Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Chaparral Elementary School 3

Posted December 27, 2014
- a parent
Like the teachers throughout the Higley School District, Chaparral teachers are professional and caring. The unfortunate circumstance at Chaparral and throughout the Higley district is the intimidation tactics used by the superintendent that trickles throughout the district from administrator to administrator through the support staff and ultimately to the parents. These parents then pull their children out of school or share their concerns with other parents who don't register their kindergartner's in the first place. As a parent with children in the district for the past 15 years, I find this situation extremely unfortunate as I have grown to admire and respect many, many teachers in the district.

Chaparral Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
My daughters attended the 4 Year Old Enrichment program here, as well as Kindergarten. They loved it and I really like the school and staff. All the teachers seem to communicate well and we have had no issues. Parents are very involved which the school encourages.


Chaparral Elementary School 4

Posted July 22, 2010
- a parent
My daughter's teachers for the past two years have been very skilled educators. I feel she has gotten lucky to have such great teachers. The principal is great with the kids, but definitely lacks the social skills of the adult kind. The administrative staff is what irritates me. I understand there are certain procedures that you need to follow but must it always come off as being trite. I also don't feel that they are the nicest that they could possibly be even a quarter of the time. Other than that I would've given it 5 stars.

Chaparral Elementary School 4

Posted August 20, 2009
- a parent
The current principle, Dr. Schofield is absolutelty wonderful with the children. He is beyond words a great principle to my children; however, when it comes to adults he falters. He is at times great with parents, yet I have first hand witnessed on multiple occasions him being verbally abusive to his teachers, staff, and pta leaders! The eye opening events really put a sour taste in my mouth for him, and I am so let down that I had him up on this pedestool and he has shown some ugly true colors over the years. I will still rate this school high becauuse my children love it, and some of the teachers are fantastic! To name a few that rise above and beyond: Mrs Irusta, Mrs Huddleson, Mrs Singer, Mr Poggie, Mrs Gillespie, Mrs Plemons, and Mrs Witskey

Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted February 19, 2008
- a student
I think this school is the best because it really teaches the kids a lot. They have great after school programs like Advance Skippers (jump rope), skippers (jump rope), and plays. woulwoulwohighly recomend this school


Chaparral Elementary School 4

Posted June 02, 2007
- a parent
My son just finished Kindergarden and my daughter just finished 3rd grade. This school was far above my daughter's last school. The teachers are attentive, work with the kids and the school actually communicates withthe parents. They make themselves available via e-mail and keep my kids invovled. They worked well with them on curriculum not just for testing, but beyond that. I was very pleased.

Chaparral Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2007
- a student
I think this school is the worst school possibly possible. The project potential program is practically the only good thing about this school. The teachers, students, everything, are terrible.

Chaparral Elementary School 4

Posted May 03, 2007
- a parent
Chaparral Elementary is a great school. The staff and teachers there are wonderful and have offered a great learning environment for my daughter. She has been there for 2 yrs. The only thing I was a little disappointed is that the classes were a little bit large for 1st an 2nd graders.


Chaparral Elementary School 4

Posted March 02, 2007
- a parent
I like chaparral, but they are very traditional. When I have visited my children's classrooms which are in lower grades, they spend almost all day in their seats doing individual work. I believe children learn better by working hands on and communicating with others.

Chaparral Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2006
- a parent
This is our first year @ Chaparral Elementary. I feel is has been such a blessing. My daughters are so happy and love to go to school. The staff really cares about every child. I wish we had more parents involved in the PTA. There is so much more that we could be doing for our students if more parents got involved.

Nearby schools

Chaparral Elementary School
3808 West Joan D`Arc, Phoenix, AZ  85029
(602) 347-2600
Last modified Chaparral Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top