for them and they encourage them all along the way. The communication between parents and teachers is impressive. Many parents do not speak English, but it is not a factor in communicating about the needs of the students. The school has been recognized both locally and by the state as being one of the leading Title I schools in Arizona. I firmly believe the school's success started from a strong leader and with all the teachers working together with parents and students, it has become a top-notch school. I am very proud to be a parent at Campo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Campo Bello has a staff dedicated to teaching the whole child by looking at each student as an individual and each classroom as a family and the school as a community. Whatever a student needs, we are dedicated to meeting that need. Parents are included, welcomed and valued.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 25, 2013

Campo Bello has wonderful teachers, staff, and students. The school offers before and after school classes, STEM program, math, reading, and game nights, a volunteer-run store, and lots of enrichment activities. It has once again received an A rating from the Department of Education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 4, 2013

I am not happy with Campo Bello Elementary school i have foster kids that they refused to register them into the school,,,I will contact the State regarding this school,,said that these kids have to suffer


Posted April 13, 2013

I am honored to work at a school with such a hard-working, dedicated staff. We work together to bring the best education to our students. We have amazing before and after school programs, and an incredible STEM program. There are numerous community partnerships that have been formed that benefit our students. Our school has been named a Title One Distinguished School, a Beat the Odds Gold Medal School, and our principal, Mrs. Moore, was a semi-finalist for Rodel Exemplary Principal. Her leadership inspired us to look at what is best for our students, and it shows! I am proud to say that I am a teacher at Campo Bello Elementary, and A Rated school for student achievement by the Arizona Department of Education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 29, 2008

Overall ths is a good school. Find out who the excellent teachers are though because the good ones are great and the bad not who you want your child to be stuck with for the year. I think there are many more good than bad. Last year my child had a teacher that I can't say enough good about..just amazing, did not know they truly came like that. Her dad was teacher and maybe it was just genetic:> Tis year my child has a really terrible teacher. My older child had always had good teachers and even some greats!! You judt have to know who to request and who to do whatever you can to get out in the beginning. I wish a had changed her classroom if possible. Glad it is almost over, although I will glady come back next year. I will just request specific teachers this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2006

I think campo bello offers a good learning enviorment. alot of there teachers have been there fot 10+ years it is in a nice nieghborhood and they have resently added on new office space in the front of the school wich make more room for the nurse and office personal and my son realy likes there special progams p.e., music,and art.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

My daughter has been attending Campo Bello for three years. I am very impressed with the teachers and the help that the school provides. My daughter has received more help here than any other school district including private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2005

I love this school. The teachers are happy and seem to truly care about my kids. The school offers lots of academic options, i.e. Title One, Honors Classes. Music and art classes were cut for the last two years. My kids only get half year of art and half year of music. But choir is excellent. Homework clubs excellent. Level of parental involvement is fairly low, unfortunately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

The teachers and support staff at Campo Bello really work hard to see that the students excel in their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2003

I am a former student of Campo Bello Elementary (unfortunately) and can honestly say that this school lacks essential components needed to make a good learning environment: concern for students, qualified teachers, and functional facilities. The administrators lean too much on standardized testing, not year-round curriculum; my sixth grade teacher had us sit around for an hour filling out various packets; and the facilities are so ancient I'm surprised it passes building codes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 7, 2003

Last year we moved out of Arizona after putting two children through Campo Bello. The performance of the school dropped with each passing year. I felt like my children were pushed aside for those with special needs and also those who could not speak the language. Overall, the school system in Arizona is very poor and we are glad that our children no longer attend its schools.


Posted April 3, 2003

We pulled our daughter out of the school due to the lack of teacher concern and care. I feel the school is too worried about 'making the grade' on the AIMS and not concerned about the students themselves. We have several families on our block that have pulled their children out of this school. FYI: PV School District is an open school district and you can enroll your child in a different school - Copper Canyon is wonderful!!!!!!


Posted March 27, 2003

I have a 6th grader and a 1st grader at Campo Bello. They both love the school and have wonderful teachers. I have noticed a lot of parent involvement also, which is crucial.


Posted October 15, 2002

Too many students are subjected to ADD tests. Mine was, and I didn't see a problem, either did the test. He didn't even come close to having it. All the parents I talked to had to have their kid tested too!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 43%
White 18% 42%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2650 East Contention Mine Road
Phoenix, AZ 85032
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 449-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT