Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chaparral Elementary School

Public | PK-6 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2013

My daughters attended the 4 Year Old Enrichment program here, as well as Kindergarten. They loved it and I really like the school and staff. All the teachers seem to communicate well and we have had no issues. Parents are very involved which the school encourages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

My daughter's teachers for the past two years have been very skilled educators. I feel she has gotten lucky to have such great teachers. The principal is great with the kids, but definitely lacks the social skills of the adult kind. The administrative staff is what irritates me. I understand there are certain procedures that you need to follow but must it always come off as being trite. I also don't feel that they are the nicest that they could possibly be even a quarter of the time. Other than that I would've given it 5 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

The current principle, Dr. Schofield is absolutelty wonderful with the children. He is beyond words a great principle to my children; however, when it comes to adults he falters. He is at times great with parents, yet I have first hand witnessed on multiple occasions him being verbally abusive to his teachers, staff, and pta leaders! The eye opening events really put a sour taste in my mouth for him, and I am so let down that I had him up on this pedestool and he has shown some ugly true colors over the years. I will still rate this school high becauuse my children love it, and some of the teachers are fantastic! To name a few that rise above and beyond: Mrs Irusta, Mrs Huddleson, Mrs Singer, Mr Poggie, Mrs Gillespie, Mrs Plemons, and Mrs Witskey
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I think this school is the best because it really teaches the kids a lot. They have great after school programs like Advance Skippers (jump rope), skippers (jump rope), and plays. woulwoulwohighly recomend this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2007

My son just finished Kindergarden and my daughter just finished 3rd grade. This school was far above my daughter's last school. The teachers are attentive, work with the kids and the school actually communicates withthe parents. They make themselves available via e-mail and keep my kids invovled. They worked well with them on curriculum not just for testing, but beyond that. I was very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I think this school is the worst school possibly possible. The project potential program is practically the only good thing about this school. The teachers, students, everything, are terrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2007

Chaparral Elementary is a great school. The staff and teachers there are wonderful and have offered a great learning environment for my daughter. She has been there for 2 yrs. The only thing I was a little disappointed is that the classes were a little bit large for 1st an 2nd graders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

I like chaparral, but they are very traditional. When I have visited my children's classrooms which are in lower grades, they spend almost all day in their seats doing individual work. I believe children learn better by working hands on and communicating with others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

This is our first year @ Chaparral Elementary. I feel is has been such a blessing. My daughters are so happy and love to go to school. The staff really cares about every child. I wish we had more parents involved in the PTA. There is so much more that we could be doing for our students if more parents got involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2006

We recently moved to Arizona from California and we feel blessed to have found Chaparral! My son loves going to school. We love the teachers and the principal. He loves the 'special' classes such as art, music and pe. My son's self-esteem has soared since the beginning of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2006

Although morale among teachers seemed to be low in past years, I have seen huge improvements over the last year since there has been a new principal. I had nothing but positive experiences with teachers in 2005/2006 school year and my daughter's experience was very positive at Chaparral this last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2006

I would have to agree with prior reviews, HOWEVER, this school year 2005/2006 we have a new principal who is wonderful. He has made some wonderful changes and this school has improved overall because of it. I think the academics are providing our children with the knowledge they need to achieve, they have extracurricular activities for everyone. Parent involvement has increased this year with the help of more activities for families to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2005

My family just moved to Arizona within the past month and we are already ready to pull my son out of Chaparral. Everyday my son tells me he does not want to go back! Last year he couldn't wait to get to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

I can tell you that my son will not attend chaparral next year. The thing that gets me is the amount of times the schools automated message dialer constantly calls my phone to tell me about things that are already put in newsletters and flyers(Papa Johns pizza night, days off for what have you, and to donate money money money). The parking lot is a frenzy and rules put in the newsletter about parking lot never enforced. No communication between faculty and parents, poorly maintained grounds , and the preschool charges $2,000 a year. Just a poor experience. I called the principal about my son getting money stolen from his backpack and I never recieved any response, they just blew me off.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2005

My son and daughter have been attending this school for almost a year now- I highly recommend choosing another school. Teachers are insensitive and the academic programs aren't great either- My oldest went from almost a straight 'A' average last yr at his previous school and has taken a serious nose dive since attending this one! Not to mention the fact that he now has 0 self esteem no thanks to the teachers/administrations serious lack of handling bullies and implementing some type of disciplinary rules- thanks to this school, my son now hates school more every day. We will be pulling both of my kids out of this school asap! Beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

some teachers here are rude,uncaring and have no business teachung children at any level. they are harsh, cold hearted and insensitive to students needs. they yell and scream at students.they berate the students and will not listens to parents concerns! rec do not send your child there if you can. refer to private or christian schools. will harm your childs self esteem and moral!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

I am extremely disappointed in this school---its leadership, many of its teachers and staff (though certainly not all), the parents and the facility. The student population has really changed compared with five or six years ago. It has become far more transient and has declined significantly socioeconomically. Many of the teachers are burned out, the principal is untrustworthy and underhanded and the librarian has an anger management problem. If not for a few specific great teachers, I would pull my children out of the school immediately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

Used to be a great school, until new principal showed up. I'm pulling my kids out asap. Library services are being cut down to pay for administration (non-teaching, non-custodial, non-janitorial) positions. Teachers are trying hard to make due, but the overall morale is dropping rapidly.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 42%
Hispanic 34% 43%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 896-5320

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3808 W Joan De Arc
Phoenix, AZ 85029
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 347-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Sahuaro School
Phoenix, AZ




Sweetwater School
Glendale, AZ


Sunburst School
Glendale, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT