Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carl Hayden High School

Public | 9-12 | 2209 students

 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

This is an excellent school with great programs, including the national champions robotics team, marine biology, sports ect.. A safe and creative learning environment. My kids love going here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

Students that attend Carl Hayden say the school is "ghetto" but it really isn't I'm currently a student attending Carl Hayden the teachers and staff care so much about our education that they make all kids that have an F in a class attend the Star program witch helps students that have bad grades and the students aren't all that bad at all but I know we have more pros than cons about this school .


Posted July 27, 2010

I am an a former student c/o 2010! I attended C.H.H.S. since sophomore year. Wehn i first entered that school , i was nervous because of the history it had, but during my three years attending it, i learned that it was all talk. Carl Hayden was a very nice experience. My teachers were always very nice and excellent at their job. I strongly reccomend for any new attending students to join in on any of its after school programs to make their high school more memorable. Big hello to my former teachers and my councelors :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

this school deserves a 5 for having such determined student and fun learning programs such as robotics and band
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2009

I am a ex student and the school was a very good school and the teachers really care


Posted April 11, 2007

Students behave well. Teachers are very dedicated, even though they are strected too thin. There are more elective classes now offered.Counselors are helpful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 12, 2005

The xtracarricular activities at this school are a bit weak, due to no student participation. teachers are streched a bit thin. parents seem to not want to get involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 17, 2005

The magnet programs are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2004

I am a parent of two falcons and they are very aware of the reputation that their school holds however this not stop them from put all their energy and hearts into this school. No the AIMS or the STANDFORD 9 scores may not be the highest but lets look at the good for once. Carl Hayden has two of the best programs in the US (Computer Science & Marine Biology). The robotics team went to nationals two years in a row. The basketball team made it to playoffs. The student council of the school is very involved and dedicated. They recently won an award of distinction at this years AASC state convention. So come people lets look at the school and be proud it is something we can all make it better instead of making it worse and reflecting on the positive and stop sulking on the negative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2003

Carl Hayden Had a robotics team that placed 4th out of 58 in the Southern Regional First Robotics Competition and that took then to them to the First Robotics National Competition in Texas. They were one of a half dozen schools in the state to do this and they were the only Phoenix Union High School Dist. school to do this! All with private sponsored funding! This is a great accomlishment!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

502 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 94% 43%
White 3% 42%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Robotics club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Ricardo Cordova
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (602) 229-8387

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3333 W. Roosevelt
Phoenix, AZ 85009
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 764-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT